Add Your Review
Rated ★★★★★ over 64 reviews
Wonderful camping environment
We went for a little camping weekend away in April just after covid restrictions had eased and had the best time! The campsite was clean and well maintained and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The pub had a relaxed atmosphere and it was lovely to have a meal by the river. Only downside was that camping in April can be a little chilly!
A simple and fun campsite
The facilities are simple and for our one night stay for 2 adults this was fine. The adjoining pub is lovely and all the staff at the site were friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to visit and would recommend to adults. I wouldn't take my young family here unless we had an activity planned on the river, as there wouldn't be much for them to do on site.
A wet weekend.
We camped on what was the wettest and windiest camping conditions in my life! However, despite the weather conditions we throughly enjoyed ourselves. Everyone was polite and friendly. Local town is just great. And the Ye Olde Swan pub/restaurant service and food is simply amazing. I will definitely be returning to this campsite again and again... although I’ll choose my season more wisely next time.
Well located site, with a nice pub attached.
This is a gently buzzing site. It was busy but it wasn't overly noisy. It is in a great spot to do many walks from. The facilities are a little basic, but are functional and cleaned regularly. The adjoining pub wasn't fully open when we visited but we still had a great night with a band and the prosecco bar and pizza oven open.
Great campsite and so lucky with the weather
It’s a fantastic little campsite tucked away from civilisation with just the river and pub to keep you company. For us to score 26 to 30 degree temperatures in September was such a bonus and just look at passing river & bank traffic made it a relaxing few days. Can’t recommend it highly enough, from great service and easy check in to tidy site.
The perfect camping location
Stunning location, cosy tipis and great facilities close by e.g. pub and watersports. They went out of their way to make my birthday special.
For water sports camping - Highly Recommend
This site is great! Right on the river, it’s perfect for open water swimming, paddle boarding, canoeing... Nice and tidy site, although the loo’s & showers aren’t great, but do the job. Lovely pub, with good food and service just across the way. Site allows camp fires. Great for groups and families.
Excellent stay and perfect location!
On arrival we went to the reception to check in which was quick and smooth and given all the relevant details and was told to pitch where we liked in the marked out pitches. We pitched up and cracked open a beer, wasn't long before the wife needed the toilet! Thinking the site was basic we didn't hold to much hope for decent toilet facilities but we can cope with that. Toilets turned out to be trailers with approx 5/6 toilets for each sex and we couldn't fault them and kept spotless. Over the bridge from the campsite is the pub which is a 2 mins walk, lovely beer garden and we had lunch 1 afternoon and we choose wood fired pizza. They couldn't be faulted and were enjoyed by all 3 of us. Another night we went for dinner, due to covid limited menu but again good service and nice food which we all enjoyed. The pub offers canoe and paddle board hire which looks great. We will be back as soon as we get some more annual leave.
This weekend we stayed at Ye Olde Swan camp ground and it was great. Hidden amongst beautiful countryside, the camp site is close to the pub (which was brilliantly set up for drinks in the beer garden) and next to the river for nice long strolls. We stayed with friends and had a blast - we will most certainly be back!
Perfect setting, good facilities. Log fire in tipi is the perfect addition when a little chilly, beds were comfy. Only request would be more options on the menu at the pub, the wood fired Pizza Hut was shut when we went on a Friday evening
Well I arrived initially for 6 Nights however, sadly I had to leave after just 2 Days as my Solar Panel broke down! I’m a Manual Wheelchair user and found it easy to get around on the site despite it being Grass. Toilets and Showers were basic but clean and Sanitisers in Place. Andy in the Shoo extremely Friendly as was Carmen and the Staff in the Pub Shack. Beautiful Setting and so Peaceful. Will definitely recommend and will be returning again, Thank You all
Overnight stop on kayak trip
Stayed overnight on my two day kayak trip, couldn’t get any answer on the mobile to find out the best place to exit the river and wasn’t sure which side I should get out as there seemed to be camping both sides! I did eventually find my way out, booked in easily and efficiently, and adhered to all covid precautions which seemed perfectly adequate to me. Lovely hot shower, toilets perfectly adequate albeit a little smelly for some reason. All facilities perfectly adequate for my needs. Only thing that was annoying (which was absolutely not the fault of the campsite in any way!) was the narrow boat moored next to my pitch which lit up like a Christmas tree after dark, it was very pretty but stayed lit up all night and had a security light that went off and on all night! All in all very happy with my stay and would definitely stay there again. Thankyou!
