The Pig Place Campsite

UK England South East England Oxfordshire Banbury

  • Distance markers in shared facilities
  • Contactless check in
  • Deep cleaning of shared facilities
  • Electrical hook-ups
  • Campfires allowed
  • Dogs welcome
  • Adults only
  • Short walk to pub
  • Good walks nearby
Canal-side camping for adults on a rustic Oxfordshire pig farm

When Dean and Sara first moored their narrow boat here in 2007 it was a drastically different place. The land still sloped gently down to the canal-side, green and inviting, but otherwise it was little more than a simple cattle pasture, blotted with the odd molehill and a scattering of buttercups. Today, however, it has truly been transformed. It has become the sort of place you hear about several miles down the canal; a whisper between boating folk who feel they each share this local secret. Chug around the bend and the banks are now a manicured carpet of grass and decking, split into segments and dominated by pig pens, and duck and chicken coops. “STOP”, the sign reads, “Farm Shop”.

We don’t need asking twice, though plodding along with a tent and sleeping bag it’s not a mooring spot we’re after. Welcoming campervans, caravans and the humble tenting camper, The Pig Place is open to all and it’s signage sums up the general atmosphere. The focus here is not on plush camping pitches with power-showers and strings of wooden clad chalets, no, first and foremost this is a simple, yet delightful small holding and only after the animals, the farm shop and the mouth-wateringly good food van came the campsite.

The resulting ethos is fantastic. The camping is wonderfully rustic – there is one portable toilet and no showers on the site – but that certainly doesn’t mean it is neglected, with Dean and Sarah always on hand and inviting you over when it’s feeding time to join in and see the pigs. It’s inclusive, but not overbearing, and their conscious decision to keep everything small-scale and low key, makes it a sociable and thoroughly relaxed place to pitch.

The food, of course, is an obvious selling point. Their farm shop, selling meat, free range eggs and veg, is truly enviable – though if you envy it too much you may end up buying a couple of hens to take home with you – and the cooking trailer (The Pig Stop) is opened up each morning to serve an unbeatable home-reared breakfast. It may just be a ploy. The wafting smell of bacon is so good you can imagine that somewhere, in a lock, several miles down canal, there are already folks on board their boat sniffing at the air and tracing their way in your direction!

Nearby, the town of Banbury has enough independent shops and restaurants to keep you busy and the immediacy of the M40 means seemingly far off towns like Oxford and Warwick are actually just 40 minutes or so away. The motorways ever presence in the landscape may be unmistakeable on the map but its treed flanks do a surprisingly good job of shielding any noise, leaving the Pig Place to retain its unmistakably rural charms.

Our Coronavirus Booking Guarantee

Book with complete confidence at The Pig Place Campsite with the Cool Camping Coronavirus Booking Guarantee. We guarantee the following clear policy for your booking:

  • A low deposit of 30% to secure your booking
  • Balance not due until 30 days before your holiday, in case of late changes to Coronavirus guidance
  • Complete flexibility to move bookings up to the end of 2021 in the event of Coronavirus restrictions
  • In the event of a lack of 2021 availability, switch your dates to 2022
  • Due to low deposit and late balance payment, no refunds are offered

Click here to read the full terms

Details

Facilities

This site is still very much a working farm, so the camping experience is of the more rustic sort. The grassed tent and caravan paddock is by the livestock area, so there's always something to see – feeding time is an experience not to be missed! There simple, festival-style portable toilets but no showers, chemical waste disposal and a washing up area. Campfires (designated canalside area with sofas) and BBQs are permitted. Some road noise.

Suitable For

This is an adults-only campsite.

Adults, tents, campervans, caravans and dogs – yes. Children under 18 – no.

Nearby

The canal towpath provides excellent walks to some of Oxfordshire's and Northamptonshire's prettiest villages, pubs and restaurants. If you don't mind using the car, though, it's just 4 miles to Banbury, its attractions include, aptly for this campsite, Tooley’s Boatyard (01295 272917), dating back over 200 years and the oldest working dry dock in the country – if you fancy a boat trip on the canal this is the place to come. For a longer day trip pack some of the site's bacon sarnies and drive to Shakespeare's Stratford-Upon-Avon, historic Warwick, or south to magnificent Oxford – all are within a 40 minute drive.

Food & Drink

The farm shop here is truly excellent. Their rare breeds provide excellent sausages and various different cuts, along with free range eggs. Better still, every day there is hot food available. The freshly cooked food from their outdoor café includes sausage, bacon and eggs and burgers, BBQ pulled pork and weekend specials plus decent coffee and cake.
Though there are 4 pubs in nearby Adderbury, the more pleasant option is to walk the half hour along the canal towpath. It's around 2 miles to The Great Western Arms (01869 338288) a fantastic old pub with a good beer garden and family-friendly atmosphere.

