Ockeridge Rural Retreats

UK England West Midlands Worcestershire Worcester

  • 10+ metres between camping pitches
  • Contactless check in
  • Deep clean between glamping guests
  • Individual toilets for glamping accommodation
  • "We're Good To Go" accredited
  • Good walks nearby
Glamping in Worcestershire: Boutique luxury in the Worcestershire countryside, within easy reach of the county capital and beautiful Witely Court

Super Ted, Fairy, Spider, Tink and Freyja. It may sound like a motley crew of homespun superheroes, but this characterful bunch is in fact the band of horses at Ockeridge Rural Retreats, a stunningly luxurious glamping site in rural Worcestershire. While the horses allude to the hidden, countryside feel of the place – lanes crowded with cow parsley and hedges full of blackberries – the site itself is far from a rustic farm retreat. If you’re a glamper looking for modern luxuries, you’ve come to the right place.

Set on the edge of a series of fenced horse paddocks, with views down a shallow valley, Ockeridge Rural Retreats is comprised of three glamping units in a parcelled up nine-acre space. The first is the Whitely Shepherd’s Hut, named after the ruined Victorian mansion of Witely Court, a vast, beautiful relic, destroyed in a great fire during the 1930s and visible in the distance as you peak from the hut window. Inside, the idea of a humble shepherd’s shelter has been given a thoroughly modern face-lift, with under-floor heating, a tiled en suite bathroom and a king-sized bed and bunks. A compact kitchen, meanwhile, has an oven, fridge and sink and all the utensils you will need, while country house décor – enamel mugs, a milk churn side table and oak surfaces – shows impeccable attention to detail.

The second abode slightly stretches the realms of glamping; it’s certainly a far cry from the tent-camping origins. In a separate part of the meadow, the Montana Woodland Lodge is a cosy log cabin that sleeps a family of four in comfort with a king-sized master suite and a separate bunkroom. Think of it as a refined self-catered home, with a fully fitted kitchen, spacious dining area and televisions in each of the bedrooms. Huge double-glazed doors at the front can be folded back to really let the outside in, with a wooden deck and garden furniture, fronted by a fragrant line of flowering lavender.

If you’ve not followed your gaze to Witely Court, two miles away, where English Heritage now welcomes you to tour the grounds, there’s plenty to keep you busy. It’s a pleasant stroll to the local pub – The Fox Inn – while walkers looking for hills and well known routes can drive the nine miles to the Malverns. Meanwhile, rainy days are easily filled dipping in and out of shops in Worcester and marvelling at the gothic cathedral. When the sun breaks, a pint beside the River Severn ends the day just perfectly.

Our Coronavirus Booking Guarantee

Book with complete confidence at Ockeridge Rural Retreats with the Cool Camping Coronavirus Booking Guarantee. We guarantee the following clear policy for your booking:

  • A low deposit of 30% to secure your booking
  • Balance due 30 days before your holiday
  • Complete flexibility to move bookings up to the end of 2021 in the event of Coronavirus restrictions
  • Due to the flexibility provided we are unable to offer refunds
  • This guarantee supersedes any other policies

Click here to read the full terms

Details

Facilities

The shepherd Retreat hut is ideal for couples and families and has under-floor heating and features a king-sized bed and 2 single bunks (bedding & towels provided), a breakfast table and chars, a kitchen with hobs, oven, fridge, sink, utensils, crockery and cutlery, a smart LED television, en suite bathroom with shower and an outdoor table with chairs. For something really unique there is even an outside roll top enamelled bath tub so you can stargaze whilst soaking your troubles away.

The Ashwood Shepherds Hut is for couples only has a Kingsized bed and a stunning copper bath tub at the end of the bed. A cozy log burner, underfloor heating and a full wet room with large shower and WC. Handmade kitchen and seating area make this a truly unforgettable experience.

