Book campsites near Blackgrounds Farm Shepherd Huts

Are you the Owner?

Blackgrounds Farm Shepherd Huts

UK England South East England Oxfordshire Banbury

  • Campfires allowed
  • Dogs welcome
  • Short walk to pub
Romantic shepherd’s huts on a riverside Oxfordshire farm each with their own private space

Running through the folds of the Oxfordshire countryside, the River Cherwell strings its way into Blakgrounds Farm. It’s a serene setting for a glamping site and the shepherd's huts here certainly capitalise on it. Indeed, it is the hut furthest from the farmyard that perches right along the water’s edge, the sound of the river’s flow faintly audible in the night. The extra 350-yard stroll from your car is well worth it.

In total there are, in fact, five different shepherd’s huts on the farm, each with its own private space and equipped with personal facilities, so you feel like the only guests around. The huts have specifically been placed so that they are not visible from one another, with one nestled among the low trees of an apple orchard and another in the open pastures beyond the farmhouse with wide, magnificent views.

Inside, the huts are well equipped for glamping – they have fitted, king-sized beds, a table and chairs, plus tea and coffee making facilities for your morning cup around the campfire – but the style is in keeping with the huts’ humble origins. There are no slim TVs or DVD players and the hot showers are off-grid and gas-powered. Two of the huts do have solar power, while the other three are on on-grid, although the romantic flickering of candlelight is a more atmospheric alternative.

Footpaths lace their way through the farm. There is one directly outside the ‘Blackgrounds’ hut, though it is rarely used by the public. As a result, guests have instant access to the local routes. The Millennium Way and the Battlefields Trail are two particularly well-known paths, or you can have a more urban adventure, by car, in nearby Oxford, Warwick or Stratford-Upon-Avon. For most, it must be said, the riverside route to the local pub is the most popular option. After all, a visit to the inn after a few days in your hut is exactly what the shepherds of old would have done, isn't it?



All huts have private facilities, built in beds (bedding provided), table and chairs, BBQs, firepits outside, gas-fired showers, eco toilets, tea and coffee making facilities, 2 can accommodate children and 2 are solar powered, 3 are on-grid. On-site parking, garden for guests to explore, drying facilities, BBQ area, stabling available and swimming in the river for those willing to give it a try!

Suitable For

Glamping only. Dogs welcome (with an additional charge).


It’s less than half an hour to ‘the city of dreaming spires’, where you can roam around the various Oxfordcolleges and quads, admiring the architecture. Punting(01865 515978) is a great option on sunny days; relaxing in a good book or coffee shop is a good choice on rainy ones. Shakespeare’s Stratford-upon-Avon is around the same distance – worth a visit not just for the theatres and Shakespeare-centred history, but also as an attractive little town in its own right. Just beyond, Warwick is particularly popular for its well-kept Norman castle (08712 652000) – family activities run throughout school holidays. It’s also 40 minutes to Blenheim Palace (01993 810500), a monumental 18th-century house in Woodstock and the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. Closer to home, enjoy walks directly from the campsite. There are several local footpaths along the riverside, while long distance routes – the Jurassic Way, Millennium Way and Battlefield Trail – are also accessible.

Food & Drink

Picnic hampers can be supplied with advanced notice and a butchers van, with free-range meat and fresh vegetables, comes to the farmyard every Saturday morning. The Griffin (01295 660311) in Chipping Warden is within easy walking distance (dog-friendly and serving hearty pub food) or, if you want to really treat yourself, the renowned Butchers Arms (01327 260504) at Priors Hardwick is only a 15-minute drive. Other top pubs for within 5–10 minutes drive are The Red Lion (01295 760050) at Culworth, The George and Dragon (01295 711500) at Chacombe, The Three Conies (01295 711025) at Thorpe Mandeville and The Red Lion (01327 261200) at Hellidon.


All year.

Are you the Owner?


Contact Blackgrounds Farm Shepherd Huts, Blackgrounds Farm, Culworth Rd, Chipping Warden, Oxfordshire OX17 1LZ

Show Map

Getting There

From the M40, leave at junction 11 and take the A422/A361 exit to Banbury. At the roundabout, take the 3rd exit onto the A361 to Daventry, then turn right onto Culworth Rd at the Aston Le Walls crossroads. Turn left opposite the barn conversion, through a green gate (Sat Nav users will be taken to this barn conversion with the postcode). Go through the green gate – it will open when you drive up to it.

The nearest station is Banbury (0845 748 4950). There is a bus once an hour that goes to Chipping Warden. The campsite is a 12-minute walk from the bus stop.


