The Shepherds Retreat

UK England West Midlands Worcestershire Worcester Ockeridge Rural Retreats

  • Sleeps 4 (max 2 adults, 2 children)
  • Editor's Pick
  • Electricity
  • Cooking facilities
  • Beds Provided
  • Bed Linen Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Private Bathroom
  • En-suite bathroom/toilet
Large shepherds hut set in a Worcestershire 9-acre equestrian facility, with far reaching views across open countryside.
  • Compact kitchen with all the utensils you need
  • Underfloor heating and handmade double glazed windows
  • Comfortable king sized bed with Egyptian cotton sheets
Set in a 9-acre equestrian facility, woodland views stretch out in every direction beckoning you towards fabulous countryside walks. Located on a quite country lane – yet only 6 miles from Worcester city centre – the spacious hut is blessed with unspoiled skies and is the perfect place for some rest and relaxation. Inside, the shepherd's hut has been carefully designed with a comfortable king sized bed with two additional single bunk beds above (all with Egyptian cotton sheets), and there’s a clever, high-quality bathroom built into one corner. The underfloor heating and handmade double glazed windows keeps the hut cosy and warm and there's a kettle and toaster for early morning tea and toast. The hand made kitchen is gorgeous and has everything you need, including a baby belling oven, fridge, and Belfast ceramic sink. If cooking isn’t your thing then choose from a vast selection of local country pubs, some within walking distance.
Ockeridge Rural Retreats, is a glamping site in rural Worcestershire which plays host to three luxurious units, found in a lovely nine-acre spot. Any sense that this is “roughing it” is dispelled as soon as you see the, fabulous accommodation (two shepherds huts and one cabin) on offer – all with stylish interiors and thoughtful touches. What that day brings is up to you; around and about, there are lakes and local fisheries to tackle, good pubs, vast Witely Court – a ruined Victorian mansion and once of the great country houses of England and Worcester, well known for its magnificent cathedral. When the sun is shining, though, nothing beats exploring the Malvern Hills. The designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is just under 10 miles away and is renowned for mountain biking and excellent hiking trails.

The Owner Says

This is a very unique option for families to enjoy the whole glamping experience without any compromise. Size 26ft x 9ft / 7.3m x 2.7m

Luxury on every level. From oak underfloor heating to Hand made Double Glazed Oak Windows. Luxury King Size bed with two additional single bunk beds above this is truly Boutique style luxury accommodation. Unwind in the fully tiled large Shower and enjoy your favourite foods in the hand made fully equipped kitchen, with Baby Belling Oven , Fridge, Toaster, Kettle and Belfast ceramic sink. If cooking isn’t your thing then choose from a vast selection of local country pubs, some within walking distance for those wanting a more active holiday. Don’t worry about being cramped as our Shepherds hut is more like a lodge measuring 24ft x 9ft (6.10meters long x 2.7meters wide) With a space saving fold down Table and Chairs - LCD TV and over an acre of space in front of your doorstep with far reaching views across open countryside this is one vacation that you will sure to enjoy. If you want different and you want quirky then your in for a treat as this Shepherds hut has an enamel roll top bath tub outside so you can relax in the fresh air and gaze at the stars at night. If you love horses then Ockeridge Rural Retreats is set in 9 acres overall and allows you look out into the paddocks at SuperTed the Irish Cob & Fairy the cheeky Shetland Pony. Your more than welcome to look in on the horses being shod or being worked in the riding arena. This is a peaceful location made even more so by these majestic animals.

Our Coronavirus Booking Guarantee

Book with complete confidence at Ockeridge Rural Retreats with the Cool Camping Coronavirus Booking Guarantee. We guarantee the following clear policy for your booking:

  • A low deposit of 30% to secure your booking
  • Balance due 30 days before your holiday
  • Complete flexibility to move bookings up to the end of 2021 in the event of Coronavirus restrictions
  • Due to the flexibility provided we are unable to offer refunds
  • This guarantee supersedes any other policies

Click here to read the full terms

About Ockeridge Rural Retreats

Suitable For

Glamping only. Sorry, no tents, campervans or caravans. No dogs or large groups (hen or stag parties).


It's just half a mile from Ockeridge Rural Retreats to the local fisheries (07398 176362; you can walk there easily) so bring your tackle if you're a keen angler. Witely Court (0370 333 1181), a vast, ruined Victorian mansion and once of the great country houses of England, is 2 miles away. A devastating fire in 1937 left it in the state you find today – undoubtedly one of the country’s most spectacular ruins and a real spectacle in its own right. It's 6 miles, meanwhile, to Worcester city centre, well known for its magnificent cathedral (01905 732900) and independent shops. National Trust-owned Greyfriars' House and Garden (01905 23571) is well worth a visit, as is the Worcester City Art Gallery & Museum (01905 25371) on rainy days. The small Tudor House Museum (01905 612309) is also fantastic. When the sun is shining, though, nothing bears getting outdoors and exploring the Malvern Hills. The designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is just under 10 miles away and is renowned for mountain biking, along with miles of footpaths and hiking trails. For a more sedate way to take in the Worcestershire scenery, try The Severn Valley Railway (01299 401776), 8 miles away.

