Ashwood Shepherds Hut

UK England West Midlands Worcestershire Worcester Ockeridge Rural Retreats

  • Sleeps 2 (max 2 adults, 0 children)
  • Electricity
  • Cooking facilities
  • Beds Provided
  • Bed Linen Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Private Bathroom
  • En-suite bathroom/toilet
Luxurious, boutique shepherd's hut in the Worcestershire countryside, within easy reach of the county capital and Witely Court
  • Ensuite wet room with a beautiful shower and underfloor heating
  • Gorgeous hand-crafted kitchen with Belfast sink
  • Stunning handmade English roll top copper bath
Looking for a romantic retreat? You’ve come to the right place. Created uniquely for couples, this gorgeous oak clad shepherds hut – one of three glamping units across a nine-acre space – offers world of cosiness and all the little extras you’d hope for. No expense has been spared on its interior, which boasts oak floors and a gorgeous hand-crafted kitchen with Belfast sink. The timber cladding, under floor heating and double-glazed windows may keep the hut well insulated, but if you feel yourself in need of a deeper warmth, the handmade English roll top copper bath should do the trick. The opportunity to bed down in the king size bed is difficult to pass up, whilst the wet room (with beautiful invigorating shower), television and toasty log burner all add their own touches of luxury. Simply put, this is a shepherd's hut for those wanting a stay in beautiful, peaceful space made to the highest of glamping standards.
Ockeridge Rural Retreats, is a glamping site in rural Worcestershire which plays host to three luxurious units, found in a lovely nine-acre spot. Any sense that this is “roughing it” is dispelled as soon as you see the, fabulous accommodation (two shepherds huts and one cabin) on offer – all with stylish interiors and thoughtful touches. What that day brings is up to you; around and about, there are lakes and local fisheries to tackle, good pubs, vast Witely Court – a ruined Victorian mansion and once of the great country houses of England and Worcester, well known for its magnificent cathedral. When the sun is shining, though, nothing beats exploring the Malvern Hills. The designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is just under 10 miles away and is renowned for mountain biking and excellent hiking trails.

The Owner Says

Stay in our Luxury Ashwood Shepherd Hut - This Shepherd Hut is the ultimate couples retreat Size 26ft x 9ft / 7.3m x 2.7m

This space has been created uniquely for couples and is focused on delivering luxury and style at the very highest reaches. From the moment you walk up to this hut you know your in for a treat. The Oak Clad exterior and double glazed windows give you an idea of what you will find inside.The Oak Clad exterior and double glazed windows give you an idea of what you will find inside. The 3 steps lead you to a delightful front decking area where you enter the hut through an Oak Stable door, perfect for leaving open on those summer days. When you look inside you instantly see the creativity and passion that has gone into this amazing space, natural hesian covered walls, oak floors, timber cladding, hand crafted kitchen, Log burner, L shaped seating area, king sized bed, wet room with a beautiful invigorating shower, underfloor heating, TV, Fridge, Microwave, hob, Belfast sink, and if that wasn’t enough the end of the cabin has a Handmade English roll top Copper Bath. This is a hut for those that want to getaway and stay in an amazing space made to the most exacting standards.

Our Coronavirus Booking Guarantee

Book with complete confidence at Ockeridge Rural Retreats with the Cool Camping Coronavirus Booking Guarantee. We guarantee the following clear policy for your booking:

  • A low deposit of 30% to secure your booking
  • Balance due 30 days before your holiday
  • Complete flexibility to move bookings up to the end of 2021 in the event of Coronavirus restrictions
  • Due to the flexibility provided we are unable to offer refunds
  • This guarantee supersedes any other policies

Click here to read the full terms

About Ockeridge Rural Retreats

Suitable For

Glamping only. Sorry, no tents, campervans or caravans. No dogs or large groups (hen or stag parties).


It's just half a mile from Ockeridge Rural Retreats to the local fisheries (07398 176362; you can walk there easily) so bring your tackle if you're a keen angler. Witely Court (0370 333 1181), a vast, ruined Victorian mansion and once of the great country houses of England, is 2 miles away. A devastating fire in 1937 left it in the state you find today – undoubtedly one of the country’s most spectacular ruins and a real spectacle in its own right. It's 6 miles, meanwhile, to Worcester city centre, well known for its magnificent cathedral (01905 732900) and independent shops. National Trust-owned Greyfriars' House and Garden (01905 23571) is well worth a visit, as is the Worcester City Art Gallery & Museum (01905 25371) on rainy days. The small Tudor House Museum (01905 612309) is also fantastic. When the sun is shining, though, nothing bears getting outdoors and exploring the Malvern Hills. The designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is just under 10 miles away and is renowned for mountain biking, along with miles of footpaths and hiking trails. For a more sedate way to take in the Worcestershire scenery, try The Severn Valley Railway (01299 401776), 8 miles away.

