Tycanol Farm, Newport, Pembrokeshire, SA42 0ST
Perfectly situated slap-bang on Britain’s onlycoastal national park.
Run by Mr. Harries, a traditional Pembrokeshire former farmer who’s the embodiment of courtesy, welcoming campers with smiles and open arms – and sometimes a shot of whiskey! The owner is eager that guests make the most of their Pembrokeshire visit, whatever that may be, so bring deep pockets for his inevitable distribution of local leaflets. Utter a few choice words in Welsh and old man Harries might even tell you where to find the "oldest pub in Wales".
Pitch space is plentiful and it’s easy to find a quaint little corner to throw up your canvas; visitors have the pick of three fairly flat, neatly trimmed fields. If this sounds slightly too manicured for your taste, one quick look across St Georges Channel puts everything back into perspective. Tycanol Farm has a reassuringly natural, outdoorsy feel.
Facilities? Okay, they are basic and not quite up to Savoy standards, however the showers are hot, powerful and always immaculately clean. You'll also find proper little campfire burns in one of the open sheds – complete with a selection of battered sofas. Tycanol Farm is a well-maintained, back-to-basics type of campsite, with the attraction being its removed, awe-inspiring location rather than its facilities.
The Owner Says
Ty Canol Farm is a family run campsite and visitors are mainly greeted by Huw Harries,it was once a traditional welsh dairy farm until around 15 years ago. Ty Canol is a truly special place with stunning views over looking Newport bay and situated right on the Pembrokeshire Coast path, it has a rustic and natural feel about it almost as if it's untouched apart from the immaculately kept fields and very clean facility's. This place is what camping is all about the open barn has picnic benches and log fires for campers to get together of an evening and share a drink and perhaps listen to a few of Huw's story's and jokes oh and a drop of whiskey or 2! Please call for prices as they alternate depending on time of year!
Best view in Wales!
Our stay at Tycanol farm this week was nothing short of superb! Mr Harries and his family made us very welcome. We will be returning again soon with Lily our Bull Terrier! Thanks again for your hospitality.
What a spot!
Had a lovely Bank Holiday weekend here. As so many others have commented ; we were met by a friendly welcome - and even taken around the site in the buggy to help us pick a spot! Ended up with plenty of space despite the time of year. Simple facilities but water taps at regular intervals around the site. The old chap popped over twice a day to check all was OK and even moved one of their brilliant custom made picnic tables (reversible seats & table top you can turn over & sit on something dry if it's rained !) to just beside our tent. It was like having our own valet, complete with cheeky sense of humour! Some previous reviewers unhappy with the cost, but from my experience £10 a night is the going rate in this area. In addition, it looks like the showers are now free (they didn't mention it, and couldn't find a box to pay) and this site benefits from stunning views over the sea cliffs, Newport beach & the hills behind. All topped off by one of the best sunsets I've ever seen (...though I can't guarantee that for other visitors!).
Really wanted to say it's a terrible place so no one else will get to know about Tycanol, but that would be purely selfish. How anyone can say anything negative about this site is beyond us, it's absolutely perfect! If you are looking for somewhere tranquil, scenic, convenient - this is it. As stated, it does not profess to have 5 star amenities, they are basic but spotlessly clean and kind of cute. the showers are powerful and hot, we tried them both! Location: 15 mins max walk into Newtown, 10 mins to the boat club which has a non members section and overlooks the bay, wonderful for a glass of wine watching the sun go down. Right on top of the coastal path for those heavenly walks, on low tide you can even cross the bay over to Nevern for a more rural walk or to the golf course. Pitches are flat, there are sheltered and non sheltered options, all with wonderful views of Parrog bay. On arrival, we were indeed greeted by Huw, who is a charming, friendly and humorous guy, very informative and helpful. Huw told us about some lovely walks and stops which we really enjoyed, especially the 4 bay walk to the sailors rest pub which has a really friendly landlord! They do not allow the site to get overcrowded so no one is on top of each other. Camping was £10 per person per night which we thought was very reasonable for the time of year and location. We can't wait to visit again it's lovely.
We recently stayed at this brilliant little site, and cant fault it. Spectacular views, very welcoming owners too. Facilities are basic, but clean and tidy. The whole site was immaculate. Nearby is the beautiful village of Newport, well worth the short walk for scrumptious grub at the Golden lion pub. Very easy access to the coastal path.
Visited this beautiful campsite today as we want somewhere to pitch our caravan for the summer. After reading the reviews on various websites Inc this one ....phoned during the week arranged a visit. Very welcoming on arrival and showed us around his beautiful property. However this is where is gets very confusing! During the phone call I was told £10 a week for storage but if we are using the caravan it goes up to £20 per week. Fair enough I thought and he said visit forget talking prices come and visit. After out tour we started talking money he told us £20 per week storage and £25 PER NIGHT! !!!! When asked about the price stated on here £10 a night and our phone call he was adamant it was £25 a night.......so if we wanted weekend away it would be £75! Peak season in the most popular campsites around this area are
Lovely gem of a place, basic, beautiful surroundings very friendly owners but put off by very conflicting prices. Hope.you can shed some light on this.