The Hillside View Shepherds hut also for couples only is new for 2019 and has a fold away double bed and fully equipped kitchen with full sized oven and fridge. A big shower room with WC and wash basin give you all the creature comforts of home together with a large seating and dinning area. A large decking area outside gives you amazing views of the Martley Hillside.

The Montana Cabin is 38ft x 15ft The aim of the accommodation is simple – Luxury, relaxation, comfort, quality & attention to detail – Indulge yourselves with stunning views, peace and quiet, hot showers, sumptuous beds and exquisite fixtures and fittings.  Our luxury 2 bedroom Cabin allows you to experience a home from home stay. If you looking for a large space for you and your family the Montana Cabin is exactly what your looking for. With central heating, double glazing as standard and distinctive interior touches the Montana lodge really is a luxury escape.

Suitable For

Glamping only. Sorry, no tents, campervans or caravans. No dogs or large groups (hen or stag parties).

Nearby

It's just half a mile from Ockeridge Rural Retreats to the local fisheries (07398 176362; you can walk there easily) so bring your tackle if you're a keen angler. Witely Court (0370 333 1181), a vast, ruined Victorian mansion and once of the great country houses of England, is 2 miles away. A devastating fire in 1937 left it in the state you find today – undoubtedly one of the country’s most spectacular ruins and a real spectacle in its own right. It's 6 miles, meanwhile, to Worcester city centre, well known for its magnificent cathedral (01905 732900) and independent shops. National Trust-owned Greyfriars' House and Garden (01905 23571) is well worth a visit, as is the Worcester City Art Gallery & Museum (01905 25371) on rainy days. The small Tudor House Museum (01905 612309) is also fantastic. When the sun is shining, though, nothing bears getting outdoors and exploring the Malvern Hills. The designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is just under 10 miles away and is renowned for mountain biking, along with miles of footpaths and hiking trails. For a more sedate way to take in the Worcestershire scenery, try The Severn Valley Railway (01299 401776), 8 miles away.

Food & Drink

The nearest pub is the Holt Fleet  (01905 620286), 2½ miles away on the edge of the River severn. The Crown (01905 640408) in Hallow (5 miles), is a strikingly modern, gastro pub affair and can be walked to via country lanes allowing you to really explore the area.

Opening Times

All year.

Why book with Cool Camping?

  • Coronavirus Booking Guarantee
  • Best Price Guarantee, with no fees
  • Instant booking confirmation
  • Trusted for over 10 years
  • A chance to win prizes in our regular competitions

The Owner Says

Our trio of stunning shepherd huts and log cabin are all unique, Ockeridge Rural Retreats is no ordinary place ! Quoted as one of the top 10 Glamping sites in the UK by the Guardian newspaper.

The Ashwood Shepherd Hut is a couples escape and provides luxury and amazing features like a handmade roll top copper bath to unwind in together.

The Shepherds Retreat is idea for couples and families too with it’s unique bunk beds allowing for a family of 2 adults and two children to stay in absolute luxury.

The Hillside View Shepherds Hut is a couples only retreat and has clever space saving features making this a truly unique Shepherds Hut.

The Montana log cabin is a huge cabin designed for families and couples to unwind with all the creature comforts of home.

Ockeridge Rural Retreats is set in a nine acre equine facility and has far reaching views across to Witely court a ruined Italianate mansion, built for the Foleys in the seventeenth century. surrounded by horses in their paddocks you will love this tranquil setting

Located just 6 miles from Worcester City centre this is an ideal location for a rural city break giving you the best of both Worlds.

The local area is stepped in magnificent landmarks and has beautiful walks and countryside on you doorstep.

Hand build English craftsmanship, our Shepherd Huts and log cabin are designed to give you a glamping experience second to none.

Social Distancing Measures

We now operate a contactless check in so you will be guided into your property over the telephone giving you total peace of mind. As we live on site we are always on hand. We have 5 properties in total at Ockeridge Rural Retreats each one well spaced to give you a reassuring isolated stay for your holiday. We ask all guests to remain around their own accommodation and given its rural location set in 9 acres in open countryside this is an idyllic and very covid safe environment to be in away from the hustle and bustle of cities and built up areas. We are Good To Go accredited.

