Cerenety Camping

UK England South West England Cornwall Bude

Serene, green and no overcrowding. Even at full capacity you’ll find just a handful of tents in each paddock.

In the eyes of the wild camping tribes, campsites are for softies. But wild camping with kids – well, it can just be a bit of a hassle. At the very least it’s nice to know there’s running water to deal with potty mishaps and stacks of dirty dishes. With its no frills, close-to-nature approach, Cerenety proves you can still enjoy the wilder side of camping on a regular campsite.

First and foremost, with the majority of the grassy fields left empty, even in the summer, across Cerenety’s seven sprawling acres, there’s plenty of space to run around like wild things. Every feature is as squeaky green as the surrounding countryside,from compost loos and solar panels to recycled materials ingeniously put to use in the site’s rustic, efficient amenities. There’s even a veggie patch and a permaculture forest garden, where you can pick your own and have a forage.

Children also flock to bottle-feed orphan lambs, and alpacas roam a few feet shy of the tents. Where nature rules and campfire smoke spirals lazily into dusky skies, it comes as a surprise that the surfer dudes, secret beaches and retro cafés of Bude are just a mile’s easy stroll along the canal. So kids can get a seaside fix without you having to hunt down the car keys. Once they’ve hit the waves, gorged on ice cream, hired a pedalo or taken a dip in the tidal pool, you might even experience a rare moment of serenity when they rest their tired little heads back at camp.

Why book with Cool Camping?

  • Best Price Guarantee
  • Easy and Secure, with instant booking confirmation
  • Trusted for over 10 years
  • A chance to win a brand new Coleman tent!

Check availability with the Date Search above

Best Price Guarantee when you book with Cool Camping

The Owner Says

In a nut shell - Enjoy the Wilder Side of Camping.

Serene, green, eco camping set in seven acres of sprawling fields just a short stroll from the seaside.

Cerenety is peaceful, old fashioned, back to nature camping, where you can spend lazy days in the grass or playing cricket with the kids. Spend the morning surfing, delight in a relaxing afternoon picnic and while away long summer evenings watching camp fire smoke spiralling idly into the Cornish sky. Do all this whilst happy in the knowledge that your holiday is having a limited effect on the environment.

"Back to basics camping at it's best!"

Solar powered showers, compost toilets and wood burning fires allow you to indulge in an off-grid holiday in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Make friends with our rescue animals, meander down the canal into town or take a 5 minute wander down our country lanes to our local secret beach.

"...the ground you camp on is flat and as nobody will camp in front of you, your view is never restricted!"

'We have a tidy breakfast cafe selling crepes, teas and coffees. This is often run by genuine French people ;-) Open at weekends out of season and 6 days a week in season.

Around Cerenety

Cerenety Eco Campsite is only a 5 minute walk from the beach, 15 minutes from town and pubs and 2 minutes to the beautiful Bude Canal. Set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, we have many fantastic local beaches to suit families, dog walkers and explorers alike.The town of Bude has many great local cafes, restaurants and pubs. Bude has many locally owned boutiques selling a range of surf products, locally made crafts and creamy Cornish ice cream.

There are many easy day trip from Cerenety including areas such as the historic harbour village of Boscastle, the legendary King Arthur's Castle in Tintagel, the revolutionary Eden Project and the long forgotten Lost Gardens of Heligan.

Reader Reviews

Add Your Review

Eco but comfortable!

Cerenety campsite falls in the exact right place between comfort and wild - it has 3 compost toilets and 2 solar-powered showers which were always kept nice and clean. It's a beautiful spot and we loved the animals and pay as you feel veg garden. It's just a 15 minute walk into the beautiful town and beaches of Bude. The only disappointment was the fact that the caravan cafe is only open in the summer holidays and this wasn't well advertised, but we absolutely loved our stay here and will definitely be back!
Jun 18, 2019 by Suzie

Refreshing experience

Me and my partner came to cerenety eco camping earlier this week for 2 nights and can honestly say way a lovely break away. Besides the high winds that came in, the experience of being on an eco camp site was wonderful! The owner was very lovely and I called her when we arrived on site and she came down to visit us and said hello. She was very welcoming and said we were her first visitors this season which was cool. Considering the toilets were compost and they were solar powered showers it was very clean and hygienic and also the showers were lovely and warm! Thought the alpaca’s at the bottom of the field were so sweet and I can imagine in the summer when the clay oven is in use and can use the camp fires and the other little extras that are available on site that it’s such a lovely experience so I would definitely want to come back here in the warmer months. Definitely recommend 😊 thank you very much!
Mar 15, 2019 by Jemma

