Book campsites near Cerenety Camping

Are you the Owner?

Cerenety Camping

UK England South West England Cornwall Bude

  • Campfires allowed
  • Dogs welcome
  • Groups welcome
  • Short walk to pub
  • Beaches nearby
  • Good walks nearby
Serene, green and no overcrowding. Even at full capacity you’ll find just a handful of tents in each paddock.

In the eyes of the wild camping tribes, campsites are for softies. But wild camping with kids – well, it can just be a bit of a hassle. At the very least it’s nice to know there’s running water to deal with potty mishaps and stacks of dirty dishes. With its no frills, close-to-nature approach, Cerenety proves you can still enjoy the wilder side of camping on a regular campsite.

First and foremost, with the majority of the grassy fields left empty, even in the summer, across Cerenety’s seven sprawling acres, there’s plenty of space to run around like wild things. Every feature is as squeaky green as the surrounding countryside,from compost loos and solar panels to recycled materials ingeniously put to use in the site’s rustic, efficient amenities. There’s even a veggie patch and a permaculture forest garden, where you can pick your own and have a forage.

Children also flock to bottle-feed orphan lambs, and alpacas roam a few feet shy of the tents. Where nature rules and campfire smoke spirals lazily into dusky skies, it comes as a surprise that the surfer dudes, secret beaches and retro cafés of Bude are just a mile’s easy stroll along the canal. So kids can get a seaside fix without you having to hunt down the car keys. Once they’ve hit the waves, gorged on ice cream, hired a pedalo or taken a dip in the tidal pool, you might even experience a rare moment of serenity when they rest their tired little heads back at camp.



3 sprawling fields with no set pitches – just don’t cramp your neighbours’ style and check with the owners which meadow to pitch in. A field shelter houses 2 showers, 3 compost loos and 2 washing-up sinks (hot water is powered by  solar panels). Owner Jake will freeze iceblocks for you in the house, if you ask. A small shed-shop sells basics such as toothpaste and loo roll. Pick your own fresh veggies from the patch and explore the forest garden. Spot butterflies, moths and the visiting heron on the wildlife pond. Feed the orphan lambs (in lambing season) and pet the animals – Flipper the dog, Torry the pony and Red the rescue horse, as well as alpacas, rabbits, ducks and chickens. Campfires and BBQs very much encouraged.

Suitable For

Family groups, single-sex groups, small campervans, tents, dogs (by arrangement) – yes. Caravans, large campervans – no.


It’s a 5-minute walk to the campsite's 'secret beach' and a 20-minute stroll to Bude’s stunning Summerleaze, Crooklets and Widemouth beaches, which serve up a heady cocktail of surf, sand, cool waterfront cafés and amusement arcades. Hit the waves with Raven Surf School  (01288 353693), Big Blue Surf School  (01288 331764) or take a dip in the tidal pool, or row a boat along the canal (boat hire at Lower Wharf: 07968 688782). Cyclists can opt for a gentle route along the canal towpath, or freewheel all the way from Bude to Land’s End along the Cornish Way.

Food & Drink

Walk to Bude for options; the nearest family-friendly pub is The Brendon Arms (01288 354542) ¾-mile away.


March – October.

Family Friendly

‘Happy eco camping’ brags the tagline. And happy is just what you’ll feel here if you’re eco-minded and wild about camping. Just a short walk from the kiss-me-quick seaside at Bude, at Cerenety tent life is all about being green and taking it easy.

Are you the Owner?


Contact Cerenety Camping, Lower Lynstone Lane, Bude, Cornwall EX23 0LR

Show Map

Getting There

Follow signs for Bude. Once you arrive at the mini roundabout where you would turn right for the town centre, go straight across towards Widemouth Bay. Follow the main road over the bridge, around to the left and up the hill. At the top of the hill you will see Upper Lynstone Caravan Park on the right hand side, turn left opposite here and follow the narrow lane to the end where you'll come to a T-junction. Turn right at the T-junction and the campsite is the first gate on the right, you'll probably see some animals and a small field shelter in the paddock.

If you are coming from Widmouth, look out for signs from Cerenety on your right. Follow the winding road until you see Cerenety's campsite entrance.