This site offers our Coronavirus Booking Guarantee

Accommodation

1 log cabin and 2 shepherd's hut.

Ashwood Shepherds Hut

Shepherd’s hut Sleeps 2
Our luxury Ashwood Shepherds Hut is the ultimate couples retreat. Kitted out with oak flooring, timber cladding and a hand crafted kitchen. We have also provided you with a log burner and a comfortable king sized bed with ensuite wet room with a beautiful shower and underfloor heating throughout.

The Shepherds Retreat

Shepherd’s hut Sleeps 4
This large shepherds hut has a unique and quirky feature having an outside cast iron enamel roll top bath to soak in. Perfect to relax, unwind and enjoy a glass of champagne under the stars at night. Inside has oak underfloor heating, TV, shower, WC, kitchen & Sofa. Comfortable king sized bed with two additional single bunk beds above for the kids

The Montana Cabin

Cabin Sleeps 4
The Montana Cabin is 38ft x 15ft The aim of the accommodation is simple – Luxury, relaxation, comfort, quality & attention to detail – Indulge yourselves with stunning views, peace and quiet, hot showers, sumptuous beds and exquisite fixtures and fittings. Our luxury 2 bedroom Cabin allows you to experience a home from home stay.

Hillside View Shepherds Hut

Shepherd’s hut Sleeps 2
This quirky Shepherds Hut is warm and cozy with stunning views. Designed with a clever space saving fold away bed creating a large seating and dinning area when bed not in use. We also give you complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries!

Check Availability

Location

Contact Ockeridge Rural Retreats, Ockeridge lane , Wichenford , Worcester WR6 6YR

Show Map

Getting There

Leave the M5 Motorway at Junction 6. Take the A449 exit on the roundabout onto a dual carriageway, signposted to Kidderminster. At the first roundabout, take the third exit, still following the A449 to Kidderminster. Follow the carriageway for around 2 miles, and then take the left hand slip road to Ombersley. Go through Ombersley and, at the roundabout, turn left. Follow the road for 2 miles, go over Holt Bridge and at the mini roundabout go straight on. At the end of the road you will see the Red Lion pub in front of you, turn right onto the A443 sign posted to Tenbury. Follow the road for around ½-mile, then turn left onto Ockeridge Lane. Follow the road for 1½ miles and, after you pass the first turing on your right into Well Lane, Ockeridge Rural Retreats' gated entrance is on your right hand side. The nearest railway stations are quite a distance away in Droitwich Spa (8 miles; 0845 748 4950) and in Worcester at Foregate Street (10 miles; 0845 748 4950). Taxis are available from both.

Reviews

Add Your Review

Rated ★★★★★ over 21 reviews

★★★★★

Amazing

We had such a lovely time at the Ashwood Shepherds Hut. The hut was perfectly cleaned and comfortable. The hot tub was top! Tiffany was very helpful, gave us info regarding places where to eat and walk in the woods. Sadly our holiday was very short, hopefully next time will be longer. Highly recommended!
★★★★★

A great experience

We recently had a really pleasant stay in The Shepherd’s Retreat, the pictures on the website are accurate and it’s a real case of ‘as advertised’! I’m sure we are all familiar with the listed photos for various accommodations being amazing and the reality somewhat less, but I can assure you things are as you see them. You will not be disappointed. It certainly feels very COVID secure, by the nature of the site and cleanliness and measures in place. The accommodation, grounds and the contact free check in/ out and support via phone with the owner Tiffany was all at the advertised high standards. Highly recommended.
★★★★★

