Book campsites near Tycanol Farm

Are you the Owner?

Tycanol Farm

UK Wales South Wales Pembrokeshire Newport

  • Electrical hook-ups
  • Campfires allowed
  • Dogs welcome
  • Short walk to pub
  • Beaches nearby
  • Good walks nearby
Perfectly situated slap-bang on Britain’s only coastal national park

There's hardly a campsite in Great Britain that can beat this one for views. Right on Tycanol Farm's doorstep is the Pembrokeshire Coast Path, weaving its way across 186 miles of some of the most thrilling coastal scenery in Europe. From Amroth in the south, to St Dogmaels in the north, this epic journey covers almost every kind of seaside landscape; from soft sand beaches and craggy cliff-tops to winding estuaries and shady coves, making Tycanol Farm the promised land for any camper.

Run by Mr. Harries, a traditional Pembrokeshire former farmer who’s the embodiment of courtesy, welcoming campers with smiles and open arms – and sometimes a shot of whiskey! The owner is eager that guests make the most of their Pembrokeshire visit, whatever that may be, so bring deep pockets for his inevitable distribution of local leaflets. Utter a few choice words in Welsh and old man Harries might even tell you where to find the "oldest pub in Wales".

Pitch space is plentiful and it’s easy to find a quaint little corner to throw up your canvas; visitors have the pick of three fairly flat, neatly trimmed fields, all with good views, one of which is also well sheltered. If this sounds slightly too manicured for your taste, one quick look across St Georges Channel puts everything back into perspective. Tycanol Farm has a reassuringly natural, outdoorsy feel.

Facilities? Okay, they are basic and not quite up to Savoy standards, however the showers are hot, powerful and always immaculately clean. You'll also find proper little campfire burns in one of the open sheds – complete with a selection of battered sofas. Tycanol Farm is a well-maintained, back-to-basics type of campsite, with the attraction being its removed, awe-inspiring location rather than its facilities.



Loads of space with room for 60 tents, caravans (20 hard-standing), and a bunk-house (sleeping 4). Facilities are basic but clean with toilets, showers, dishwashing area, freezer and a launderette. Onsite fun to be had includes a log fire, free BBQ (held nightly), fishing, and horse riding.

Suitable For

Tents, caravans, kids, groups, and dogs – yes.


The Pembrokeshire Coast Path, one of the most spectacular coastal walks in Europe (voted by National Geographic as the second best coastal vacation in the world!), is right on your doorstep. Seal lovers can drop down the mountain to Pwllderi, to see pups being born (in season), and the popular sandy stretches of Newport and Whitesands are both close by. The nearest beach is a 2 minute walk and the peaceful town of Newport is a short 20 minute stroll away. Newport has a laid back way of life and boasts both a Norman Castle and Church, which stand proudly on the slopes of Carn Ingli mountain. Charming timeworn streets lead directly to the river Nevern's (Nyfer) estuary, which teems with wildlife.

Food & Drink

Free nightly barbecues are held at the height of summer. The Bridge End Inn at Llanychaer (01348 8725450) is just 5 miles down the road. It's very much a ‘local’, and serves decent pub grub and sees very few tourists. If you fancy a simple yet satisfying meal (like fresh local beer battered fish and hand cut Pembrokeshire potato chips), take the half hour drive to The Shed Bistro (01348 831518) at Porthgain. For a special occasion, head further down the coast to The Druidstone Hotel and Restaurant (01437 781221), which has been in the Good Food Guide consistently since 1974 and serves delicious homemade food that will suit all tastes. For a bite to eat a little closer to home, there’s a shop, restaurant, pub, and takeaway all within 1 mile. Be sure to ask Mr Harris where to find the "oldest pub in Wales".


All year round.

Family Friendly

Are you the Owner?


Contact Tycanol Farm, Tycanol Farm, Newport, Pembrokeshire, SA42 0ST

Show Map

Getting There

Not to be confused with Tycanol Farm in Neath! From the centre of Newport: head west on West Street (A487) for one mile, then take a right (keep your eyes peeled, the sign for Tycanol Farm is tiny!) Follow the single lane for a further half a mile.

Fishguard Harbour railway station is only 6 miles from Tycanol Farm and connects the coast to Clarbeston Road, Manchester Piccadilly, Carmarthen, and Cardiff Central. See website for all the latest arrivals & departures.