Lovely place, lovely bloke
Great location, great toilets, beautiful scenery. Would definitely come back. The owner was nothing but lovely and helpful, and the pub right next to it is a big bonus 👍🏻
Lovely location right by the water with cute canal boats. The village of Burford is close by and beautiful with quaint shops. Andy in the campsite shop had recommended to visit. He was so helpful and friendly! Toilets were great with hot water, mirrors, flushing toilets. The grass field is quite small. It was end of season so quiet and therefore plenty of space around us. Great to have a pub in walking distance with large garden and marquee.
Just had 3 brilliants days here. Great welcome, location excellent with river for fishing, canoeing etc and to top it off a great pub. Highly recommend.
There were 15 of us in total and we had a brilliant time. The campsite is in a great location. You can walk down the canal and even swim in it! I would recemmend renting one of the Keg Firepits as it keeps you nice and warm in the evening. I would also recommend bringing loo role as the toilets were out and did not get topped up all weekend. The put across the way is nice. Food was OKAY. We preferred to BBQ our own food and there is a large Tesco about 10 minutes drive away. Overall a lovely weekend.
Perfect location and pub. Lacking hot water though!
Just perfect location, with a beautiful pub. Camping field was lovely without too many booked in. However after the morning shower rush the showers were cold , No hot water available at all for washing up. Only one cold tap, unusual for a camp site that charges these rates, also the infrequently cleaned toilets were a shame as they were often not how you would expect them. Just a little bit of a tweak and would have been perfect for us. We had a lovely weekend.
Lovely friendly campsite, great location. Pub just over the bridge with lovely food. We stayed in the tepees which are beautiful with lovely cozy beds which kept us nice and snug even in the storm.
Great campsite for families and tourers.
Basic facilities and not a quiet campsite, but perfect for families as noise level drops right down at 10.00pm. Excellent access to water activities and it's very scenic. Lechlade and Faringdon towns are close by for a wander and Ye Olde Swan pub is excellent for food and drink.
Terrible, Over crowded, Not following COVID rules!
First things first is when we turned up we were happy with the location and the set up. Marked out pitches and separate toilets and showers. However that’s where it ended. As we sat at our pitch the campsite got busier and busier to the point where every single pitch was full. There was people everywhere. A huge group opposite bought clubland to the camp by partying till midnight every night with 20 people. We phoned the campsites number and text and heard nothing. We enjoy music but the volume of this was ridiculous. We made the staff aware after the first night as their website stated no groups of more than 6 and no parties due to COVID. That is one of the reasons we booked this site. They said they would sort it however come 3 pm in the afternoon the music started again and stayed partying until 12 o’clock. We wasn’t expecting to travel 3 hours to not sleep and listen to other people screaming and partying for 2 days straight. Safe to say we left first thing the next day. This ruined our first few nights away in so long. Very let down by the staff. Also the very nice looking pub is terrible. The food is cold and the beer is warm and very expensive. It’s a shame as the setting is lovely but you cannot enjoy it when they so heavily over book in a very, very small site.
Response from Ye Olde Swan
Hi Jess - firstly may I stress that we have a certain number of pitches and people per pitch and we stick to this which was specified as safe by our police liaison and the council. The site is NEVER overbooked, it is fully booked, yes but NOT overbooked. The site is also very clearly advertised as a busy and lively environment and clearly, being opposite a pub things can get lively - its clearly stated on the information (within the first paragraph) of the marketing information for the site. We have had several families booking and to be honest we do love people to enjoy themselves here. It is a fun and lively environment and sometimes, yes people do flout the rules, even when we go over and tell them to be quiet but also this is the first holiday for some families. if you want a quiet site then maybe you may prefer a caravan and camping club site. I am not going to apologise for people simply enjoying themselves. When you book somewhere in the future its wise to read the information about the site first so that your expectations are realistic. Next up the food being cold and the beer warm? looking at things from a logistical view...due to Covid we have safely opened up the outside of the pub only, this is the safest option for all, including our wonderful staff who on many, many reviews have been praised for their welcome and their friendly service to our customers. They also work incredibly hard and because we have only opened up the outside bar, there is minimum space....so on a very hot day it is difficult to keep the 1 fridge that we have out there cold if it keeps getting opened, we also have basic storage for ales and barrels (again this is due to Covid) but we are doing our best, we always have plenty of ice and have never run out of this, we keep the beer as cool as possible but looking at your review its clear you just wanted a good old moan about anything! ALL COVID RULES HAVE BEEN FOLLOWED and to suggest otherwise is highly offensive.