Food & Drink

The nearest pub is the Holt Fleet  (01905 620286), 2½ miles away on the edge of the River severn. The Crown (01905 640408) in Hallow (5 miles), is a strikingly modern, gastro pub affair and can be walked to via country lanes allowing you to really explore the area.
Search All Availability at Ockeridge Rural Retreats

Site Reviews

Add Your Review

Rated ★★★★★ over 21 reviews



We had such a lovely time at the Ashwood Shepherds Hut. The hut was perfectly cleaned and comfortable. The hot tub was top! Tiffany was very helpful, gave us info regarding places where to eat and walk in the woods. Sadly our holiday was very short, hopefully next time will be longer. Highly recommended!

A great experience

We recently had a really pleasant stay in The Shepherd’s Retreat, the pictures on the website are accurate and it’s a real case of ‘as advertised’! I’m sure we are all familiar with the listed photos for various accommodations being amazing and the reality somewhat less, but I can assure you things are as you see them. You will not be disappointed. It certainly feels very COVID secure, by the nature of the site and cleanliness and measures in place. The accommodation, grounds and the contact free check in/ out and support via phone with the owner Tiffany was all at the advertised high standards. Highly recommended.

Perfect in every way

Such a beautiful place from the minute the gates open the huts all look stunning with the countryside background all around you, we stayed in the Montana Cabin and was not disappointed, huge amount of space to relax and unwind, very smart kitchen with everything you need and more, super clean and modern inside. Perfect location for walks and days out and must recommend the Holt Fleet for drinks or meals. Without a doubt we will be returning again and will try out a different hut next time. Thanks for a brilliant stay
Oct 10, 2020 by Lawrence

Very cute place but cleanliness an issue

Was really excited to spend 3 days for my partners birthday in the rural retreat, especially after 6months of being locked in our apartment due to COVID! Read all the info and this seemed a perfect place! Unfortunately the cutlery, pots and pans were not cleaned properly. There was large amounts of dust and hair behind the sofa cushions and the floor underneath the bed and sofa was so dusty. Was it not for the COVID pandemic situation we are currently in, it may have been a different story - and we could have somewhat excused these details - But we are all on high alert and this left little confidence in the cleanliness of the place - cutlery was not clean!!! How can that be in a time like this?! We had to be sent out of the apartment for owners to clean again - sadly only pots and cutlery were cleaned. After the clean there was no apology from the owner nor any follow up on whether we were now satisfied - poor service in my opinion.

Response from Ockeridge Rural Retreats

Unfortunately I have to disagree with you Aarti. We have a strict cleaning regime and as the owner I personally see to this myself. You had been in the hut for over a day when you claimed we had left you with 2 pans and 1 spoon that had small marks on them. I immediately came and replaced these items with brand new ones (within 5 minutes). I then offered to re-wash the entire contents of the kitchen as a gesture of goodwill to reassure you if you had any other concerns which took me 1 hour as I cleaned every single items including washing the cork screw. As it was a lovely day I said if you would like to go for a walk then I would do this for you which I did together with the washing up you left in the bowl from cooking breakfast. I disagree that there was large amounts of dust and hair underneath the sofa and as for underneath the bed this area isn't open as it contains storage draws which are always vacuumed after each guest together with the sofas and all floor areas and cushions. At no stage did I not offer an apology for you claiming to find 3 dirty items in the Kitchen as I believe that the customer is always right, that is until they decide to leave a public review trying to discredit our business that we work tirelessly to provide guests with a five star experience. We have all been frustrated by lockdown but over exaggerating isn't going to help anyone regain confidence in the new world we find ourselves in. 

So Relaxiiiiiiing

Just returned from our two night stay, such a peaceful setting. Everything you need in the huts with the added luxury of the Copper Bath which was perfect for a soak after a long wet walk. The host Tiffany was really helpful and gave us tips on local walks and places to eat, although the cooking facilities in the huts are more than adequate if you don't want to venture out. Looking forward to returning at a later date
See all reviews at Ockeridge Rural Retreats


Ockeridge Rural Retreats is located at Ockeridge lane , Wichenford , Worcester WR6 6YR

Show Map

Getting There

Leave the M5 Motorway at Junction 6. Take the A449 exit on the roundabout onto a dual carriageway, signposted to Kidderminster. At the first roundabout, take the third exit, still following the A449 to Kidderminster. Follow the carriageway for around 2 miles, and then take the left hand slip road to Ombersley. Go through Ombersley and, at the roundabout, turn left. Follow the road for 2 miles, go over Holt Bridge and at the mini roundabout go straight on. At the end of the road you will see the Red Lion pub in front of you, turn right onto the A443 sign posted to Tenbury. Follow the road for around ½-mile, then turn left onto Ockeridge Lane. Follow the road for 1½ miles and, after you pass the first turing on your right into Well Lane, Ockeridge Rural Retreats' gated entrance is on your right hand side. The nearest railway stations are quite a distance away in Droitwich Spa (8 miles; 0845 748 4950) and in Worcester at Foregate Street (10 miles; 0845 748 4950). Taxis are available from both.