Its relatively easy to get to Cerenety camp site by public transport. Simply get the train or bus to Exeter then get the bus  (6 or 6A) from Exeter to Bude. From Plymouth it is also just a direct bus to Cerenety (12).


Add Your Review

Rated ★★★★★ over 28 reviews


Nothing positive to say

We were disappointed with this campsite. There were no flat areas to pitch your tent. It felt like the grass hadn't had a mow in weeks which meant there were thistles everywhere scratching at your feet. Toilets were fine although no toilet roll and the showers were cold. Not the fault of the campsite but there's building works nearby which meant hearing the noise of a building site in the morning. It is a no car campsite but the car park is right by a tent field so for many that's your view. For £30 a night we felt that it was way too expensive for what it was. It felt as though the eco tag gave it an excuse to charge high prices.
Aug 25, 2019 by Zoë

Expensive for the basic facilities

Mixed feelings about this site. The awful weather didn’t help which isn’t the hosts fault of course but it meant that the solar showers were often cold and the toilet block was constantly muddy. The sawdust eco toilets were fine once you got used to not flushing but they were often full as the young french ‘volunteers’ whose job it seemed to be to empty them, understandably weren’t that keen. The fields were big and not crowded. As it was very windy everyone pitched by the hedge which was a good idea. The ‘secret beach’ is definitely more than 5 mins away, over a road, down a very steep track and not sandy or family friendly. Summerlease beach in Bude itself however is lovely, with a tide pool and great facilities. The walk there is flat along the canal and is very pretty. It takes 30-40 minutes to walk carrying beach stuff. A short drive along the Atlantic coast takes you to Widemouth beach which is also great. The campsite itself has very little facilities. Apart from the toilet block and the (cold) showers and a few wet animals there was nothing else. No pizza oven as shown on the website, No vegetables to pick when we were there, no little shop with essentials, the ‘cafe block’ seemed broken down although, to be fair, they did try to sell morning coffee and tea out of it on a couple of mornings. There were pits for campfires which were good and the french ‘volunteers’ cleaned them out daily. I know that we have had our experience coloured by the bad weather but this site is a bit too expensive for the basic facilities it has. It cost us nearly £100 a night for 3 tent pitches ( 1x4 man and 2x2 man) and when one of the tents was damaged by the wind and a couple of us had to sleep in the van instead they were very quick to charge another £70. I applaud the hosts attempt to keep things eco friendly and impact the environment as little as possible but if you like wild camping there are much cheaper sites along the coast and if you like hot showers, flushing toilets, electricity and a place on site selling hot food/essentials then this isn’t the place for you.
Aug 18, 2019 by Jo Verified Review

A great experience

The campsite was not overfull, cleaning area and toilets well looked after, very friendly staff and a nice location close to the canal that leads into Bude which I also thought was very good. Be great to have hot showers available they have solar panelled ones which limits available amount of warm water but didn't bother me personally. Would strongly recommend and a very fair price.

Relaxe, Chill out and hang around

We liked the relaxed atmosphere at Cerenety Camping. The walk to Bude center and the Beach was a bit long but really beautiful. Only thing to complain about: the compost-toilets were always bit "full" and the shower was cold. We liked our time at Cerenety Camping anyway!!!

Beautiful landscape, great to be able to have a real fire, loved the tranquil pond and veggie patch.

Firepit Eco toilets Roomy field Veggie patch Cat 🐈

Lovely, easy campsite

Us 3 girls stayed for a weekend. The site was lovely and roomy with good views eco facility’s and a friendly vibe. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and easy to talk to. We had everything we needed for a great break from the normality of every day life. The fire pits were a lovely touch making us feel like we were getting back to basics. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who loves the outdoors it truly is a hidden gem.
Jul 29, 2019 by Eva Redmond

Take 2....second weekend

Over the course of a week, not much has changed, except , maybe us!!! Arrived Friday afternoon, after getting lost once again!!!.....what is it with Cornish road sign-posting??!! This time, the miserable old git was happy to get a level pitch, with its own tree and hardly a stones throw from the toilets. We were allowed to nick a picnic table from the pile by the caravan, and all was good. Just like home, except we don't have a picnic table at home, so this was even better. Made the mistake of having a shower at 6.30ish Saturday morning....sun not up for very powered heating for the showers.......incredibly invigorating!!!!! Didn't wash my hair. All in all, another really lovely weekend with the addition of another two compost toilets built especially for the male camping fraternity.......segregation never dies!! These were miraculously built by a wonderful volunteer called Steve, in approximately 7 minutes and 48 seconds ( The name may be wrong and the time slightly exaggerated, but he did darned well). We're back again in August. Give it a try.....I dare you!!