Lovely little campsite

My 3 friends and I really enjoyed our experience at Cerenity. The space was lovely and green, peaceful and exactly what we needed to escape London for a few days! We particularly enjoyed the pay as you feel pancakes in the morning, it's a great concept, meaning anyone can afford to treat themselves for breakfast. The toilets and showers were clean. All in all we recommend this place! particularly if you care about the environment and wish to spend some time in a space which promotes a simple, ecological and respectful lifestyle.
Sep 3, 2018 by Paula

Lovely relaxing and quirky site

We've just returned from a lovely week at Cerenity. It really is proper back to basics camping with the added bonus of some great little extras (pancakes, veg garden, animals and more). The evenings are wonderfully relaxing as everyone sits round their campfires and the kids play and enjoy the animals. We had a mixed week of sun and cloud but the solar powered showers weren't ever hot. There was enough warmth to just take the edge off and make it bearable, and we soon got used to it!! It's really near to some great beaches - we preferred Widemouth for bodyboarding rather than the Bude beaches. If manicured grass, immaculate toilet blocks and piping hot showers are what you're looking for then this isn't the site for you. But if you can handle a cold shower and like things a bit more rustic and relaxed then definitely put this place on your list!!
Sep 1, 2018 by Anna

friendly campsite relaxing setting helpful team

My son and I have just returned from 3 nights in August. Despite the heatwave’s apparent end we had a brilliant time. Celli and the team were really helpful and friendly. We even had help with our tent as it was just my son and I with the rather large family tent- and help getting our fire going from Maria one of the volunteers who was lovely. The site has a really relaxed vibe but is really well run. Compost toilets were cleaned regularly and didn’t smell and the solar powered showers also really clean. They were a bit cold on occasion due to the return of British summer time but the open fire soon warmed us up! The site is really pretty and spacious. It’s a beautiful 20 ish minute walk to bude along the canal where brilliant surfing and sea side activities await. The surrounding area is lovely and there was loads to do within walking distance. The morning pancake ( and top coffee) cafe was a big hit with us both- especially my 11 year old. We would love to return. Thank you for a fantastic time.
Aug 23, 2018 by Ellen

Great ethos and welcome, but really overpriced

I really wanted to like this campsite but I am afraid it did not really live up to the description on the website. The ethos is fantastic, the garden area really interesting and the people really took time with our kids showing them the animals. The pancake cafe was also a hit with the children, run by lovely people who even came around the field in a downpour to bring people cake! But, there was certainly not as much space as expected as a lot of areas were on a slope, we had to push our VW camper out after only a small amount of rain, we then asked to move, as more rain was expected, the owners were very accommodating with this, but we didn't feel as if we had many choices of pitch. We have been to a few eco campsites and these facilities were very basic, although the toilets were good and not smelly, access was very muddy, there were only 2 cold showers in a block, that were really not great and small touches like more hooks and shelves would certainly help when trying to hold a torch and wash in the dark! There was a huge amount of rubbish / recycling piled up at the front of the site, which needs addressing if environmental concerns are a priority. We thought it was very overpriced, we moved on to a beautifully manicured campsite in Cornwall, with hot showers, lots of space, lots of facilities, all immaculate with a swimming pool and it cost less per night....
Aug 21, 2018 by Sarah Fuller

Beautiful site with lots of lovable features but not quite perfect.

We booked last minute having decided that our French campsite looked just too hot in the heatwave. This is a really friendly site in the main and the animals and pond as well as the pick your own garden were just fabulous. It's extremely well placed being a reasonable walking distance from Bude and closer to a fun rockpooling beach and within easy reach of the north Cornwall and Devon coasts. There was huge amounts of space for children to play and fun additions like hammock swings and a boat! Wood is good value and there is a lovely easy going attitude to campfires. I think that if we had been there at a slightly less busy time I'd be saying it was perfect! The only niggles were around the facilities which seemed a little overwhelmed as there was no hot water for showers or washing up while we were there although we tried all sorts of different times of the day and night. The compost toilets were really good and immaculate except on the Thursday when they didn't seem to be emptied quite as often and the sawdust ran out. These niggles aside we would definitely recommend this as a campsite and would love to stay again. We love the whole ethos and it's so nearly perfect!
Aug 10, 2018 by nsnellie

Back to nature

Lovely campsite, truly back to basics and nature. Great city escape! Farm and garden/vege patch was great especially for our toddler. Only down sides were that there was.only one pitch with shade (under trees) which was quite intense with a week of record hot weather! And limited facilities /hot water when campsite was busy on the weekend- weekdays it was lovely!
Jul 10, 2018 by CampingMama

What a lovely campsite!