Food & Drink

The nearest pub is the Holt Fleet  (01905 620286), 2½ miles away on the edge of the River severn. The Crown (01905 640408) in Hallow (5 miles), is a strikingly modern, gastro pub affair and can be walked to via country lanes allowing you to really explore the area.
Search All Availability at Ockeridge Rural Retreats

Site Reviews

Add Your Review

Rated ★★★★★ over 21 reviews



We had such a lovely time at the Ashwood Shepherds Hut. The hut was perfectly cleaned and comfortable. The hot tub was top! Tiffany was very helpful, gave us info regarding places where to eat and walk in the woods. Sadly our holiday was very short, hopefully next time will be longer. Highly recommended!

A great experience

We recently had a really pleasant stay in The Shepherd’s Retreat, the pictures on the website are accurate and it’s a real case of ‘as advertised’! I’m sure we are all familiar with the listed photos for various accommodations being amazing and the reality somewhat less, but I can assure you things are as you see them. You will not be disappointed. It certainly feels very COVID secure, by the nature of the site and cleanliness and measures in place. The accommodation, grounds and the contact free check in/ out and support via phone with the owner Tiffany was all at the advertised high standards. Highly recommended.

Perfect in every way

Such a beautiful place from the minute the gates open the huts all look stunning with the countryside background all around you, we stayed in the Montana Cabin and was not disappointed, huge amount of space to relax and unwind, very smart kitchen with everything you need and more, super clean and modern inside. Perfect location for walks and days out and must recommend the Holt Fleet for drinks or meals. Without a doubt we will be returning again and will try out a different hut next time. Thanks for a brilliant stay
Oct 10, 2020 by Lawrence

Very cute place but cleanliness an issue

Was really excited to spend 3 days for my partners birthday in the rural retreat, especially after 6months of being locked in our apartment due to COVID! Read all the info and this seemed a perfect place! Unfortunately the cutlery, pots and pans were not cleaned properly. There was large amounts of dust and hair behind the sofa cushions and the floor underneath the bed and sofa was so dusty. Was it not for the COVID pandemic situation we are currently in, it may have been a different story - and we could have somewhat excused these details - But we are all on high alert and this left little confidence in the cleanliness of the place - cutlery was not clean!!! How can that be in a time like this?! We had to be sent out of the apartment for owners to clean again - sadly only pots and cutlery were cleaned. After the clean there was no apology from the owner nor any follow up on whether we were now satisfied - poor service in my opinion.

Response from Ockeridge Rural Retreats

Unfortunately I have to disagree with you Aarti. We have a strict cleaning regime and as the owner I personally see to this myself. You had been in the hut for over a day when you claimed we had left you with 2 pans and 1 spoon that had small marks on them. I immediately came and replaced these items with brand new ones (within 5 minutes). I then offered to re-wash the entire contents of the kitchen as a gesture of goodwill to reassure you if you had any other concerns which took me 1 hour as I cleaned every single items including washing the cork screw. As it was a lovely day I said if you would like to go for a walk then I would do this for you which I did together with the washing up you left in the bowl from cooking breakfast. I disagree that there was large amounts of dust and hair underneath the sofa and as for underneath the bed this area isn't open as it contains storage draws which are always vacuumed after each guest together with the sofas and all floor areas and cushions. At no stage did I not offer an apology for you claiming to find 3 dirty items in the Kitchen as I believe that the customer is always right, that is until they decide to leave a public review trying to discredit our business that we work tirelessly to provide guests with a five star experience. We have all been frustrated by lockdown but over exaggerating isn't going to help anyone regain confidence in the new world we find ourselves in. 

So Relaxiiiiiiing

Just returned from our two night stay, such a peaceful setting. Everything you need in the huts with the added luxury of the Copper Bath which was perfect for a soak after a long wet walk. The host Tiffany was really helpful and gave us tips on local walks and places to eat, although the cooking facilities in the huts are more than adequate if you don't want to venture out. Looking forward to returning at a later date
See all reviews at Ockeridge Rural Retreats


Ockeridge Rural Retreats is located at Ockeridge lane , Wichenford , Worcester WR6 6YR

Show Map

Getting There

Leave the M5 Motorway at Junction 6. Take the A449 exit on the roundabout onto a dual carriageway, signposted to Kidderminster. At the first roundabout, take the third exit, still following the A449 to Kidderminster. Follow the carriageway for around 2 miles, and then take the left hand slip road to Ombersley. Go through Ombersley and, at the roundabout, turn left. Follow the road for 2 miles, go over Holt Bridge and at the mini roundabout go straight on. At the end of the road you will see the Red Lion pub in front of you, turn right onto the A443 sign posted to Tenbury. Follow the road for around ½-mile, then turn left onto Ockeridge Lane. Follow the road for 1½ miles and, after you pass the first turing on your right into Well Lane, Ockeridge Rural Retreats' gated entrance is on your right hand side. The nearest railway stations are quite a distance away in Droitwich Spa (8 miles; 0845 748 4950) and in Worcester at Foregate Street (10 miles; 0845 748 4950). Taxis are available from both.