This was my first solo camp and I could not have chosen better! A 2 hour drive for me but so worth it! Stunning location, I went paddleboarding round the island which was so pretty, The toilets and showers great, the staff were super friendly and helpful, I felt so comfortable there. Definitely going back!
Boys 24 hour camping trip with a friend and our two sons. Beautiful surroundings, quick check in onto site, delicious lunch (for both adults and kids) at the pub served from the BBQ (very fast service). Great being just 10M from a launch on the river, water waste deep which made it easier swimming/paddle boarding with a 3 year old. Quiet site with basic but clean facilities. Would happily come back here.
Swanning around on the river!
We had some trepidation as our three night break started, as the weather did not look promising! However when we arrived, it was dry and Andy was there to welcome us in with a friendly smile. Our pitch was perfect, very neat and flat and right next to the river! Toilets were clean and the showers were hot and welcome after a day’s kayaking. Despite having some big downpours, our pitch never became waterlogged despite being right next to the riverbank, a great bonus for getting out on the water first thing. Staff at the pub were chatty and welcoming, and with meat and vegan options we were both very pleased with our meals. It was really handy to have the small shop on site to save us venturing into the local town. However, if you do, make sure to visit Sandwich Phillers as we had the best pack up from there! We shall definitely stay again and would highly recommend the campsite.
Lovely campsite, great location and facilities
What a great weekend. The campsite was lovely, we had been a little concerned about the facilities following some recent reviews however the new toilet trailers were in and absolutely fine. The reception was great with the little shop and we loved being able to hire a fire-pit. The grounds flat, we had a lot of rain and there was no flooding. Pitches clearly market out and numbered. We had two pitches and were able to have the cars, three person tents and a gazebo on them with still room to spare. Having the pub across the bridge was a wonderful addition. We pre-ordered the breakfast and BBQ menus for the campsite and the food was delicious. Great to be able to cook it on our own BBQ. Being able to hire kayaks and paddle boards was also a lovely option. Only suggestions would be to add hand sanitiser next to the access gate for everyone touching the keypad and next to the sink. Great that there is one outside the toilet trailers. Also there were a quiet a few missing bits from breakfast and BBQ menu which were not substituted as mention. Think the description should be a selection of rather than including everything (everything would have been too much anyway). Would highly recommend the campsite and facilities to everyone. Perfect for all ages.
Beautiful part of England. The Thames pathway adjacent for walks. Nice flat site. Pub over the bridge had vegan food for us. It was outside seating only well spaced out. There were thunderstorms but no flooding.
This was a perfect place to stay the night. Welcome from friendly staff was great. Food at the pub was perfect. Campsite was clean and tidy. Access to the river was ideal as we wanted to canoe. Would recommend.
What an amazing time we all had. Such a beautiful setting, kids playing in the canal sun was shining, what more can you ask for. Back next year for certain. Facilities were clean and apart from the spiders (lol)I have no complaints at all. Thank you for a wonderful weekend
Response from Ye Olde Swan
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are so glad you all had a great time.
Having read the reports on cleanliness I was a little worried however I needn’t have been. The glamping site itself was beautifully set out, peaceful and the toilet facilities were very clean. We had an issue upon arrival where the camp beds hadn’t been made up however I spoke to one of the girls who were there cleaning and they were brilliant and had it rectified within 5 minutes. We ordered the grill out and charcoal and it was outside the teepee on arrival. An absolutely stunning location and will definitely be booking again - thank you!