Open

March–end October (subject to ground conditions).

Why book with Cool Camping?

  • Coronavirus Booking Guarantee
  • Best Price Guarantee, with no fees
  • Instant booking confirmation
  • Trusted for over 10 years
  • A chance to win prizes in our regular competitions

The Owner Says

If we're your kind of place, we look forward to meeting you. Our camping areas are 'child-free' and cater for motorhomes, caravans, campervans and tents. Being canalside you're welcome to visit by narrowboat too.

Our breakfast is unrivalled. Fabulous food with a fantastic view over the Oxford Canal and Cherwell Valley - what's not to like? The addition of 'Trotters Bar' makes The Pig Place a perfect place for adults to chill out and soak up the canalside atmosphere.

Social Distancing Measures

We're lucky here @ The Pig Place as both our food outlet and bar are outdoors and, as the government states "the risk of transmission outdoors is significantly lower", we are confident that with social distancing measures and contactless payments you enjoy The Pig Place as much as you always did.
We look forward to welcoming you :@)

This site offers our Coronavirus Booking Guarantee

Pitches

20 tent pitches, 10 touring and 4 narrowboat moorings – in addition to a liveaboard narrowboat.

Piglet

Grass pitch Sleeps 2 5 Available
If your tent is the size of a postage stamp this is a special price for you. For campers arriving by bicycle, canoe, on foot or motorbike. Max size two person tent for 1-2 adults.

Weaner

Grass pitch Sleeps 4 15 Available
Includes two adults and one vehicle - additional adults and vehicles are chargeable as extras. Tents up to 4 berth in size.

Gilt

Grass pitch Sleeps 4 5 Available
Motorhome/Caravan/Campervan grass touring pitch without electricity. Includes two adults and one vehicle - additional adults and vehicles are chargeable as extras. Units up to 22' length.

Sow

Grass pitch with electricity Sleeps 4 10 Available
Grass Touring pitches with electricity, nestled between the vegetable patches and the livestock area ensuring that there is always something to see and feeding time is an experience not to be missed. Visit cooking trailer which is open each day to serve an unbeatable home-reared breakfast, lunch or supper.

Hog

Grass pitch Sleeps 8 3 Available
Large Tent pitch without electricity. Includes two adults and one vehicle - additional adults and vehicles are chargeable as extras. Tents over 4 berth in size.

Wild Boar

Grass pitch Sleeps 8
Large mptprhome/caravan/campervan without electricity. Includes two adults and one vehicle - additonal adults and vehicles are chargeable as extras. Units over 22' length.

Boar

Grass pitch Sleeps 6
Large grass pitch with electricity. Includes two adults and one vehicle - additional adults and vehicles are chargeable as extras. Units over 22' length.

Check Availability

Location

Contact The Pig Place Campsite, NB Acres, Aynho Road, Adderbury, Banbury, Oxfordshire OX17 3NU

Show Map

Getting There

The Pig Place is 6 miles from Junction 10 on the M40. Pick up the A43 towards Silverstone and then the B4100 for Aynho. Head through the village and continue along the B4100, past 2 car garages and a turning to Kings Sutton. 200 yards past the turn is an entrance to a layby shielded from road by trees. The Pig Place entrance is within this lay-by.

The nearest railway station is Kings Sutton (0845 748 4950), 2 miles away.

Reviews

Add Your Review

Rated ★★★★★ over 49 reviews

★★★★★

Lovely campsite run by lovely people

We loved camping here as the staff were lovely and the bar and food truck were really amazing. The campsite is lovely and sitting down by the canal relaxing in the sun was fantastic. Staff were really helpful with recommendations and there was plenty to do within easy reach. Would definitely go back!

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope you recharged your batteries! 
★★★★★

really enjoyed my stay

really enjoyed my stay,if only for two nights,i was on a bit of a recky for fishing on the canal,and was not disappointed,big perch.and they have a great bar,will go again.
Jul 25, 2021 by Tom Hoare Verified Review

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.   See you again!   :@)
★★★★★

Wonderful campsite - Great for first timers/beginner campers too!

Wonderful campsite with great surrounding area of the canal where you can sit by and relax and unwind. Quirky little bar and a fantastic cafe (Get the breakfast you won’t be disappointed!) accompanied by a lovely farm shop selling lots of local produce and essentials. Staff were great, and were eager to help and ensure you had a great stay. If you’re a beginner camper or first timer, this is a place I’d recommend as you have the best of both here with the bar/cafe or you can cook yourself. Great place and will definitely visit in the future, it was great walking around seeing all the lovely chickens/pigs/ducks/sheep :) Thanks The Pig Place for a great few days!