We had a fantastic bank holiday weekend here! We fed the animals, relaxed in the long grass, gazed at the view and soaked up the wonderful atmosphere. The walk to Bude along the canal is short and beautiful we spotted ducklings, lambs and Moore hens. The children were in their element, and so were the adults. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
May 28, 2018 by Ecila2018

Campfires, Animals, Beaches, wonderful

We spent a night here last week. My partner had been before with friends but we decided to try it out for our first camping experience with our 8 month old baby. We loved it! The animals were gorgeous, the compost toilets clean, the showers were warm and it was such a beautiful walk to town and beaches along the canal. We missed the pancake cafe unfortunately but we'll definitely be back again to try it out and this time for longer!
Apr 19, 2018 by Rose

Nice place

Cerenety is a nice enough camp site, back to basics and a little off the beaten track, while close enough to the town (30 min walk along the canal) and Widemouth beach (45 minute walk). Great that we can have camp fires and bring our dog. The girl who seemed to be running the place was really friendly and helpful. 

We were squished in, though, and didn't get the spacious feeling we thought we would. Most cars,  (some people ignored this) were parked in the car park, which makes sense - but the remaining space was filled with more campers. A lot of the campsite is sloping, so take your chocks. The toilets were compost toilets with a bucket under a chair and a big tub of sawdust. I've no problem with eco toilets but these ones (with arms on the chairs?!) were quite uncomfortable, particularly for a woman (I don't know how people with larger derrieres cope!) and with nowhere to put your toiletries. 

Jun 4, 2016 by AndBen

Response from Cerenety Camping

Hello and thank you for your review. I'm saddened by your comments as I think you'll agree we bent over backwards to postpone your booking from last year when you were unable to attend at such short notice to one of the busiest periods of this year (something we did out of courtesy). We also relocated you to the pitch that you requested despite it being reserved for other people and accommodated a large gazebo that wasn't booked in and not paid for, despite it being a very sunny and busy spring half term. We thought that we had gone out of our way to be helpful. I'm also very sorry that you couldn't find anywhere to put your shampoo. I hope that you find somewhere more suitable for your next holiday.


Little Gem

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a couple of weeks during this summer. We loved the whole vibe of Cerenity; from the hands-on and fun approach to sustainability, to the freedom of camping wherever you like (no regimented pitches here!). The views from the campsite are lovely, its perfect situation overlooking the whole town makes for a stunning view at night. There are lots of areas to explore within the site itself, with farm animals, wildlife, plants and tasty veggies from the patch all waiting to be discovered. It is refreshing to stay in a place where you are camping with nature and not on top of it.
As we were traveling on a budget this place was perfect for us as there were no hidden extra charges. The solar showers (which are great unless there's no sun, in which case it's a little chilly!) and fun compost toilet facilities are free to use, there is an on site cafe/info area that works on a donation 'pay what you can' scheme, a play area for children and, for a very reasonable price, the volunteers provide chopped wood for evening fires (something which a lot campsites don't allow you to have, but definitely should do). We also were lucky enough to wake up in time for Raff's Cafes breakfast, nothing like delicious pancakes and a cuppa to start your day!
The volunteers here are very welcoming and friendly, they also have a great knowledge of the nearby town. This was very useful in helping us plan our days activities. There are some lovely walks right out of the gate of Cerenity, leading into the town of Bude, along the canal or towards the beach. If traveling with a dog this is a perfect getaway as both this campsite and the town itself has a wide range of doggie-friendly places to eat, drink,walk and play.
We had a lovely time here, and have recommended it to all our friends!
Thank you Cerenity, we will definitely be back!

Dec 4, 2015 by MoleyB

Bit disappointed

We were really looking forward to staying here as the website made it look very appealing. We stayed for 5 days and never saw the owners once. We had paid in advance, which was fortunate as we wouldn't have known where to go or who to pay. No one was there to greet us or show us around. We therefore have no idea where the vegetable patch was, or some of the animals. The alpacas were by the toilets so we saw those. Very cute. The toilets weren't like any compost toilets we've come across before, (and we've used quite a few!) These were basically a wooden chair with a hole cut out and a bucket underneath. In saying that, they were emptied two or three times a day and were generally kept very clean. The solar showers were cold, but the weather wasn't great so that was to be expected, but again they were clean. The site was very busy as small sites go, (30-40 tents and camper vans) over the bank holiday weekend and some groups were very noisy until the early hours. There was no fire wood for the first couple of days and we had to go on the hunt around town for some. The last couple of days there was wood but not logs etc, just scrappy little off cuts that seemed to be leftovers from old jobs. It was nice to be able to have a campfire but we're sorry to say we probably won't return. We prefer smaller sites where you can engage with the owners. 