Unusual, but lovely.

Booked online, so not really sure what to expect having never experienced an eco campsite before. On arrival, found a phone number to ring, tacked to a post at the entrance, so rang, and within a minute the owner appeared, explained just about everything about the site and showed us our pitch. She and her sister run the place and they are really sweet and very helpful. The compost toilets are great. Literally, carver dining chairs, converted into commodes with a large container below to catch the offending articles. Amazingly, virtually no smell as all in the container is covered with wood shavings when you're finished, ( shavings provided in a separate container.....take you own toilet paper!!!). There are at present only three w.c.'s, but they are building a couple progress. Almost everything around the site has been recycled from somewhere, which gives the whole place a lovely quirky feel. The showers are solar powered and we found them warm enough whenever we used them. The rescue animals are cute and friendly and obviously very well treated. The lambs love a tickle and scratch. The herbs and vegetables on offer, seem to be by donation, but not sure of the cost of the firewood. Would think it's cheap. The smell and sounds of the campfires in the evenings is wonderful. Our only reservation was the sloping pitch, but I'm a miserable old git, so don't let it worry you. All in all, it's a brilliant place, with a lovely atmosphere and good ethos. We've booked again for this weekend, so that says it all.

Great location and lovely campsite

This is a great campsite, walking distant from Bude and the beaches. There is plenty of space for kids to run around. The animals/garden are lovely and the showers were warm. The compost toilets are good and there is good recycling provision. The only drawbacks are the pitches are on a bit of a slope. We couldn't find anyone to tell us where to pitch. We think this was a one-off as the manager or owner was around when we left. There isn't hot water for washing up and they don't provide toilet paper. The caravan cafe/shop is only open in the school holidays. These things are minor though and we would definitely return to this beautiful campsite.

Eco but comfortable!

Cerenety campsite falls in the exact right place between comfort and wild - it has 3 compost toilets and 2 solar-powered showers which were always kept nice and clean. It's a beautiful spot and we loved the animals and pay as you feel veg garden. It's just a 15 minute walk into the beautiful town and beaches of Bude. The only disappointment was the fact that the caravan cafe is only open in the summer holidays and this wasn't well advertised, but we absolutely loved our stay here and will definitely be back!

Refreshing experience

Me and my partner came to cerenety eco camping earlier this week for 2 nights and can honestly say way a lovely break away. Besides the high winds that came in, the experience of being on an eco camp site was wonderful! The owner was very lovely and I called her when we arrived on site and she came down to visit us and said hello. She was very welcoming and said we were her first visitors this season which was cool. Considering the toilets were compost and they were solar powered showers it was very clean and hygienic and also the showers were lovely and warm! Thought the alpaca’s at the bottom of the field were so sweet and I can imagine in the summer when the clay oven is in use and can use the camp fires and the other little extras that are available on site that it’s such a lovely experience so I would definitely want to come back here in the warmer months. Definitely recommend 😊 thank you very much!
Mar 15, 2019 by Jemma

Lovely little campsite

My 3 friends and I really enjoyed our experience at Cerenity. The space was lovely and green, peaceful and exactly what we needed to escape London for a few days! We particularly enjoyed the pay as you feel pancakes in the morning, it's a great concept, meaning anyone can afford to treat themselves for breakfast. The toilets and showers were clean. All in all we recommend this place! particularly if you care about the environment and wish to spend some time in a space which promotes a simple, ecological and respectful lifestyle.
Sep 3, 2018 by Paula