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

We are so glad you had a great time...and you left the sun with us so thank you!   We will tell The Pig Place team you enjoyed your breakfast and everything else.   Hope to see you soon. :@)
★★★☆☆

For a one nighter only!

From the gallery of photos it appeared a wonderful site, close to the canal with bar, cafe/bistro etc plus a farm shop. Brilliant! However the reality was not quite as picture prefect as it wants to portray. Yes the staff were friendly and welcoming. All the amenities it shows are there and working. However the downside for me was: No cars by your pitch once you have set up – must be parked in the car park a short stride away. The tent field has a slight slope to it – you were lucky if you found a level pitch. Close to a main road and the A43 meant that all night the drone of traffic was ever present – not quite a tranquil place. And finally there was the free range hens, I am sure that they lay wonderful eggs, but their persistence in rooting into every part of my pitch, especially when cooking, not to mention pecking at my bare toes was downright annoying. If you can live with all that, then you are more tolerant camper than me – and here is me happy with a toilet and a standpipe in a bare field in the back and beyond. No I will not make a return visit.
Jul 16, 2021 by Alan Verified Review

Response from The Pig Place Campsite


Thank you for your review.   We do not hide the fact that we are a working farm and our camping field is on a slope, but we are nowhere near the A43? We do not hide the fact we have free range chickens, and,  sorry but leaving a loaf of bread on the floor, outside your tent, as we saw,  does nothing to keep them away from you.  We have taken successful steps to encourage our chickens to stay in their pens, and seeing only one or two in the field that day we know we have achieved what was needed.     We are a small site and cannot leave cars next to tents, but you were lucky to be pitched just 3 foot away  We are sorry the campsite wasn't right for you and hope that you find a less rural campsite in future.  :-)

★★★★★

Chill out weekend

A group of 4 adults, we just wanted to chill out and not do anything at all. That's what we got in abundance. Small site where the animals are an integral part of the camping - If you don't like pigs, chickens, ducks and lambs this definitely isn't for you! Clean festival type toilets (just mention any problems and they are sorted out immediately), great quirky bar and loads of leather sofas to chill out on by the canal with a cool beer! The food at the cafe was first class but we still managed to cook on our own bbq too. Lovely staff and the fellow campers were all friendly too. Would be very happy to come again.

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you so much!   We are happy you recognise that we will fix a loo problem if there is one, especially if we are informed.  I will let the team know of your compliments, hope to see you again!
★★★★★

A Chilled Friendly festival atmosphere with pigs 🐽

Great little place in a great location by the canal with a the bar over looking it and comfy outdoors sofas to relax on. The owners where very nice and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. Lots of Pigs and sheep’s and rogue chickens 🐓. A very friendly site with a great feel to it. As stated in the add there are no showers only portalous which where well stocked and clean. The water on site comes from a boar hole which is pretty cool. I would recommend.

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you for your kind words, and yes....the water is fab!
★★★★★

Great weekend stay

Booked here after having a cancellation from a festival so was a late booking. It definitely is quirky as the description says and you do need to be prepared for chickens running around and the rural smells you get! But we throughly enjoyed our stay and found the staff all very friendly and helpful. The camping field is definitely not flat so if you have a van make sure you have blocks. The toilets are festival type toilets but are okay and we also had our own toilet with us. The farm shop and cafe/bar are very good. We didn’t bother cooking breakfast either morning and the shop had nice stuff wine/beer and cheese etc to buy. Plus their own sausages and free range eggs too. The site was quiet after 11 pm and we slept well. You can walk the canal towpath in both directions and we would definitely recommend the Great Western Arms which is a short easy walk and is very nice. We did book a table in advance.
Jul 4, 2021 by Sally Rowe Verified Review

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it
★★★★★

What a gem

Great place to stay. Staff super friendly. Great food, farm shop and quirky bar on site. Lots of great walks. Dog friendly. Not for you if you can't go a couple of days without a wash but we had a super time and will most definitely be returning. Thanks for a relaxing couple of days.

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Fantastic!   Thank you for a lovely review.. For anyone that needs a quick wash we do have Seatwipes, a fantastic coconut scented body wipe, in our farmshop.    See you soon!
★★★★★

Relaxed, quirky and friendly

Great place to spend a couple of nights. Food and drink onsite was superb. Needed our levellers but no issue. A few chickens wandering around but they weren't a problem. Nice canal walk. Staff friendly and helpful.