Add Your Review

Rated ★★★★★ over 15 reviews


Idyllic getaway on beautiful farmland

Arriving mid-November we had braced ourselves for spending our three days at best freezing cold, at worst miserable. Nothing could be further from the truth. Our shepherd’s hut in the orchard was warm, cosy and full of little niceties such as fairy lights and bunting to make the whole experience that much prettier. The outdoor shower was simply amazing, much better than mine at home! Nothing beat the views though, rolling mists across the fields, the sun breaking through, beautiful horses with their foals surrounded us. Friendly and helpful owners (without being intrusive!) – the quality of the local bacon, sausages etc was fab. We spent the whole time off-grid, nothing but walking, playing cards by candlelight, cooking, reading and taking in the views - and it was wonderful.
Nov 20, 2019 by Faye

Amazing and relaxing weekend away

We stayed in the orchard hut from Saturday- Sunday. The hut had everything we needed for a weekend away. We were very lucky with the weather and had a BBQ in the evening and also for breakfast. The views were beautiful and it was lovely to watch the sunset from the hut. We managed to take so many lovely photos and found the whole weekend so relaxing. We would definitely return and would recommend this weekend to anyone- we were sad to leave!
Sep 16, 2019 by Charlotte

2 people in the Tree Tent 1 night.

We spent one night in the tree tent. We had a great time. Upon arrival we did struggle to find someone who worked there but after knocking on the farm house a very kind lady showed us about and where all the essentials were. They had a very nice bathroom in the stables and a clean fridge to store any food. They even supplied you with some milk and juice which was a lovely touch. The tree tent was positioned next to a field of sheep. The sheep weren't noisy at all. It had it's own porta-loo. The owners supplied a gas cooker with gas supplied as well as loads of cooking utensils, soap, plates, cutlery, washing up stuff, coffee so on. The tent itself was really quirky. The closest comparison to the floor that you sleep on is like a soft trampoline. I would recommend each person having their own sleeping bag and pillow as we took a double duvet and it didn't really work too well logistically. It was also extremely cold during the night which comes with the territory of camping. The site did supply sleeping bags which we used as a mattress. There were some very friendly farm dogs that would occasionally come say hi and ask for a belly rub too. In the morning we got to see the sheep being hearded by dogs and farmers whilst we sat next to the tent eating breakfast which was amazing. Would defo stay again with some minor changes on our own half. Would also recommend camping chairs. There is a picnic bench but for added comfort camping chairs would be perfect.
Sep 15, 2019 by Sam Stooks Verified Review

Expensive, dirty, misleading

We stayed in the country cabin on 30/08/19. We are not serial complainers and contrary to that assertion made by the owners, it is the first time we have EVER complained to anyone. Having said that here are the facts of the matter with regards to our stay in the “country cabin”   The Country Cabin is a portacabin with wood cladding on the outside. It is located within the perimeter of the farm. The portacabin ( lets call it what it is) was dirty. Dirty crockery, cupboards and windows full of cobwebs and dead insects. We were kept awake by rats under the cabin.    Pictures of the cabin are clearly misleading. It shows a lovely wood cabin amongst greenery. In fact they are charging quite a high amount of money to stay in a portacabin located against a hangar storing farm machinery. They have repeatedly denied this for some strange reason although if they took a picture of what is located at the back of the cabin it is pretty plain to see!   We have NEVER complained to anyone before. We did not ask for a refund. We did not ask for a penny yet on Saturday the owner offered what we think was a fair compensation as we only stayed one night of a two night stay. But we did not ask for it. We thought this would be the end of it and had no intention of leaving a review. The owner then changed their minds and gave us only £30 back for compensation for the noise caused by rats. We feel we need to let people know about what they are signing for and that if they are expecting a wooden cabin nesting in the countryside that’s not it. This review does not concern the shepherd huts ( we did not stay there and as such unable to comment) but the cabin only.
Sep 2, 2019 by Jim

Response from Blackgrounds Farm Shepherd Huts

Thank you for your comments Debbie Fisher. Had you mentioned any of these things before you decided to leave you would have been given a free upgrade. We assumed you had left because you could not control your two large dogs that were freely wandering around the farmyard causing havoc. You said at the time you were "very happy" with the cabin.  The cabin was most certainly NOT dirty indeed it was spotless and all the crockery had just been through the dishwasher and double checked. Cobwebs can appear within hours so we apologise about those.

The cabin is clearly advertised that it is in the farmyard NOT a "log cabin nestling in a field" All our past guests have been very happy with it especially  as it has so much room and is very reasonably priced.  We have never had anyone mention rats before and we put poison down twice a year to guard against this as it is an occupational hazard on a farm. You managed to complain about everything after you had left and yet did not have the courtesy to say anything before when it could have been so easily rectified. All we want is for our guests to have a lovely stay and we will do anything to facilitate that. I am just sorry you didn't give us the chance to rectify matters.