Lovely relaxing and quirky site

We've just returned from a lovely week at Cerenity. It really is proper back to basics camping with the added bonus of some great little extras (pancakes, veg garden, animals and more). The evenings are wonderfully relaxing as everyone sits round their campfires and the kids play and enjoy the animals. We had a mixed week of sun and cloud but the solar powered showers weren't ever hot. There was enough warmth to just take the edge off and make it bearable, and we soon got used to it!! It's really near to some great beaches - we preferred Widemouth for bodyboarding rather than the Bude beaches. If manicured grass, immaculate toilet blocks and piping hot showers are what you're looking for then this isn't the site for you. But if you can handle a cold shower and like things a bit more rustic and relaxed then definitely put this place on your list!!
Sep 1, 2018 by Anna

friendly campsite relaxing setting helpful team

My son and I have just returned from 3 nights in August. Despite the heatwave’s apparent end we had a brilliant time. Celli and the team were really helpful and friendly. We even had help with our tent as it was just my son and I with the rather large family tent- and help getting our fire going from Maria one of the volunteers who was lovely. The site has a really relaxed vibe but is really well run. Compost toilets were cleaned regularly and didn’t smell and the solar powered showers also really clean. They were a bit cold on occasion due to the return of British summer time but the open fire soon warmed us up! The site is really pretty and spacious. It’s a beautiful 20 ish minute walk to bude along the canal where brilliant surfing and sea side activities await. The surrounding area is lovely and there was loads to do within walking distance. The morning pancake ( and top coffee) cafe was a big hit with us both- especially my 11 year old. We would love to return. Thank you for a fantastic time.
Aug 23, 2018 by Ellen

Great ethos and welcome, but really overpriced

I really wanted to like this campsite but I am afraid it did not really live up to the description on the website. The ethos is fantastic, the garden area really interesting and the people really took time with our kids showing them the animals. The pancake cafe was also a hit with the children, run by lovely people who even came around the field in a downpour to bring people cake! But, there was certainly not as much space as expected as a lot of areas were on a slope, we had to push our VW camper out after only a small amount of rain, we then asked to move, as more rain was expected, the owners were very accommodating with this, but we didn't feel as if we had many choices of pitch. We have been to a few eco campsites and these facilities were very basic, although the toilets were good and not smelly, access was very muddy, there were only 2 cold showers in a block, that were really not great and small touches like more hooks and shelves would certainly help when trying to hold a torch and wash in the dark! There was a huge amount of rubbish / recycling piled up at the front of the site, which needs addressing if environmental concerns are a priority. We thought it was very overpriced, we moved on to a beautifully manicured campsite in Cornwall, with hot showers, lots of space, lots of facilities, all immaculate with a swimming pool and it cost less per night....
Aug 21, 2018 by Sarah Fuller

Beautiful site with lots of lovable features but not quite perfect.

We booked last minute having decided that our French campsite looked just too hot in the heatwave. This is a really friendly site in the main and the animals and pond as well as the pick your own garden were just fabulous. It's extremely well placed being a reasonable walking distance from Bude and closer to a fun rockpooling beach and within easy reach of the north Cornwall and Devon coasts. There was huge amounts of space for children to play and fun additions like hammock swings and a boat! Wood is good value and there is a lovely easy going attitude to campfires. I think that if we had been there at a slightly less busy time I'd be saying it was perfect! The only niggles were around the facilities which seemed a little overwhelmed as there was no hot water for showers or washing up while we were there although we tried all sorts of different times of the day and night. The compost toilets were really good and immaculate except on the Thursday when they didn't seem to be emptied quite as often and the sawdust ran out. These niggles aside we would definitely recommend this as a campsite and would love to stay again. We love the whole ethos and it's so nearly perfect!
Aug 10, 2018 by nsnellie

Back to nature

Lovely campsite, truly back to basics and nature. Great city escape! Farm and garden/vege patch was great especially for our toddler. Only down sides were that there was.only one pitch with shade (under trees) which was quite intense with a week of record hot weather! And limited facilities /hot water when campsite was busy on the weekend- weekdays it was lovely!
Jul 10, 2018 by CampingMama

What a lovely campsite!