Add Your Review

Rated ★★★★★ over 21 reviews


Stuning view and the best Campingplace Owner

Thanks to Huw and his wife for 2 fabulous nights in Newtown! We loved the little town, the beach and its Pub Castel Inn a lot and enjoyed our time. The camping ground is with a stunning view over the bay of Newtown and only a fiew steps away from the coastal path. The best was Huw, who lives here since the 1930s and visited all his camping guests with his little vihicule and his dog trixi (and a shot of Brandy in the evening). He had always a joke to tell and good recommandations for hiking. The toilets and showers were simple but warm.
Aug 5, 2019 by Ann-Catherine Fougeras

Fab views, dogtastic!

This place is unique the best sea views very dog friendly and unspoilt. Facilities basic so if u want heated shower rooms and hairstraigtening facilities this place is definitely not for you! Very clean site owners very friendly and the owner Huw is a one off! Very chatty keen that everyone having a good time and generous with his whiskey.Perfect dog walks lovely village and pubs. we would visit all the time if it wasent such a drive for us but we will return!
Jun 30, 2019 by J mMcGiveron

New Year Camping

What a beautiful site amazing views , spotlessly clean maybe dated but perfect , Huw driving round asking us about our day and what we were doing . Camped with friends for New Year Newport a beautiful little town very friendly people, easy to walk into town on the coastal path or the roads take a torch for night time walking Loved it definiently be back . Not one single negative a new favourite 😃
Jan 2, 2019 by Tania

Fantastic owner, Fantastic View

We stayed with Hugh in September for a week we had a wonderful time fantastic views and facilities, Many a Joke and a whisky to be had with Hugh the owner :D 5 minutes to the fantastic beach where if you have dogs you can give them a good run, boat club and cafe 15 minutes away, the town 10 minutes away some superb places to eat and drink lots to see and do. If you don't enjoy your holiday with Hugh you should go and see a doctor 😎😂 we'll be back
Dec 15, 2018 by Steve & Pat

One of the best campsites ever!

We stayed here for the first time in August 2018. We have camped all over the UK but this must rank as one of the best sites we have ever stayed at! The site is roomy with amazing views, walks and wildlife. There is always plenty of room with big pitches and a picnic bench for each. The facilities are perfect; basic, clean and tidy - all you need when camping and they add to the simplicity of spending time in a tent in a stunningly beautiful place! And our dog loved watching the rabbits scampering around the site plus the walks along the cliffs. The owners couldn't be nicer, helpful and friendly and the tot of whiskey every evening just added to the magic of this amazing place! Very highly recommended. 5*****
Aug 19, 2018 by Steve from Bedfordshire

Beautiful view - but at a price!

I was charged £20 a night to stay here in little Romahome!....solo travellers beware. It would have been £25 with a hook-up. Fantastic views, limited facilities - one sink for washing up, 2 showers but plenty of hot water. Freezers for ice packs at no charge. I stayed 3 night's with friends & had a great time.
Jul 23, 2018 by Jenny

The Jewel in the Crown ..

I loved everything about this little hidden treasure. Tina and her husband were lovely and very hospitable,the showering facilities, which, were above my expectations and the peace and tranquillity of the campsite. I will definitely recommend and be back in the future.
Jul 2, 2018 by Angelina from Edinburgh

Such a friendly welcome from the site owner which set the tone for the stay.

The focus here is having an enjoyable stay, notwithstanding the stunning location, there seems to be a strong emphasis on being looked after. True enough Mr Harries does indeed do his evening round with a tot of Whisky and a chat, which is most welcoming. Newport is a nice enough little town, but this site is all about the views, which are stunning. Facilities are more than adequate. I'm already looking forward to my next stay in here and trip around Pembrokeshire.
Jun 11, 2018 by The Don

Beach, yacht club in Parrog, coastal path

As others have said the views are amazing, but if there is fog and clouds there,s nothing to see. The toilets and showers are very last century, and considering the capacity for tents, and caravans there certainly aren't enough. As for the fridge and freezer facilities, disgusting! The smell when I opened the fridge was like that of a slaughter house. We did have great company, which thankfully made up for this shortfall.
Jun 5, 2018 by Yvonne

The view and the hospitality

We had the best time here a few years ago and have wanted to return ever since. Finally have the opportunity this summer and so looking forward to it. Showers were hot and clean, hook up kept the kids happy with their iPads. Beautiful coastal walks and posh cafes and shops in Newport. love the communal cooking facilities. We cooked lamb from the village butcher with mussels and samphire foraged from the beach, a treasured family memory. We were blessed with perfect weather so if you could arrange that again Huw we'll bring you some whiskey!
May 12, 2018 by Emma

Best view in Wales!