Perfect in every way

Such a beautiful place from the minute the gates open the huts all look stunning with the countryside background all around you, we stayed in the Montana Cabin and was not disappointed, huge amount of space to relax and unwind, very smart kitchen with everything you need and more, super clean and modern inside. Perfect location for walks and days out and must recommend the Holt Fleet for drinks or meals. Without a doubt we will be returning again and will try out a different hut next time. Thanks for a brilliant stay
Oct 10, 2020 by Lawrence
★★☆☆☆

Very cute place but cleanliness an issue

Was really excited to spend 3 days for my partners birthday in the rural retreat, especially after 6months of being locked in our apartment due to COVID! Read all the info and this seemed a perfect place! Unfortunately the cutlery, pots and pans were not cleaned properly. There was large amounts of dust and hair behind the sofa cushions and the floor underneath the bed and sofa was so dusty. Was it not for the COVID pandemic situation we are currently in, it may have been a different story - and we could have somewhat excused these details - But we are all on high alert and this left little confidence in the cleanliness of the place - cutlery was not clean!!! How can that be in a time like this?! We had to be sent out of the apartment for owners to clean again - sadly only pots and cutlery were cleaned. After the clean there was no apology from the owner nor any follow up on whether we were now satisfied - poor service in my opinion.

Response from Ockeridge Rural Retreats

Unfortunately I have to disagree with you Aarti. We have a strict cleaning regime and as the owner I personally see to this myself. You had been in the hut for over a day when you claimed we had left you with 2 pans and 1 spoon that had small marks on them. I immediately came and replaced these items with brand new ones (within 5 minutes). I then offered to re-wash the entire contents of the kitchen as a gesture of goodwill to reassure you if you had any other concerns which took me 1 hour as I cleaned every single items including washing the cork screw. As it was a lovely day I said if you would like to go for a walk then I would do this for you which I did together with the washing up you left in the bowl from cooking breakfast. I disagree that there was large amounts of dust and hair underneath the sofa and as for underneath the bed this area isn't open as it contains storage draws which are always vacuumed after each guest together with the sofas and all floor areas and cushions. At no stage did I not offer an apology for you claiming to find 3 dirty items in the Kitchen as I believe that the customer is always right, that is until they decide to leave a public review trying to discredit our business that we work tirelessly to provide guests with a five star experience. We have all been frustrated by lockdown but over exaggerating isn't going to help anyone regain confidence in the new world we find ourselves in. 
★★★★★

So Relaxiiiiiiing

Just returned from our two night stay, such a peaceful setting. Everything you need in the huts with the added luxury of the Copper Bath which was perfect for a soak after a long wet walk. The host Tiffany was really helpful and gave us tips on local walks and places to eat, although the cooking facilities in the huts are more than adequate if you don't want to venture out. Looking forward to returning at a later date
★★★★★

Absolutely spot on!

Me and my two children stayed in the shepard's retreat for a night during out annual road trip before the back to school stress begins! I'm absolutely gutted we only booked for one night! Already planning on returning with my other half. It's such a beautiful place. So quiet and calming! The hut itself was perfect! Has absolutely everything you'll need in there, including tea, coffee and sugar... I forgot to bring milk though 😩🤦‍♀️ The kids enjoyed their outdoor bubble bath in the sun with their swimsuits on! The bed was unbelievably comfortable! Overall, everything was perfect, not a bad word to say about the place. Also the owner was so friendly and helpful!
★★★★★

Perfect

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of it! Lovely location that is very peaceful. Short distance by car to Malvern Hills and Wyre Forest. BBQ and hob meant it was easy to cook all your meals at home. Amazing bath and shower room facility with large, soft, white towels. Local pubs, such as The Crown Inn Hallow that serve delicious food. All round amazing trip to Worcestershire!
Aug 7, 2020 by Hannah
★★★★★

Relaxing, cosy and a perfect short break.