We had a fantastic bank holiday weekend here! We fed the animals, relaxed in the long grass, gazed at the view and soaked up the wonderful atmosphere. The walk to Bude along the canal is short and beautiful we spotted ducklings, lambs and Moore hens. The children were in their element, and so were the adults. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
May 28, 2018 by Ecila2018

Campfires, Animals, Beaches, wonderful

We spent a night here last week. My partner had been before with friends but we decided to try it out for our first camping experience with our 8 month old baby. We loved it! The animals were gorgeous, the compost toilets clean, the showers were warm and it was such a beautiful walk to town and beaches along the canal. We missed the pancake cafe unfortunately but we'll definitely be back again to try it out and this time for longer!
Apr 19, 2018 by Rose

Nice place

Cerenety is a nice enough camp site, back to basics and a little off the beaten track, while close enough to the town (30 min walk along the canal) and Widemouth beach (45 minute walk). Great that we can have camp fires and bring our dog. The girl who seemed to be running the place was really friendly and helpful. 

We were squished in, though, and didn't get the spacious feeling we thought we would. Most cars,  (some people ignored this) were parked in the car park, which makes sense - but the remaining space was filled with more campers. A lot of the campsite is sloping, so take your chocks. The toilets were compost toilets with a bucket under a chair and a big tub of sawdust. I've no problem with eco toilets but these ones (with arms on the chairs?!) were quite uncomfortable, particularly for a woman (I don't know how people with larger derrieres cope!) and with nowhere to put your toiletries. 

Jun 4, 2016 by Andrea

Response from Cerenety Camping

Hello and thank you for your review. I'm saddened by your comments as I think you'll agree we bent over backwards to postpone your booking from last year when you were unable to attend at such short notice to one of the busiest periods of this year (something we did out of courtesy). We also relocated you to the pitch that you requested despite it being reserved for other people and accommodated a large gazebo that wasn't booked in and not paid for, despite it being a very sunny and busy spring half term. We thought that we had gone out of our way to be helpful. I'm also very sorry that you couldn't find anywhere to put your shampoo. I hope that you find somewhere more suitable for your next holiday.


Little Gem

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a couple of weeks during this summer. We loved the whole vibe of Cerenity; from the hands-on and fun approach to sustainability, to the freedom of camping wherever you like (no regimented pitches here!). The views from the campsite are lovely, its perfect situation overlooking the whole town makes for a stunning view at night. There are lots of areas to explore within the site itself, with farm animals, wildlife, plants and tasty veggies from the patch all waiting to be discovered. It is refreshing to stay in a place where you are camping with nature and not on top of it.
As we were traveling on a budget this place was perfect for us as there were no hidden extra charges. The solar showers (which are great unless there's no sun, in which case it's a little chilly!) and fun compost toilet facilities are free to use, there is an on site cafe/info area that works on a donation 'pay what you can' scheme, a play area for children and, for a very reasonable price, the volunteers provide chopped wood for evening fires (something which a lot campsites don't allow you to have, but definitely should do). We also were lucky enough to wake up in time for Raff's Cafes breakfast, nothing like delicious pancakes and a cuppa to start your day!
The volunteers here are very welcoming and friendly, they also have a great knowledge of the nearby town. This was very useful in helping us plan our days activities. There are some lovely walks right out of the gate of Cerenity, leading into the town of Bude, along the canal or towards the beach. If traveling with a dog this is a perfect getaway as both this campsite and the town itself has a wide range of doggie-friendly places to eat, drink,walk and play.
We had a lovely time here, and have recommended it to all our friends!
Thank you Cerenity, we will definitely be back!

Dec 4, 2015 by MoleyB

Bit disappointed

We were really looking forward to staying here as the website made it look very appealing. We stayed for 5 days and never saw the owners once. We had paid in advance, which was fortunate as we wouldn't have known where to go or who to pay. No one was there to greet us or show us around. We therefore have no idea where the vegetable patch was, or some of the animals. The alpacas were by the toilets so we saw those. Very cute. The toilets weren't like any compost toilets we've come across before, (and we've used quite a few!) These were basically a wooden chair with a hole cut out and a bucket underneath. In saying that, they were emptied two or three times a day and were generally kept very clean. The solar showers were cold, but the weather wasn't great so that was to be expected, but again they were clean. The site was very busy as small sites go, (30-40 tents and camper vans) over the bank holiday weekend and some groups were very noisy until the early hours. There was no fire wood for the first couple of days and we had to go on the hunt around town for some. The last couple of days there was wood but not logs etc, just scrappy little off cuts that seemed to be leftovers from old jobs. It was nice to be able to have a campfire but we're sorry to say we probably won't return. We prefer smaller sites where you can engage with the owners. 