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, I will pass on your compliments to the team, they will appreciate it.    Hope to see you again!  :-)
★★★★★

Within easy reach of beautiful locations

We came with our retriever, mad to feel welcome, fellow campers friendly. lovely to see real free range chickens, the shop was selling local produce & anything that was forgotten. On site toilets if needed. no showers, washing up sink if needed. Bar on site, setting was lovely, staff helpful. Site does slope,so if camping arrive early to get a levelish pitch. We visited near by Rollrite Stone circle again, just amazing, the vistas are awe inspiring, a random musician, who had songs performed by Dave Gilmour was playing his mandolin, made a birthday perfect. We we blessed by wonderful weather. A downside was the mozzies, take repellent, you will be by the water or walking the canal path.

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review.  We have started to stock insect repellent in our Farm Shop now, but insect activity has died down, it's not a big problem that we've experienced before.     Hope to see you again 
★★★★★

Great peaceful friendly site!

I spent a very enjoyable couple of days at the Pig Place. The staff are friendly and it is a lovely quiet place, perfect for recharging one's batteries. If you are looking for luxury or a fully kitted out toilet and shower block this is not the place for you. But if you like quirky little places with lots of character (and you don't mind getting up close and personal with the many chickens roaming free!) then you will love it here!

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you for your review.   We are not on mains water so cannot offer showers, but the drinking water is from a bore hole which is lovely and fresh!     The chickens have new fencing so are fewer in numbers in the campfield.  Hope to see you again
★★★★★

Ideal for those that want to use the river

Basic site, portaloos, no showers. Has a sink and potable water available, licensed bar and food truck. Lots of outdoor sofas and an indoor seating area. Great area to launch from if you want to use the river. Small shop on site with local produce.
Jun 21, 2021 by Kim Verified Review
★★★★★

Amazing, quirky stay

Completely different to anywhere I've been. The chickens are unbelievably friendly, like in your car, awning, van, everywhere! Beautiful farm shop stocking everything you need + more. You really don't have to leave the site for anything. The food van serves meals all day & the bar & comfy sofas & fire pits make for a perfect, relaxed evening. Everyone is so friendly & welcoming. Definitely look forward to returning here😊

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you for taking the time to give great feedback.    Our friendly chickens have now been restricted by a higher fence.  A couple may now be roaming but mainly there are in the pen and have extra feeders to keep them satisfied.    You may see a few roaming but not in the numbers that they were.      We look forward to seeing you again! :-)

★★★★★

Best weekend at The Pig Place

We spent the May Bank Holiday weekend camping at the Pig Place and loved every minute of it! The chemical toilets were cleaned and emptied regulary so never had a problem there. The food was amazing, definetely the best bacon and Sausages I've ever had. We absolutely loved relaxing on the sofas in the sunshine, watching the canal boats go by, and then enjoying a cosy fire. The staff worked so hard and were always friendly and smiling. We can't wait to come back very soon.
Jun 11, 2021 by Emily Howlett

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you so much, the team work so hard and that weekend was crazy busy!     We look forward to seeing you again!   
★★★★★

what an amazing trip

this campsite is so lovely, spacious, amazing canal walks on door step with pubs along the track, lovely on site food option and drink - we'll be back :)
★★★★★

Great site, great food and facilities

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here with my brother and nephew. You don't need to bring any provisions with you as they have a brilliant farm shop selling local meats, cheeses, bread and eggs and loads of other surprises including good priced alcohol and soft drinks. There is a also an on site bar where you can enjoy draft lager and cider while sitting on one of the many sofas, next to the firepits (wood and kindling also sold. Want to cook by your tent, bring a BBQ, or relax and get a decent sized meal cooked at their food truck. No showers but it's camping right? Portaloos, fresh water and sink close to tent pitches. Thought it was excellent all round. And the owners and staff were really welcoming and always available. Highly recommend.
★★★★★

Brilliant, rustic site

We were there for a couple of days, its a great site. Very quirky, food & drinks were very good. The staff are very helpful. Lots of walks available along the canal. The farm shop is stocked with local produce. I like the fact they they harvest rain for some of their water for their livestock & usage.