Fantastic!!! Great staff, great pub, great food
We have just spent a great weekend here, it was exceptionally busy the sun was shining and it seemed like everyone decided it was a good idea to visit the site, the number of people who arrived for food and drinks was clearly visible as the staff clearly did know what they were doing as they had to stop all walk-ins and accept bookings only to ensure they had enough tables and to adhere to social distancing. We ate at the pub both days and when we actually spoke to the wonderful staff they also advised us that it was probably one of the busiest weekends they had ever experienced. With regards to the pizza oven, they had over 50 pizza orders in 2 hours so that clearly shows the level of work that these guys had to ensure went as smoothly as possible. When we ate we had the farmhouse pizza and it was a little crispy on the outside but this is a wood fired pizza oven ran cleverly by burning wood to a temperature over 300 degrees apparently so its not like a conventional oven. We also had the Fat Swan Burger and I have to say it was wonderful, very meaty and nothing like a Macdonalds burger, the chips are simply lovely and even though we had to wait for a while to order drinks, its clear that the outside bar serving drinks, is very small and a backup to the normal bar inside which is shut...I didn't mind waiting in the sun for my G and T.....and when I got to the bar the smiles on the bar staffs faces showed that despite how busy they were (and they didn't stop) they were enjoying their work. I think this pub is one of the nicest I've ever been to and I would definitely take the time to stop here and not go anywhere else, you simply dont need to.
Great little campsite
We stopped at ye old swan for 5 nights in our camper van and had a lovely break. The site is situated in a ideal location if you like SUP or kayaking. It a very clean and well looked after site with a fantastic pub just over the bridge. We would recommend this site to any of our friends.
Wonderful glamping experience
We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights in a tipi. It's a wonderfull location, next to the river, and stunning scenery. Toilet and shower facilities for the glamping guests were more than adequate, and far better than expected from other reviews. The pub menu was limited (burgers only) due to current Covid situation, and it's just not the same eating from paper plates and with wooden cutlery. Also a shame the pizza shack and small camping shop only open at weekends. One suggestion for improvement would be to provide recycling bins for waste. All in all a great stay and would definitely return and recommend to friends.
Cute camp site, shoddy pub!
We arrived for a 2 night stay on the campsite and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It's only a small site but it was perfect for our needs; on site toilets and shower block, a very short walk to the river and over the bridge to the pub. To be honest we can't fault the camp site, and would recommend it to other campers. On our first night we walked over to the pub and enjoyed some evening drinks which was great. Due to COVID-19, the pub was closed besides the WC which is understandable. We had a table booked for the following afternoon at 5.30, which we were looking forward to so we could enjoy a nice meal and some cold drinks. We arrived a little early and they were able to seat us before our booking which was handy. Though the queue for the little outside bar was huge, and took a long time to get served. We were really disappointed to see the reduced menu; 4 variations of pizza (no farmhouse option but ham and mushrooms were available, doesn't make sense). And BBQ offering some overpriced burgers. 2 of us ordered from the BBQ and the food arrived really quickly. I'd asked for adjustments due to dietary requirements which they agreed to, but when food was delivered they hadn't done it at all. My friend ordered a large burger for £15 and it was no better than a McDonald's burger. Halloumi fries are more like mozzarella sticks you can get from Iceland for £1. 2 friends ordered pizzas and they waited for over an HOUR....to then find one under cooked and one half-burnt to a crisp. The service was truly shocking; it almost became a comedy that so many people complained about their food or service. One guy waited 1hr45 for 2 pizzas and eventually asked for a refund. Staff very polite but really didn't seem to know what they were doing. I don't want to blame them, I blame poor management as the staff clearly need more training and support. Don't waste your time going to the pub, pop to the shop or jump in the car as the drive to another place will be worth it.
Great family site
We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at ye olde Swan. The location is beautiful, right next to the river and pub. We hired a mammoth paddleboard and the kids loved it! Toilet facilities were fine( proper loos, not just portaloos as previous reviews say). Would highly recommend.
Beautiful spot next to the river - a simple, well-run site
This location is just stunning. It is such a treat to have the river and the Thames path running right next to a site, and with a lovely pub just across the bridge. We had a stunning couple of days here in early August and were thoroughly delighted with the whole experience. The swimming and boating, as well as the walking and running, were so lovely. The site was simple but clean and worked well. While we were there a new set of toilets were brought in, which doubled the number - which was great news in terms of social distancing. Showers were warm and clean. My only suggestion would be that recycling by campers is clearly not working, as everyone seemed to just out recycling and rubbish together (so we brought ours home with us). Would highly recommend!!
Could have been awesome
Idillic location, big pitches, perfect for getting on the water. Good powerful showers but not clean. Sadly the toilet‘s were disgusting. Not just bad but diabolical. The stench drifted across the site. The food at the pub was ok but came served on moldy bread. Replaced without a fuss but only with more moldy bread. Couldn’t even get a can from the fridge or put ice in it on hottest day of the year; warm straight off shelf. Such promise but not a good first impression. Shame because the pitches were great.