Response from campsite owner:
I am sorry for any confusion on the pricing. I am looking at making things clearer and checking that the websites are being updated. The pricing has been based on the location and compared the prices to other local campsites as we are trying to offer a competitive price for our visitors. If customers want a clearer answer they can always ask for Sharon and leave a number for me to call them back if this helps!
- Best Price Guarantee, with no fees
- Instant booking confirmation
- Trusted for 10 years
- Chance to win camping goodies in our regular competitions!
Go for the view, stay for the whisky
My wife and I spent the last night of a mid-September trip up the north Pembrokeshire coast here. It was the only night we used a campsite, having spent the previous few nights just parked up in our campervan. We absolutely loved the place. On arrival, Huw, the 80-something year old proprietor took us on a guided tour of the site on his 4x4 buggy and showed us all the best pitches. We chose one lower down the site with an amazing view, but it would be pretty difficult to find a spot here without an amazing view. The site was pretty quiet and it seems like that's a deliberate ploy - the owners aren't interested in packing people in to line their pockets; they want people to enjoy the experience and not have neighbours directly on either side. There are loads of places to eat in the village, a few decent pubs, a great butchers and a local produce market. The highlight was a visit from Huw as we made our back from dinner. He'd called over to our van to see if we were okay and caught us on the way back. He gave us a lift down the hill and then produced a bottle of whisky. We shared a few glasses, lots of jokes and he told us all about the area - what a great host! The facilities were clean and the showers were the perfect temperature - we happily put £1 coins in the honesty box. Ignore the negative reviews. If you want a sterile Eurocamp-style experience then this place may not be for you, but if you love camping in a perfect location then it probably is.
Not good value
Spent four nights here last week after reading positive reviews. Basic facilities is a bit of an understatement and everything was a bit on the shabby/dirty side. We were told £7.50 a night per person when booking only to be told it was £10 a night on arrival and that showers were £1 a go. The £1 box in the showers was just a collection box so we simply didn't pay as £10 a night is expensive for basic facilities. The barn with the bbq etc was not welcoming at all. Very disappointed as the view is amazing and it really is a very quick walk to several lovely beaches. The town of Newport is also a lovely place with plenty of good food options (try the lamb at castle inn or get breakfast at Lou Lous). Avoid the campsite, but find time to visit Newport.
Response from Campsite owner:
I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Tycanol Farm. I agree that our facilities are basic, however, we have never stated to be otherwise and aim to operate as a traditional, simple campsite that offers somewhere to pitch in a top location. These basic facilities are cleaned regularly so though old they will always be found clean and well maintained. I'm afraid we have raised our prices this year from the old rate of £7.50, however, this was only done after deliberating on the fact that all the campsites around are priced at more than £10 so feel our new price remains both cheap and in keeping with the current cost of camping and running a campsite in the UK. Likewise, the open barn is as it says on the tin: An open barn where anyone and everyone can sit around the campfire and have a drink if they like. Simple but welcoming as a result of such openness. I'm still very pleased to hear the nearby beach and the town of Newport made for a good visit, we certainly love being in such a fantastic part of the world!
avoid! filthy facilities
We had read great reviews of this site, and as regular campers we were looking forward to it. What a disappointment. We stayed for 4 nights (coming home a night early) and in that time the toilets and showers were NEVER cleaned. I have revolting photos of black scum on the underside of the toilet seat to attest to this fact. The hot water for showers is also turned off during the day- this is not advertised so we only found out when I had two small children covered in sand from the beach standing under the shower. Upon leaving we asked the owner why the facilities were not cleaned and he told us that he didn't want so many people to come- he had removed the electical hook up from most of the pitches, knocked down 5 toilets and put his prices up to put people off. it certailty worked- I will not return! The only good point for this campsite is the view which is spectacular.
What a wonderful, relaxing site! Dogs welcome (watch out for the rabbits), free showers and plenty of space. And the views!!!! Right on the coast path and easy reach of the beach (again dogs welcome). Will definitely be going back for another break.
The views are to good for words to describe the toilets and showers are clean. welcomed by an old fella in a buggy he will tell u where to go and offer a shot of whisky one of the best camp sites you could ask for! beach and pub 5 min walk epic place
THE BEST SITE ANYWHERE
We have been visiting this site for over thirty years we are now on our third generation enjoying this piece of Heaven - fantastic views - really friendly owners- beautifully kept site.
Endless hot water for showering after a day on the close by beach or walking on the coastal path that runs along the edge of this site. All that it says in the listing is true only its better a great place for everyone / families / couples even singles - be on your own or join in with other campers of an evening around a campfire in a barn. Every time we leave we are counting the days when we can return