Our stay at Tycanol farm this week was nothing short of superb! Mr Harries and his family made us very welcome. We will be returning again soon with Lily our Bull Terrier! Thanks again for your hospitality.
Aug 17, 2016 by David

What a spot!

Had a lovely Bank Holiday weekend here. As so many others have commented ; we were met by a friendly welcome - and even taken around the site in the buggy to help us pick a spot! Ended up with plenty of space despite the time of year. Simple facilities but water taps at regular intervals around the site. The old chap popped over twice a day to check all was OK and even moved one of their brilliant custom made picnic tables (reversible seats & table top you can turn over & sit on something dry if it's rained !) to just beside our tent. It was like having our own valet, complete with cheeky sense of humour! Some previous reviewers unhappy with the cost, but  from my experience £10 a night is the going rate in this area. In addition, it looks like the showers are now free (they didn't mention it, and couldn't find a box to pay) and this site benefits from stunning views over the sea cliffs, Newport beach & the hills behind. All topped off by one of the best sunsets I've ever seen (...though I can't guarantee that for other visitors!).

Sep 7, 2015 by Dave


Really wanted to say it's a terrible place so no one else will get to know about Tycanol, but that would be purely selfish. How anyone can say anything negative about this site is beyond us, it's absolutely perfect! If you are looking for somewhere tranquil, scenic, convenient - this is it. As stated, it does not profess to have 5 star amenities, they are basic but spotlessly clean and kind of cute. the showers are powerful and hot, we tried them both! Location: 15 mins max walk into Newtown, 10 mins to the boat club which has a non members section and overlooks the bay, wonderful for a glass of wine watching the sun go down. Right on top of the coastal path for those heavenly walks, on low tide you can even cross the bay over to Nevern for a more rural walk or to the golf course. Pitches are flat, there are sheltered and non sheltered options, all with wonderful views of Parrog bay. On arrival, we were indeed greeted by Huw, who is a charming, friendly and humorous guy, very informative and helpful. Huw told us about some lovely walks and stops which we really enjoyed, especially the 4 bay walk to the sailors rest pub which has a really friendly landlord! They do not allow the site to get overcrowded so no one is on top of each other. Camping was £10 per person per night which we thought was very reasonable for the time of year and location. We can't wait to visit again it's lovely. 

Aug 16, 2015 by Bevplama

Great site.

We recently stayed at this brilliant little site, and cant fault it. Spectacular views, very welcoming owners too. Facilities are basic, but clean and tidy. The whole site was immaculate. Nearby is the beautiful village of Newport, well worth the short walk for scrumptious grub at the Golden lion pub. Very easy access to the coastal path. 

May 13, 2015 by kennosen

Very confused

Visited this beautiful campsite today as we want somewhere to pitch our caravan for the summer. After reading the reviews on various websites Inc this one ....phoned during the week arranged a visit. Very welcoming on arrival and showed us around his beautiful property.  However this is where is gets very confusing! During the phone call I was told £10 a week for storage but if we are using the caravan it goes up to £20 per week. Fair enough I thought and he said visit forget talking prices come and visit. After out tour we started talking money he told us £20 per week storage and £25 PER NIGHT! !!!! When asked about the price stated on here £10 a night and our phone call he was adamant it was £25 a if we wanted  weekend away it would be £75! Peak season in the most popular campsites around this area are 

Lovely gem of a place, basic, beautiful surroundings very friendly owners but put off by very conflicting prices. can shed some light on this.

Thank you 

Jan 10, 2015 by ruth

Response from Tycanol Farm

I am sorry for any confusion on the pricing. I am looking at making things clearer and checking that the websites are being updated. The pricing has been based on the location and compared the prices to other local campsites as we are trying to offer a competitive price for our visitors. If customers want a clearer answer they can always ask for Sharon and leave a number for me to call them back if this helps! 