Great place to stay
me and my 2 boys (10 & 11) loved staying here. The proximity to the river is perfect. We had no issues at all with toilet facilities, in fact we were pleasantly surprised at how good they are given some of the feedback we had read. The dog loved the site too! Definitely take some inflatables/kayaks/paddle boards if you can. The Pub served a much needed and decent lunch too. Will definitely go again
A great few days away
A great place to Camp, lovely views and great scenery. Toilets need cleaning more often as do the showers but otherwise ok. The pub was great for beer and food if not a little bit pricey as you only ever got plastic knife and forks to eat with. Diet Coke was out of a bottle which was warm so not enjoyable Otherwise great place to stay and we certainly will again
Beautiful location perfect for all types of water activities from swimming, fishing, kayaking and paddle boarding.
Beautiful location. Great food served in the pub. Toilet and showers cleaned each day put not much power in them. Nowhere to hang clothes or towels in the toilet or shower room. I was glamping so fortunte to have a key to the better toilet/shower facilities. If normal camping then sadly it's a porta cabin. Could do with putting in some proper toilets and shower facilities. Great location and friendly staff .
We stayed in the glamping tents and they were great, clean and spacious enough for a family of four. The toilets and showers are key entry only so were really clean and the wooden buildings fitted in really well with the surroundings. The river provided the children with a great day jumping in and out and they tried the paddle boarding which was reasonable and easy for them to access. All questions were answered within a couple of hours on email. Only downside was that the pizza oven is open on weekends only, but there was a local chippy nearby. It’s good for little bike rides but only to the east along the river. The west direction is a nice walk but too bumpy for bikes. All in all a lovely fun stay. Thanks
Lovely camp site
We had a great 2 nights camping at this site. Very pretty and having the river right next to us was perfect. We all had fun on paddle boards and fun playing in the river. Really lovely pub across the road. The showers were fine, we never had to queue to use them. The facilities state that the toilets were portaloos, therefore thet were what we expected. We would Love to return ( if they would have us back 😂)
Response from Ye Olde Swan
Of course we would have you back, happy smiling families who want to enjoy themselves are always more than welcome.
Amazing riverside location. Let down by over crowding ( in context of COVID) . Too many people using 6 toilets and 3 showers . In normal times wouldn’t have been a problem but compared to other sites we’ve stayed this summer really not good enough!
Nice location, however.....
Nice location right by the river and by a nice pub. However we thought it was too crowded and compared to other recent campsites, badly organised and poor facilities. Toilets and showers do not inspire much confidence - 2 men’s and 4 woman’s portaloos, and 3 showers, minimal cleaning and not sufficient for numbers staying in my opinion. Lovely area but would not stay again.
Response from Ye Olde Swan
New toilet facilities have arrived, portable toilets are going to be a thing of the past - we also urge people to bring their own portable toilets if they dont want to share. Facilities are cleaned regularly and at least twice a day, these showers are also FREE - we dont insist that you buy tokens for a 1 minute shower, they are included in the price. We advise people to wear masks and use hand sanitiser. We all need to be vigilant and clean ourselves regularly. Numbers have been reduced and pitch sizes increased
Noone at hand to help and no apologies
We had a couple of issues on the first night - our tipi was flapping in the wind a lot and we noticed other vacant ones weren't as bad, so tried calling several times and also sent a text with no response. Our neighbours camp fire was also very close to our tipi, so we got a lot of smoke coming through. Both the glamping and the camping pitches are pretty close together (especially the camping I noticed), so not much privacy and feels like you're on top of each other. We even went to seek help around 10pm at the pub, but noone there to help. We ended up leaving at midnight on the first night (we did have a baby with us that couldn't sleep, and I am fully aware it is harder for babies to sleep in this environment, but I am also a seasoned camper, and I am fully aware of the camping environment, I usually love a good smore on the fire!). Poorly run, and very basic facilities. Not worth your time or money when plenty of other nice places to be found
Response from Ye Olde Swan
Hi Lisa - as we responded privately to your email I will address the issues again as the site is incredibly well run and with regards to the tipis flapping in the wind, if its windy, its a tipi, it will flap and we were unable to move you as we advised at the time, the linen for the other tipis were being cleaned in preparation for other arrivals, we also leave our tipis free for a certain amount of time to provide them with a deep clean and a good airing - as you can imagine, leaving a tipi vacant for a period of time, ensures everyone's safety! with your suggestion that its poorly run, again, without actually running a campsite and glamping site yourself, this is a very easy accusation to make but with every decision we have to make, it may not please you but its all for a reason. With regards to babies sleeping, I think any mother will know that they are not the best of sleepers and with regards to the smoke coming from a neighbours fire, i'm not really sure that we are able to change the direction of the wind and if someone has an outside fire pit that they have hired, they are using it accordingly. I'm sorry I couldn't change the wind and stop it from flapping your canvas tipi tent! I can also advise that there is always a manager on site and a 1 minute walk over to the pub would have ensured you could have spoken to someone face to face!