We had a two night stay (we will be back for a longer stay) to have a base to visit family and enable us to keep social distancing. Our hut was clean, comfortable and had everything you could need for two! The location is beautiful and the surrounding countryside is stunning. Tiffany gave us clear instructions for our arrival, making sure we felt welcomed and remained safe in these strange COVID times. Thank you to Jack for his tuck shop treats in the fridge, the cold diet coke was lovely after a long drive. We will be back.
Jul 26, 2020 by Paul Brown Verified Review
★★★★★

A perfect weekend getaway

The site was easy to find with the directions given before arrival and the site was clean and perfectly manicured. Very welcoming. We stayed in the Shepherds Hut. We found it held heat in very well from the sun but as this got a little warm, the opened windows created a cross breeze above the bed so that was perfect for relaxing and cooling down. All the huts are a good distance away from each other but the Shepherds Hut is the furthest away from the rest so I felt like we had maximum privacy. The bathroom was modern and clean and a whole lot bigger than I was expecting for a small hut. The shower could have easily have fitted 3 people in! Love a spacious bathroom. The whole hut was spotless on arrival and I loved the added touch of the fridge being stocked with drinks and snacks that you payed for as you took them. Around the site there are lots of quiet and serene walks where you can collect fresh eggs, strawberries, cherries and tomatoes from the surrounding farms on these walking routes. The whole site was always quiet so that along with the comfy bed and pillows meant a good night's sleep! I like the fact that this site allows you to stay for only one night as when we were searching we found many didn't, but now I wish I'd have stayed longer! Definitely will be coming back again.
★★★★★

Beautiful property!!

This was a beautiful property and a very clean and well decorated mini-cabin. We will definitely be back!
Jul 10, 2020 by Laura
★★★★★

Excellent little hideaway

Lovely little hideaway for our weekend break. Despite miserable weather we were cosy warm and very happy. Bed very comfy and liked the tuck shop. Communication with the owner was great, kept us up to date on how to access the site and local pubs etc. Only problem we had was we arrived in the evening (aka dark) and couldn't find the gate (it wasn't well lit). The postcode took us to a different location down a different country road and we had to stop and ask for directions. Once we found it once it was obvious! Had a couple of nice dinners, didn't anticipate that we would have to book in to eat but both places did takeaway and there was plenty of room to each in comfort in the hut. Would stay again if we are over that way again and would highly recommend.
★★★★★

A wonderful place to stay

Myself, the hubby and our daughter recently stayed 2 nights in The Shepherds Hut which was beautifully decorated and luxurious. The hosts are lovely and there's nothing better than sitting and enjoying a cuppa or glass of wine whilst looking out over the horses to the wonderful countryside beyond. We loved the outside bath and took the opportunity to bathe under the stars on both evenings :)
Aug 12, 2019 by Joanne Mewis Verified Review
★★★★★

Romantic Getaway

A romantic and cosy lodge. A comfy bed, soft towels and lots of luxury. A perfect night away full of romance. What more could you want? Thanks for a great stay!
★★★★★

A Romantic Getaway

A romantic and cosy lodge. Comfy bed, soft towels and plenty of luxury. What more could you want? Loved our stay!
★★★★★

What a wonderful discovery, the Shepherds Retreat

What a wonderful discovery, the Shepherds Retreat is, one of two Shepherds Hut’s and a small log cabin owned and operated by Ockeridge Rural Retreats. I stumbled across the website and liked what I saw so booked a short break. On arrival, we was greeted by Tiffany who showed us around and told us about the surrounding area. Everything the website promised was delivered, can’t fault it. Wonderful views, walks, peaceful site and comfortable in the well thought out cabin. My only regret was coming back home. Would definitely stay here again.
★★★★★

Nice view and luxurious hut

My partner and I stayed a night for the weekend. The hut was so beautiful, clean and luxury (same as the photos). We had everything we needed and even more. The owners were so nice and helpful. The view of the farm was brilliant. So if you really need to escape from city life, I would recommend to stay here. We wish we could stay more. We would definitely go back there again. Many Thanks to Tiffany.
Oct 15, 2018 by Farnaz Rafi Verified Review
★★★★★