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you so much.  You've no idea how good this makes us feel when customers appreciate what we do.     We hope to see you soon, bring the sun again! 
★★★☆☆

bank holiday weekend

I love what they're trying to do here. The staff are friendly, the bar is good, and campfires by the water are fantastic. The surrounding countryside is beautiful too. As mentioned in other reviews, there's a lot of road noise. Not so much as to keep you awake at night, but it does distract from the peace and quiet. We visited on a bank holiday weekend and they really crammed us in. We were uncomfortably close to neighbours on both sides - more like festival camping than a quiet little campsite! The food served on-site left a little to be desired but was fine. The bar was good though! You'll pay a slight premium for it, but that's to be expected - we are in a field after all! It's a shame the site doesn't have composting toilets as opposed to portaloos - they smell a bit less! The loos were kept clean (having worked on a site with portaloos in the past, I applaud the staff for this!), but were still unpleasant at times - probably due to the high number of visitors over the weekend. My girlfriend really loved the whole experience, but I'd think twice about visiting again, especially in a busy period.
Jun 2, 2021 by jaypeagi Verified Review
★★★★★

A great weekend spent at the pig place!

We had a great weekend at the pig place this weekend. All of us enjoyed the stay. The place is well setup. Some cool chilling areas! The breakfast was so tasty! Would definitely recommend to others!
Jun 1, 2021 by SISI LIU Verified Review
★★★☆☆

Nice site, terrible road noise

The site is lovely... Lots of animals, walks and countryside. The food places excellent! However, the site is incredibly close to the M40 And a main train line. This generated an enormous amount of road noise all day and all night. Other people seemed to be ok with it, but it wasn't for us. Obviously not something the owners have control over, but worth bearing in mind.
★★★★★

Ideal campsite!

Brilliant place run by lovely people. Campsite exactly as described and the atmosphere is really friendly and positive. Bar is amazing and so is the onsite farm shop. Couldn't recommend more. Enjoy
★★★★★

A fantastic escape from groundhog day!

Thank you for having us Pig Place! We stayed 2 nights this weekend and had a wonderful time, lots to do nearby and the host was so friendly and welcoming. Loved hearing about all the pigs and their different names and breeds! This was such a peaceful getaway, very COVID safe and we loved sitting by the canal with our firepit with a few drinks from the bar! (thanks Owen the bartender :)) Would definitely recommend the pig place and already have done to a few friends who saw my pics and wanted to get in the action. Thank you for having us!

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

We are "piggin" chuffed to bits over your review, and will let Owen know too.   Come back soon, the firepits are waiting!     Thanks again
★★★★★

Great site to put a smile on your face

We booked in for a stay in our camper to celebrate the world opening up a little after covid, and what a great choice we made. It was the perfect tonic to bring some smiles to our faces (even though the rain didn’t let up much!) As soon as we drove in we were met by the welcoming committee of chickens that created an obstacle course and literally played a game of chicken! My wife ended up trying her hand at chicken herding to create a pathway through. The staff were all lovely and friendly, with a great farm shop, delicious food van and bar. Loved meeting all the pigs and sheep who were all very chatty. Loads of chill out areas to choose from with loads of sofas laid out each with a fire pit. We chose one along the canal to see out the evening. Perfect chill setting with the views, sounds of the animals and a roaring fire. The facilities are all kept clean. No showers due to the site not being on mains water, but everyone can get by for a couple of nights camping. We have already recommended to friends and will definitely be back. Thank you!
May 22, 2021 by Jenny Thorp Verified Review

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Hi Jenny, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review!   The chickens have undergone an intensive customer service training course and it is there job to keep you entertained.   I shall bring this review up in their upcoming appraisals.    We look forward to seeing you soon! 
★★★★☆

Beautiful views and at one with nature

The Pig place is a fantastic campsite! It has everything you need on site which is all sustainable with it being basically a farm as well. The bar and food offerings are fab and sipping on a cold beer on an evening with the rolling hills is perfection! My only slightly negative remark would be that there are not any showers - not sure if this is due to covid? We will definitely be back! Love it!
★★★★★

Lovely campsite very relaxing

Loved this campsite , very clean the food was excellent, so were the staff , sat down by the canal in the evening with a camp fire , met some lovely people, definitely going back soon

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate your feedback.    Hope to see you again soon!
★★★★★

Good clean tidy site

Great place and our first weekend away in our camper, just what the doctor ordered! very friendly people and well run, nothing was to much trouble and we had a great pitch/pitches, we met lots of friendly people enjoying themselves and talking shite around the campfires along with us, such a relaxed place, clean toilets and site, shame there are no showers but we know why they arnt any, good pubs close by, defiantly will be back at some point, thank you for a great time see you all soon
May 4, 2021 by Adam White Verified Review

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Over the moon!  Thank you.    Yes, our water does come from a bore hole so no showers as we don't want to run the campsite dry.  On the upside it will probably be the freshest purest water you have drunk for a while!    Glad you chose us to have your first new camper experience.    See you soon!
★★★★★

Perfect

Brilliant site. Exactly as it’s advertised. Small very friendly and cool. Basic but clean loos. Plenty of food and drink available. You can hear road noise but a beautiful walk along the Oxford canal listening to cuckoos, watching geese and their goslings makes up for all that. We’ll be back!