Great location AWFUL facilities
Beautiful location, right on the Thames with pub onsite but the portaloos were vile - used to using portaloos at events but these absolutely stank and there was very little water to wash hands. Only one sink for washing up and filling water bottles and no hot water. Price was steep and clearly there has been no investment in the facilities. No recycling of waste. Such a shame- this could be a great site but totally failed to deliver! Only saving grace was the location.
Response from Ye Olde Swan
Hi there - we appreciate your feedback - due to "staycation" although we reduced the number of pitches and allocation of people we really have been fully booked since the 4th July - this is great but this isn't usually for us, however that said we have taken the comments onboard, portable loos are the only option currently available to remove peoples waste and we pay an additional fee to have them emptied at least 3 times per week, we are currently getting additional support for our refuse to be emptied more often and we have just invested in 2 x flushing toilet trailers, one is currently in the carpark waiting to be placed into the field but again we are so full with campers this hasn't been possible. Rest assured we are investing in the site, we didn't expect it to be so popular but we are doing everything we can to ensure that the portable toilets are a thing of the past as soon as possible.
Beautiful spot but not tranquil
We spent 3 nights getting away from it all and really enjoyed our stay. The positives: 1) Beautiful location by the River Thames which was great for kayaking and paddleboarding, 2) The pub was excellent, very well set up for social distancing and great food and beer, 3) Perfect for walking. The not so goods: 1) Despite being in a rural location it was very crammed in and we had a crummy spot next to the car park, 2) As other reviewers have said, toilets/bins/showers and fresh water all crammed in and not great hygiene, 3) Not the fault of the campsite but loads of noise from the road and the RAF even at midnight! Having said all of that on balance we would go again.
Response from Ye Olde Swan
Hi there - we appreciate your feedback - due to "staycation" although we reduced the number of pitches and allocation of people we really have been fully booked since the 4th July - this is great but this isn't a usual occurrence for us, however that said we have taken the comments onboard, we are currently getting additional support for our refuse to be emptied more often and we have just invested in 2 x flushing toilet trailers, one is currently in the carpark waiting to be placed into the field but again we are so full with campers this hasn't been possible. Rest assured we are investing in the site, we didn't expect it to be so popular but we are doing everything we can to ensure that the portable toilets are a thing of the past as soon as we can! with regards the RAF, I guess we are used to them practising and flying overhead, I dont think there is much I can do to prevent the MOD training their pilots. Thanks for your constructive comments though, much appreciated.
I couldn't fault the campsite. We were located next to the river with beautiful views. The facilities are basic (portaloos) but they're cleaned daily and there's plenty of soap, hand sanitiser and toilet roll in them. Check in was easy and quick. The pub was lovely serving great pizzas and BBQ food. We had a fab time, thank you!
Beautiful spot, basic facilities
The facilities are basic, which would be fine if this was highlighted on the Cool Camping website and reflected in the price. As it is you pay a fair amount of money for portaloos and a shower you feel more dirty coming out of than going in. The first time we realised there would be portaloos was when we received their welcoming email on the morning of our arrival - probably should have checked the reviews beforehand! The pitches were crammed right next to each other, and not 10m apart as stated on the website. On a more positive note, it is in a fantastic spot with beautiful walks, kayak journeys and a lovely quiet road cycle to Kelmscott or St Johns Priory, which both have great pubs. The pub itself does good food and has a beautiful garden.