Comment from campsite owner:

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry that we managed to miss you during your stay, we usually really enjoy interacting with our campers. When you visited in August there would have been a small caravan café open daily up in the field, where I could have been found every morning. There are also signs down to reception where there are always owners and volunteers wondering around feeding animals, gardening and mucking out. I'm genuinely sad that we missed you as I feel like if I could have explained some details of Cerenety, you would have had a more enjoyable experience.  

For example the wood that we provide for campfires is all from a local roofing company. Instead of it going to landfill with many nails in it, we take it at Cerenety and spend a lot of time denailing it before we bag it up for our campers. As you said, it does look like scrappy little offcuts, but it burns pretty well, it's £1 a bag and it's recycled.

The bank holiday is the busiest weekend of the year at Cerenety, so we were at capacity, however we still allow plenty of space in the middle of our fields for people to play games and enjoy the site. 

If you are ever in the area again and feel like popping by, please come in for a cuppa and we'll explain the site. We're sorry we missed you and we'd like to rectify it in the future.

Aug 30, 2015 by Tanya Ames

Our weekend

We camped here for four nights. It was great to wake up in the morning and have a cup of tea and coffee made for you by the little caravan cafe!!! The toilets were an experience but not a problem and the showers were nice and hot. We had a lovely spot, weather was great and it was so easy to walk into the town. Would definately recommend this site and would go back there tomorrow if we could!!!

Aug 28, 2014 by Chrishardingham

Back to Basics

We stayed here for 1 night - 2 adults, 2 children and a dog in a Campervan. Really lovely relaxed site, with simple facilities. You can choose where to pitch up, with a choice of 3 small fields, all slightly slopped. The herb and vegetable garden is superb, with the opportunity to pull your fresh produce straight from the ground and cook up. Each evening there is a 'meet the animals' for the children which ours loved. You can milk the goats, collect the eggs and cuddle rabbits. As we were only there for one night we did not explore Bude, but it is very close by. Highly recommend.

Aug 6, 2014 by Claire & Andy

Something special

We stayed here over the Easter weekend and I could quite happily still be there....this place is really special. Limited numbers means there's plenty of space, the caravan cafe is a wonderful idea (delicious breakfasts and cakes) and there are always staff about, but you are left unbothered. I loved walking to the loo in the morning and having a cuddle from the lambs on my way. Really great to have campfires allowed too...the crackle of fire and chatter in the evenings adds to the great atmosphere. Proper camping! I'll be back!

May 15, 2014 by mojo28

Simply simple

We have been to this site a number of times now and really enjoy staying there. You can choose where you pitch and there are different areas to explore including the vegetable patch and the animals. There are some great cycle routes from the site and we liked cycling into the centre of Bude. When you wake up in the morning you will probably smell fresh bacon and coffee coming from their caravan on the site - very reasonable prices. I had wondered before our first visit if the compost toilets would smell but they are fine! We will continue visiting this site in future. Definitely recommend if you're looking for peace and quiet in a good location!

Apr 13, 2014 by teamroast

A Home Away From Home

We stayed for a lovely long weekend at Cerenety last summer. The campsite is very relaxed and in a great spot, close to town, the beach and a canal path is just down  the road. The solar showers worked great, although not always warm in the mornings, obviously,  and the compost toilets are no fuss at all. There was an on site, morning cafe to grab a hot cuppa or egg sandwich, prepared by their friendly volunteers, who were always up for a chat. Really enjoyed sitting around our campfire in the evenings with some marshmallows.  Great experience, will definitely be back. 

Mar 7, 2014 by Jessica Montgomery

Classic Camping

Gem of a place. Came here with my two kids and my dog and had a fantastic time. Liked the location, close to the beach, close to the town. Nice to see someone doing something a bit different, and keeping things basic. Highly recommend.
Mar 7, 2014 by One Pot Pete

Why book with Cool Camping?

  • Best Price Guarantee
  • Easy and Secure, with instant booking confirmation
  • Trusted for over 10 years
  • A chance to win a brand new Coleman tent!

Check availability with the Date Search above

Book campsites near Cerenety Camping

Back to Top