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you Quelli, we appreciate your kind words.   Hope to see you again this year!
★★★★☆

Lovely place lots of animals

Lovely place lots of animals: sofas with fire pits by canal really cool out side bar great and the food van does lovely food staff lovely : down side u can hear m40 and trains: no hot water to wash up : and the port a loos not nice they smell .

Response from The Pig Place Campsite

Thank you Heather, we appreciate your kind words and the time you took to write a review.  Hopefully the weather would be kinder if we see you again!

I'm sorry you thought there was no hot water as a kettle is provided by the sinks, and after a very very busy weekend the loos were due to be serviced the day you left.   We will take more time to advise our campers of how to get hot water.   

Thank you for staying at The Pig Place :@)
★★★★★

A little slice of heaven (and bacon!)

This is just the most perfect little site. If you wanted to you could buy every single meal from the awesome food van and sit and eat it whilst watching barges float past on the canal. You may find a chicken coming to say good morning to you as you stay in this small but perfectly formed site. Child free and dog friendly it is just lovely. Thanks for a wonderful 2nd visit. x
Apr 19, 2021 by LB Verified Review
★★★★★

Beautiful, peaceful stay

Gorgeous site. Such a quirky design, great food, lush beer, peaceful surroundings, beautiful happy animals and an ideal location. Took a walk along the canal and ended up at a great pub (Great Western). As a female travelling solo I felt safe here which is SO IMPORTANT 🧡
Sep 15, 2020 by Kim
★★★★★

CAMPSITE WITH A DIFFERENCE

A well run and efficient place with dedicate and customer service driven staff. Pigs, ducks chickens etc give the site a farm like feeling which we loved as very different from where we live. Food quality at the cafe is limited to mainly burgers however a burger with a difference. You must try the ‘Whole hog’ burger! Overall a friendly and relaxed environment.
★★★☆☆

Almost perfect

Almost perfect, nice big pitches. Friendly staff. Lovely sitting by the canal with a open fire in the evening really nice vibe. Bar and restaurant on site. Only thing that spoilt if was the constant drone from the M40 maybe the wind was blowing in the wrong direction. Other than that lovely place.
★★★★☆

Great experience with festival feel

We enjoyed a one night stay on a Saturday night. We received a very efficient welcome, accommodating us despite booking a caravan spot not a tent pitch. We were right next to the chickens which was great fun albeit as expected we received an early wake up call! The pigs, ducks, cats and dogs also made it a great place for animal lovers and the on site bar (open until 11pm) and food van (with a great full English) was an added bonus especially for a Saturday night. The canal side sofas added to the festival feel although they would benefit from a clean and the toilets would benefit from an upgrade, albeit we expected minimalist facilities. The M40 can be heard from the campsite but we quickly became used to it. All in all a great experience and location.
★★★★☆

Great experience and festival feel

We had a great one night stay on a Saturday night. We had accidentally booked a caravan spot and they easily sorted us out with a spot next to the chickens, which as expected gave us a lovely wake up call on Sunday morning! Great atmosphere with an on site bar open until 11pm and sofas by the canal. The breakfast the next morning was amazing to wake up to, with friendly snd smiley service. A great spot for nature and wildlife lovers with pigs, ducks, chickens, dogs and cats. The site would benefit from a clean of the sofas and upgraded toilet facilities, but all in all a very enjoyable stay!
★★★★☆

Basic facilities but a brilliant friendly site.

Yes the toilet facilities are basic but they dont try to hide that. The campsite is brilliant with cafe, bar and canalside seating areas with fire pits. Will definitely be visiting again.
★★★★☆

A little gem

This was our first holiday in our new caravan & we couldn’t have found a nicer, friendlier site. From the moment we arrived to the time we left Dean & Sarah & the extremely helpful, hardworking Toni made us feel welcome & relaxed. Despite Coronavirus restrictions nothing was too much trouble. Even the distant rumble from the M40 didn’t worry us. We loved sitting on the sofas in the evening With the fire basket roaring & a bottle of red from the “Trotters Bar” The pigs & chickens were an added attraction!!
★★★★★

Relaxing, looked after, different, lovely location, pigs and ducks!