Comment from campsite owner:

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry that we managed to miss you during your stay, we usually really enjoy interacting with our campers. When you visited in August there would have been a small caravan café open daily up in the field, where I could have been found every morning. There are also signs down to reception where there are always owners and volunteers wondering around feeding animals, gardening and mucking out. I'm genuinely sad that we missed you as I feel like if I could have explained some details of Cerenety, you would have had a more enjoyable experience.  

For example the wood that we provide for campfires is all from a local roofing company. Instead of it going to landfill with many nails in it, we take it at Cerenety and spend a lot of time denailing it before we bag it up for our campers. As you said, it does look like scrappy little offcuts, but it burns pretty well, it's £1 a bag and it's recycled.

The bank holiday is the busiest weekend of the year at Cerenety, so we were at capacity, however we still allow plenty of space in the middle of our fields for people to play games and enjoy the site. 

If you are ever in the area again and feel like popping by, please come in for a cuppa and we'll explain the site. We're sorry we missed you and we'd like to rectify it in the future.

Aug 30, 2015 by Tanya Ames

Our weekend

We camped here for four nights. It was great to wake up in the morning and have a cup of tea and coffee made for you by the little caravan cafe!!! The toilets were an experience but not a problem and the showers were nice and hot. We had a lovely spot, weather was great and it was so easy to walk into the town. Would definately recommend this site and would go back there tomorrow if we could!!!

Aug 28, 2014 by Chrishardingham

Back to Basics

We stayed here for 1 night - 2 adults, 2 children and a dog in a Campervan. Really lovely relaxed site, with simple facilities. You can choose where to pitch up, with a choice of 3 small fields, all slightly slopped. The herb and vegetable garden is superb, with the opportunity to pull your fresh produce straight from the ground and cook up. Each evening there is a 'meet the animals' for the children which ours loved. You can milk the goats, collect the eggs and cuddle rabbits. As we were only there for one night we did not explore Bude, but it is very close by. Highly recommend.

Aug 6, 2014 by Claire & Andy

Something special

We stayed here over the Easter weekend and I could quite happily still be there....this place is really special. Limited numbers means there's plenty of space, the caravan cafe is a wonderful idea (delicious breakfasts and cakes) and there are always staff about, but you are left unbothered. I loved walking to the loo in the morning and having a cuddle from the lambs on my way. Really great to have campfires allowed too...the crackle of fire and chatter in the evenings adds to the great atmosphere. Proper camping! I'll be back!

May 15, 2014 by mojo28

Simply simple

We have been to this site a number of times now and really enjoy staying there. You can choose where you pitch and there are different areas to explore including the vegetable patch and the animals. There are some great cycle routes from the site and we liked cycling into the centre of Bude. When you wake up in the morning you will probably smell fresh bacon and coffee coming from their caravan on the site - very reasonable prices. I had wondered before our first visit if the compost toilets would smell but they are fine! We will continue visiting this site in future. Definitely recommend if you're looking for peace and quiet in a good location!

Apr 13, 2014 by teamroast

A Home Away From Home

We stayed for a lovely long weekend at Cerenety last summer. The campsite is very relaxed and in a great spot, close to town, the beach and a canal path is just down  the road. The solar showers worked great, although not always warm in the mornings, obviously,  and the compost toilets are no fuss at all. There was an on site, morning cafe to grab a hot cuppa or egg sandwich, prepared by their friendly volunteers, who were always up for a chat. Really enjoyed sitting around our campfire in the evenings with some marshmallows.  Great experience, will definitely be back. 

Mar 7, 2014 by Jessica Montgomery

Classic Camping

Gem of a place. Came here with my two kids and my dog and had a fantastic time. Liked the location, close to the beach, close to the town. Nice to see someone doing something a bit different, and keeping things basic. Highly recommend.
Mar 7, 2014 by One Pot Pete

Related Guides

See Campsites in Bude