Many thanks,



Go for the view, stay for the whisky

My wife and I spent the last night of a mid-September trip up the north Pembrokeshire coast here. It was the only night we used a campsite, having spent the previous few nights just parked up in our campervan. We absolutely loved the place. On arrival, Huw, the 80-something year old proprietor took us on a guided tour of the site on his 4x4 buggy and showed us all the best pitches. We chose one lower down the site with an amazing view, but it would be pretty difficult to find a spot here without an amazing view. The site was pretty quiet and it seems like that's a deliberate ploy - the owners aren't interested in packing people in to line their pockets; they want people to enjoy the experience and not have neighbours directly on either side. There are loads of places to eat in the village, a few decent pubs, a great butchers and a local produce market. The highlight was a visit from Huw as we made our back from dinner. He'd called over to our van to see if we were okay and caught us on the way back. He gave us a lift down the hill and then produced a bottle of whisky. We shared a few glasses, lots of jokes and he told us all about the area - what a great host! The facilities were clean and the showers were the perfect temperature - we happily put £1 coins in the honesty box. Ignore the negative reviews. If you want a sterile Eurocamp-style experience then this place may not be for you, but if you love camping in a perfect location then it probably is. 

Oct 2, 2014 by JanMolby

Not good value

Spent four nights here last week after reading positive reviews. Basic facilities is a bit of an understatement and everything was a bit on the shabby/dirty side. We were told £7.50 a night per person when booking only to be told it was £10 a night on arrival and that showers were £1 a go. The £1 box in the showers was just a collection box so we simply didn't pay as £10 a night is expensive for basic facilities. The barn with the bbq etc was not welcoming at all. Very disappointed as the view is amazing and it really is a very quick walk to several lovely beaches. The town of Newport is also a lovely place with plenty of good food options (try the lamb at castle inn or get breakfast at Lou Lous). Avoid the campsite, but find time to visit Newport.

Aug 20, 2014 by theoptimist72

Response from Tycanol Farm

I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Tycanol Farm. I agree that our facilities are basic, however, we have never stated to be otherwise and aim to operate as a traditional, simple campsite that offers somewhere to pitch in a top location. These basic facilities are cleaned regularly so though old they will always be found clean and well maintained. I'm afraid we have raised our prices this year from the old rate of £7.50, however, this was only done after deliberating on the fact that all the campsites around are priced at more than £10 so feel our new price remains both cheap and in keeping with the current cost of camping and running a campsite in the UK. Likewise, the open barn is as it says on the tin: An open barn where anyone and everyone can sit around the campfire and have a drink if they like. Simple but welcoming as a result of such openness. I'm still very pleased to hear the nearby beach and the town of Newport made for a good visit, we certainly love being in such a fantastic part of the world!


avoid! filthy facilities

We had read great reviews of this site, and as regular campers we were looking forward to it. What a disappointment. We stayed for 4 nights (coming home a night early) and in that time the toilets and showers were NEVER cleaned. I have revolting photos of black scum on the underside of the toilet seat to attest to this fact. The hot water for showers is also turned off during the day- this is not advertised so we only found out when I had two small children covered in sand from the beach standing under the shower. Upon leaving we asked the owner why the facilities were not cleaned and he told us that he didn't want so many people to come- he had removed the electical hook up from most of the pitches, knocked down 5 toilets and put his prices up to put people off. it certailty worked- I will not return! The only good point for this campsite is the view which is spectacular.
Aug 18, 2014 by lifeundercanvas

Jackie H

What a wonderful, relaxing site! Dogs welcome (watch out for the rabbits), free showers and plenty of space. And the views!!!! Right on the coast path and easy reach of the beach (again dogs welcome). Will definitely be going back for another break.

Aug 2, 2014 by Jackie H

Epic place

The views are to good for words to describe the toilets and showers are clean. welcomed by an old fella in a buggy he will tell u where to go and offer a shot of whisky one of the best camp sites you could ask for! beach and pub 5 min walk epic place 

Jul 28, 2014 by mark morrissey22


We have been visiting this site for over thirty years we are now on our third generation enjoying this piece of Heaven - fantastic views - really friendly owners- beautifully kept site.

Endless hot water for showering after a day on the close by beach or walking on the coastal path that runs along the edge of this site. All that it says in the listing is true only its better a great place for everyone / families / couples even singles - be on your own or join in with other campers of an evening around a campfire in a barn. Every time we leave we are counting the days when we can return

Jul 19, 2014 by GLADISS

Related Guides

See Campsites in Newport

See Campsites in West Wales

See Campsites in the Preseli Hills

See Glamping in West Wales

See Glamping with hot tubs in West Wales