A fun place to be, relaxing yet never a dull moment with a shop, bar, cooked food and loads of sofas. Nice friendly people. Not for people who need flushing toilets , showers etc!
★★★★★

Cracking campsite right on our doorstep.

This has to be one of the more ‘quirky’ campsites around. The camping field is informal with no set pitches and, although we visited over an August weekend, it was certainly far from packed with plenty of space between the pitches. The facilities, as stated in the owners notes, are basic but more than adequate and clean. The shop, bar and cafe are excellent with a wide variety on offer. Cannot sing the praises of the staff enough, they are both friendly and helpful. Sara, the owner, could not have been more accommodating and gladly booked us in for an alternate date when we were unable to make the original date due to illness. The no under 18s rule felt quite odd but was very welcome. If you are expecting five star hotel facilities then The Pig Place probably isn’t for you, but if you are into basic camping with a few extras and an unusual setting then the chances are you’ll love it as we did.
★★★☆☆

A mixed bag

We chose this because we love quirky , different places . The location is great , the breakfast delicious and the bar a bonus . We had noted that there are no showers and, as we have our own , that wasn’t a big issue. However there is really no justification for not having hot water at the washing up points , the toilets are a health hazard and the chemical disposable point was grim . It was not easy to fill up with water as the water pressure was so low . Not sure how the price is justified when the facilities are totally lacking .
Jul 7, 2019 by Molly
★★★★★

Unbeatable campsite with added pigs.

I rarely leave reviews but loved this place so much it feels rude not to. We were warmly greeted by Sara who was very relaxed about where we pitched and helped us find a good spot for our Eriba and our friend's VW camper. The field has a bit of a slope but it was easy to pitch with the help of a few (supplied) wooden blocks. There was another Eriba on site and numerous VW campers so we immediately felt at home. We loved the overall look and feel of the site and took good advantage of Trotters canalside bar. We soon settled down for a very enjoyable evening on the outdoor sofas with a blazing firepit. We started the next day with a superb full English at the canalside cafe and later walked along the canal to a nearby pub. My wife absolutely loves pigs and we all enjoyed watching them. The free-roaming chickens provided lovely fried eggs too. The farm shop has home-reared produce and the sauces and pickles were delicious. Living in west London, the Pig Place provides the perfect antidote to modern life. We will definitely return soon and loved everything about it. Thanks you!
Jun 14, 2019 by Kam Rai Verified Review
★★★★☆

Fantastic relaxed campsite

This was a last minute booking for us for the 1 night. We stayed on Good Friday and it was not full but pleasantly alive with friendly campers and staff. The animals were all so cute and great to watch around feeding time. I was surprised there was no ‘farm’ smell in the campsite. Best thing was the sofas and horse trailer bar which was open until 11pm with a chimeny fire keeping us warm. The portaloos were clean and tidy as were the sinks for cleaning dinner plates etc. The farm shop is also open until 9pm with a basic camping needs as well as fresh produce from the farm and local beers and wine from the area. It does not have a shower which was ok for 1 night for us, that’s all we needed. I’d really recommend this campsite for adults wanting to get away from everything and just relax. Best prices too and food for dinner and breakfast were ideal!
Apr 21, 2019 by Cathy Verified Review
★★★★★

The most relaxing weekend

The campsite is relaxed, there isn’t much flat ground but the site is well kept and really tidy. The portaloos and kitchen sink are all clean. The best part of this campsite is the outside sofas, the pig trailer bar and catering cafe. This means that it’s a really social site with a point for everyone to get to know each other or not if you prefer. The shop is cute as and really well stocked with local produce and pork and eggs direct from the site. Loved it. Thank you.
Sep 3, 2018 by paul judge Verified Review
★★★★★

Charming

Thank you. All the staff were very friendly. We loved the pigs, ducks, chickens, dogs and sofas! The food was amazing, Sarah cooked an amazing Balti for us. The drinks van was very well stocked. Love the canal side location, just which we could turn off the sound of the busy road during the night. The lack of sleep was soon forgotten when presented with such a tasty breakfast.
Aug 3, 2018 by Ruth
★★★★★

The pigs and the bar!

We had a wonderful one night stay at the Pig Place and can highly recommend. The food is amazing, the bar area with the sofas is also great to sit and relax while listening to the pigs scuffling about. Really would love to go back for longer next time.
Aug 1, 2018 by Amanda
★★★★★

Wonderfully quirky

Loved the relaxed atmosphere, access to long canal side walks and chilled (romantic) fire pit evenings. If you want to be super lazy, Breakfast can be available and I definitely recommend you try it! We loved it here and the owners are extremely accommodating. One word of warning..... check your tent/camper for stow away chickens, they are extremely bold and friendly !
Aug 1, 2018 by Amanda Williams
★★★★★

Brilliant place to stay!