Great spot, perfect for access to the river. Very basic facilities. Unhappy that the only tap was used for drinking and washing- I think this is a health risk. Several people out of the loo (where paper had run out) washed their hands, just before others filled their water bottle! Yuk!! Pub food was very disapointing but the campsite venue and friendliness meant we had a lovely few days.
Brought the kids here for a couple of days to kick off the school holidays. It was the perfect location next to the River Thames, with the pub being so close with get staff and great facilities! We were staying in one of the Teepee's, gated area was nice and the toilet/shower facilities were good, just a pity not everyone understood what should be flushed and what shouldn't be flushed. Staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them. My son cried on our last night as he wanted to stay living in the teepee!! We will definitely come back, probably with our own paddle board (kids request). Just to echo recycling, but no major issue, as we can take that with us. Fabulous!!
Beautiful spot by the river
We camped in the field. There was so much space and we had access to everything we needed. Our friends brought their kayak and we hired a paddle board. There was never a moment of boredom. The kids entertained themselves for hours on end and there was nothing better than heading to the pub in the afternoon after a day of activities.
Lovely riverside camping
Perfect place for a nights camping with lovely riverside views and walks. Conveniently located across the water from the pub we were able to pop across and purchase ice cold drinks to bring back to our tent and maintain social distancing. We didn’t use the showers as we stayed only one night but the portaloos were more than adequate for our stay. Would definitely come again.
Wonderful proper camping
I must admit I find it very odd reading the other reviews about this site - when I booked I actually read about the site and it states - Facilities are simple but adequate; a cold water tap at the lone washing-up sink with simple toilets and showers. You might call it classic camping - so classic camping it is, faci.ities are indeed simple and yes they are adequate....They even send an email a week before your arrival telling you what to expect and people still moan!!! maybe if people actually read about where they are coming they would know what to expect - stop moaning about the toilets - they were cleaned twice whilst I was staying and portable toilets will stink - they are portable toilets - get over it!!! I loved staying here, the staff, the pub, the location, simply cant be beaten....
Beautiful location, pity about the loos
Great place to camp by the river. Friendly staff and campers. Just found the loos disgusting. If showers and loos improved, I’d return.
Perfect position for life in the Thames
This is an amazing location. On the banks of the Thames so easy to go fishing and paddle boarding.Opposite a pub which has worked out how to serve food and drinks efficiently despite the Covid restrictions. The lady at reception was friendly and accommodating. She made sure we were pitched next to our friends. Negatives were the toilets. These compromise of 4 portaloos. They rapidly became full and were not a great experience. It was also a shame that there were no recycling facilities. But we would definitely go again because the location is fantastic
Response from Ye Olde Swan
Thank you for your feedback, this has been passed to the management team, the toilets are emptied twice a week and were emptied during your stay and we hope to have a flushing system in place for 2021 but being on an island does carry the burden or how to remove peoples waste effectively and safely. We also urge campers to bring their own portable toilets which you are welcome to do! Just like proper camping back in the day!
Beautiful and cosy place. The pub and garden next door add to the joy of being there. Friendly staff. Showers comfortable. The only thing for improvement are the dixies. After a while they get smelly. I enjoyed my stay of 4 days very much!