Peaceful weekend in the countryside

My partner and I stayed in the Shepherd's Retreat for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding at nearby Curradine Barns. We had the most wonderful weekend and mostly stayed in the cabin as it was so wet but it was so cosy it didn't spoil our fun! We had a delicious breakfast and picked up some great food to cook at the cabin from Broomfield and Son Farm Shop, had an excellent dinner at The Holt pub and there were plenty more to choose from. Tiffany and Elliot were really friendly and helpful, communication was brilliant and we particularly liked Jack's Tuck Shop! We would highly recommend Ockeridge Rural Retreats and would stay again in the future. Tip- follow GoogleMaps to Ockeridge Rural Retreats rather than entering the postcode as this take you right to the site, the site is a good few minutes drive past where the sat nav takes you on the lane if you are using the postcode to navigate.
Sep 24, 2018 by Becki Simmons
★★★★★

A perfect secluded idyll.

If you want perfection, seclusion, privacy and quiet, it's here. Five star comfort in the shape of a shepherd's hut. This place needs to be experienced in order to appreciate its beauty. Go see and feel for yourselves.
Jul 27, 2018 by GillyJon
★★★★★

Great experience

Our family of four stayed in the Sheperds Hut for a weekend away in June. We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodation - it was luxurious and included all you would need and more for a weekend away. Very friendly and professional owners made us feel right at home and wss very helpful to share local info. Would definitely stay again but for a bit longer as the drive from Hertfordshire took 3 hours hours each way due to hectic weekend traffic.
Jun 20, 2018 by CSwart
★★★★★

Glamping at it's best!

A friend & I stayed in the Shepherd's Hut at the end of April & had a thoroughly relaxing time. I'm not sure I would even really describe the experience as glamping...it was literally like a luxurious hotel bedroom in a hut but with all the mod cons you could possibly need! The immediate area surrounding the hut was very well kept & the very friendly & helpful owner, Tiffany, was on hand for information when required. We went for a couple of walks into the beautiful countryside nearby but to be honest we struggled to leave the wonderful comfort of the hut itself! It worked out great for my friend & I but equally I could imagine staying again with my husband & two boys & perhaps exploring the local area a little more (especially the most hilarious pig I've ever come across just up the road-that visit is a must!) Would absolutely recommend!
Jun 13, 2018 by Ruth Tara
★★★★★

Winter Wonderland 5*+

We had a family break here just before Christmas and were lucky enough to experience this place covered in Snow! We absolutely loved it here, the accommodation was stunning, the setting amazing looking out over the Worcestershire hills and the owners could not have done more for us! We stayed in the Shepard's Hut for a long weekend, our two small children loved the comfy bunk beds and our double bed was to die for - we sank into the bedding, it was like something out of a 5* star hotel - truly luxurious! All the facilities were absolutely perfect, everything available that you need for family break! We experienced heavy snow and very cold temperatures but the hut was so warm and comfy we could of stayed there for the whole of Christmas! The owners welcomed us even though we arrived very late and helped us get out when the snow covered the whole place. Set is a great location overlooking the rolling hills of Worcestershire yet only 10-15 minutes from Worcester Town Centre or the Malvern Hills. The kids loved being introduced to the horses just across from the Hut especially Fairy the Shetland Pony! We will definitely be returning again, the Log Cabin looked equally amazing so maybe we will have to try that one next time! We stayed as a family but would be equally amazing for a romantic break for myself and my wife!
Jan 8, 2018 by Philip Taylor

Why book with Cool Camping?

  • Coronavirus Booking Guarantee
  • Best Price Guarantee, with no fees
  • Instant booking confirmation
  • Trusted for over 10 years
  • A chance to win prizes in our regular competitions

Related Guides

See Glamping in Worcester

See Campsites in the Midlands

Book campsites near Ockeridge Rural Retreats