Great escape!

We loved our stay in the Stable Shepherd Hut. We are a family of 3 and there was plenty of room for us all and all the amenities you could need. The location was perfect and along with the welcoming and friendly owners it made for a peaceful, relaxing experience. There was plenty of stuff to do for everyone, including country walks, local pubs, splashing in rivers and feeding the pigs in the morning. We all cannot wait to go back!

Perfect getaway !

We stayed at the Stable Shepherd Hut for a night but wish we could have stayed longer. The hut had everything we needed with shower just a few meters from the hut. We had breakfast on the veranda that we cooked in the hut and enjoyed cycling in the local area and had a lovely meal at The Red Lion in Culworth. The owners were also very helpful when we had any questions. Would definitely recommend !
Aug 28, 2019 by Rachel

Lovely, peaceful break

Stayed in the country cabin for a couple of nights. It was lovely, all the perks of a peaceful, countryside setting but with home comforts. Really enjoyed sitting on the porch at night with the burner roaring. The owners are very welcoming and friendly, left us to it but we knew they were at hand should we need them. Highly recommend this for a peaceful break. We will be back.
Aug 9, 2019 by Emily Rowe Verified Review

Cosy comfy and relaxing

From the moment we arrived we felt a real warm relaxing feel to the farm. We were left to unwind and enjoy the beautiful scenic Oxfordshire views. After having a chat with Doug and spending a cosy evening on our porch by the fire, we felt even more at home and will definitely look forward to returning

Beautiful location, tent could do with some love.

Stunning location, easy to find. You're surrounded by nice walks and pubs, loads of horses and chickens on site and a lovely dog or 2 who like to say hello. Tent was a fun and different experience but could do with a really good clean, its a bit mouldy and there were loads of dead wasps in there. The fairy lights were a nice touch but didn't all work which was a shame. The couple who run the farm are lovely very friendly and helpful. Local pub and staff were friendly.
May 22, 2019 by Annmarie SB

Beautiful, peaceful, welcoming and romantic

We had a lovely stay in Orchard Shepherds Hut. It was cozy and comfy and had everything you needed for a short stay. Nice position with lovely views of the countryside and playful horses in surrounding fields. Breakfast pack was great but bring other food with you as nearest proper supermarket is Banbury. A slightly bigger fridge would have made things easier. Hosts friendly and would definitely stay there again for a quiet retreat.
Apr 23, 2019 by Deb Verified Review


If you are looking to get away and spend some quality time in the open then look no further!! Me and my partner stayed in the river hut which was an amazing experience, being by the river with an open firing cooking dinner and next to the horses - amazing! We went for a two-hour walk along the battlefields path which was nice and also hired the bikes, I must admit the bikes could have done with a little TLC and maybe a bike map route would have been a nice bonus? Definitely not a criticism though! A little tip, bring a good flashlight and a good camera as there is loads of scenery.
Mar 25, 2019 by sunnie Verified Review

Peaceful and comfy

We stayed in the Riverside Hut and had a great time. The hut is comfortable and contains everything you need but the highlight is the river next to it which was fantastic to swim and paddle board in (it helped that it was very hot). We borrowed their bikes to cycle around a bit and it made it easy to pop to the local pub.Brilliant
Jul 16, 2018 by Adam

Response from Blackgrounds Farm Shepherd Huts

Well done on swimming in the river! Great to have you both stay and thank you for the great review. See you again soon we hope!

Lovely location

Not as private as I would have liked being right next to the farm house , had to share the shower with the people in the tree tent ! The fridge was really on its last legs and very noisy , the hit it’s self was nice just missing the luxury touches breakfast Was good apart from the one yogurt that was out of date, nice location but didn’t live up to the standards I’d expect for the money we paid
Jul 5, 2018 by Jason

Quite simple amazing, romantic and perfect in every way.

We stayed in the Orchard Shepherds hut for the weekend. It was everything we could of wished for and more. The beauty and serenity of the farm was enhanced by its total wild seclusion. The attention to detail to ensure all your needs and requirements were met was outstanding. The bed was so comfortable, everything so clean and fresh, the food locally produced and beautifuly presented. This was the most amazing, romantic weekend that anyone could possibly want. We would certainly recommend anyone to stay at Blackgrounds Farm and an experience we will love to repeat.
Jun 25, 2018 by Maria and David


Calm, quiet, clean, simple, exactly what we were looking for. Comfy bed, good amenities, lovely little extras. Would go back in a heartbeat.
Jun 18, 2018 by Doug

Related Guides

See Glamping in Banbury

See Campsites in the Cotswolds

See Campfire-friendly campsites in the Cotswolds

See Glamping in the Cotswolds