Great experience, we would stay again
We stayed July 13th for one night, as a group of three friends in one of the Teepe’s. We had a really lovely time and all said we’d come back again. The location is gorgeous, right by the river and very quiet. We chose to have a BBQ dinner at the Teepe so didn’t go into the pub, but the beer garden looked very inviting. The staff members we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. The site itself was really well kept, we had a nice open area outside our teepe to set out our camp chairs and chill out for the evening. The Glamping toilet blocks were really clean as well, it was nice to have use of a proper loo rather than the portaloos that were in the camping field! My only (hopefully constructive criticism) is of the Teepe’s themselves. The inside of ours was a bit tired, there were lots of dirty marks on the teepe canvas and the cobwebs were huge! There were a few dead spiders and bugs in the mesh canopy above the double bed and the carpets were in need of a good sweep and clean. When it started to rain the seams of the canopy leaked, so we had to try and manoeuvre the bed so that the water wasn’t dripping on us as we slept. Other than that minor grumble, we had a lovely stay and would recommend this site for people looking for a relaxing few nights away in the beautiful cotswolds! :-)
Location is perfect in a very picturesque island easily accessible, with a pub on site . Nearest supermarkets and other food outlets short drive away. All staff where very friendly and helpful. Shower and toilet facilities where good in glamping area. Tipi itself was lovely , bed comfortable and very romantic. Plenty of activations to do, paddle boarding, kayaking walks. Wish we had of stayed longer
Great setting, real shame about the facilities
Beautiful location, and we had a really enjoyable time walking and kayaking along the Thames. Staff were very helpful and pleasant at all times. Great selection of vegan food at the pub. Facilities really let it down and made for an unpleasant stay. The site is exactly as described with portaloos only, separate showers and no hot water for washing up (only an outside sink). I'm very comfortable "roughing it" and certainly experienced my fair share of festival toilets, but unfortunately every use any of the facilities was a depressing (and stinky!) experience, and it has put me off returning or recommending. The portaloos were cleaned at least twice on our three night stay, but didn't have enough cleaning liquid to flush adequately. It also seems like they either need to be emptied more regularly or more units made available, because they became really unpleasant very quickly (there were less than 20 other sites in use and 4 units total). The showers were hot, but the shower head was not adjustable so a full face and hair spray was unavoidable. There were no hair dryers so wet hair every morning was not pleasant. The shower cubicles were also really small with very little space to hang/store dry clothes. The outside sink for washing up was clean, but impossible to really clean the dishes with cold water only. Washing up in the rain is also not a great look. I really hope the owners will soon be investing in the facilities, because the current situation really did spoil the stay for me. The adjoining teepee field appears to be equipped with compost toilets and I assume adequate shower facilities, so it would be nice to see a similar regard for comfort and hygiene afforded to customers in the regular field. Let me know when this is rectified and we would be very happy to come back.
Response from Ye Olde Swan
Thanks for your comments, I've passed these onto the management team. We hope to invest over the next few years but Covid held us back somewhat for 2020.
Nice place to camp
This was my first experience of camping in my campervan, lovely friendly staff, great food, good selection of vegan meals. Already booked to go back. Thankyou
amazing camping experience
Just arrived home from hereI Loved how approachable and friendly the staff where always on hand to help. The cook in the BBQ was amazing food was lovely. Considering our difficulties at this time they have really made it work. Love how dog friendly it is. Views and walks are a highlight. The toilets are only portable loos but they have separate for female and male and they are changed every day. The showers are what we expected not perfect but enough for a wash to feel fresh. Lovely area i have already re-booked.
Great place to stay
Just arrived back from a tipi for the night .I have to say Carmel and her team were amazing.Very difficult times and they couldn’t do enough.The kitchen had just closed when we arrived and the Chef re-opened it for us. Carmel was trying to deal with difficult clients that didn’t really understand the Covid yet she still made us feel safe. No room to charge the phone yet she still managed a way to do it for us can’t thank her enough. The reason for four stars was the showers. They really do need a new showerhead as a lot of them are blocked with limescale also if one shower is working the other doesn’t. The other reason is the difficult clients were up partying till after 1 am. As we were four lady walkers we needed our sleep. Understood if it had been till 12 but not 1am showed they had no consideration for others .
A beautiful site - rustic yes but I am a proper camper!
If you like proper camping, where you are in a stunning location and not bothered about a toilet that needs to be like the Hilton, then this is the place for you, such lovely staff, a basic, clean site. Nothing like being on a building site!!! I enjoyed the pub, the walks, the pitch sizes the river, the staff. I would recommend to the campers who love the outdoors rather than worry about if the shower has wall tiles!
very poor facilities just like being on a building site
area is lovely pub was great toilets and shower block very poor photos do not show them i wonder why !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Response from Ye Olde Swan
Hi Micheal - its sad that people leave inaccurate reviews of the site. We make no bones about the site being rustic. It has portable toilets that are not in the pictures simply because they hadn't arrived at that time in fact neither had the showers, its simply a lovely area that's an island and in fact just in case you were "wondering" ??? during the off season the site goes back to having absolutely nothing on it, it goes back to nature and that's just how we like it, so really I would say this site is more for people who like nature, who prefer to look at the wonderful world around them rather than the shower block, those who like a few beers in a laid back environment which again, yes I agree it is basic but it is also clean and has hot water - we haven't spent thousands of pounds on a flashy toilet and shower block - its just not that kind of site.
Beautiful spot even in the rain
Lovely waterside campsite, very well organised and extremely clean and safe. Highly recommend.