Two of us stayed here for the weekend and had a brilliant time! The pigs are super cute and can provide lots of entertainment. They are also hire tasty (sorry pigs!) and would recommend getting some of the sausages from the farm shop or for brekkie from the food truck on site. There are chickens and ducks and cats and dogs as well and they were all very friendly and well behaved. The site itself is beautiful and fun. Really loved the old sofas and fire pits by the canal. The bar in the little horse trailer was great as well! I enjoyed the local ale and we also gave the rhubarb gin a try. Delicious! As others have mentioned in reviews, you can hear the low rumble of the motorway but it was hardly a distraction. I will definitely be booking this site again! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Jul 16, 2018 by Emily
★★★★★

Animals, canal views and breakfasts on site!

A fantastically unusual campsite, small and cosy with lots of friendly animals around the place. As a canal boat owner it was lovely to sit and have a beer on the bank (for a change!) from one of the many canal facing sofas from the horse box bar in the evening, before heading for the tent, and in the morning have breakfast in the sun! Lovely stay, really would recommend it, great place to stay for a special occasion too.
Jul 15, 2018 by BecNick
★★★★★

Quirky, rough and ready luxury (I know, that's odd... but this place is, in a lovely way)

I've been intrigued by this place for a little while, and just needed an excuse to be I the area. How could you not be attracted by a canal-side location, with rare breed pigs and poultry, a farm shop, breakfast wagon, bar and hot tub? The Pig Place offered even more than we expected. There's a few vintage vehicles on site, including the lovely 1960s Austin van they use day-to-day (think Wallace and Grommit). And a beautiful view across the canal. The wet spring has meant they're having to be a bit careful where to park up vans, and the ancient ridge and furrow land means you need to think carefully about where to pitch (and use levelling ramps if you've got them). Wherever you pitch, the pig pens will probably be in sight, and the piglets are adorable. It was a beautifully sunny evening, so the lure of the outdoor sofas and horse-trailer bar was too much to resist. The prices are very reasonable and the range of drinks is impressive, wherever possible sourced locally (including beers, cider and gin). Had we visited in a larger group, I'm sure we would have made use of a fire pit near the sofas too, and really made a night of it (gloriously child-free, unlike most pubs).The owners are very friendIy too. I can't lie, you can hear the rumble of the M40 and passing intercity train while sitting out by the canal bank, but the local birds do their very best to drown them out. I certainly wasn't aware of the traffic noise once I turned in for the night. We are generally very self reliant camper-vanners, but this was an excuse to have a morning away from the frying pan and let someone else cook up a full English for us! The only flaw in the plan was that there was a large (but very respectful and quiet) group on site ... and they beat us to placing breakfast orders. The breakfast took almost an hour to get (as they seem to be limited by cooking space and the time it takes to cook their lovely sausages), and we were warned that there was a backlog! Thankfully, we had time to sit around and soak up the sunshine and birdsong. The breakfast was worth the wait - don't cut corners and order a butty, go for the full fry. It's very generous - two sausages, two bacon rashers, two eggs, two rounds of buttered toast, mushrooms and a choice of tomato or beans. Oh, and if you like a bit of spice, add Oxford sauce instead of brown! If you liked the breakfast offering, there's obviously lots more piggy products in the farmshop, and there's food on offer in the evenings too, but that'll have to wait for another visit to try. Yes, the facilities are a bit basic, but they tell you that before you book, and the price takes that into account. As the site is not on the mains (for water or waste) there's no shower and the three loos are festival style to preserve the borehole water that they triple filter to ensure it's drinkable. The loos have sensor controlled lights for late night visits, and there's big outdoor sinks for washing up... plus an electric kettle and microwave for campers - fabulous for those in tents - more should do this. We didn't do The Pig Place justice by stopping by for a single night... so a full weekend will be planned in the future!
May 7, 2018 by Custard
★★★★★

Motorcycle Friendly relaxed campsite

We spent a couple of nights at The Pig Place and it was fabulous. From the minute we rode our motorcycles into the site we felt very welcome. The views were picturesque and the surroundings were beautiful. The pigs were very friendly and allowed us to stroke them.... As did all of the other farm animals. A very relaxing stay and one with nature. The toilet was extremely clean throughout our stay and our needs were constantly met with a farm shop on site and a cooked breakfast available on request.. Do try the sausages, bacon and duck eggs which are all from the farm as they were lush. We will definitely consider returning to The Pig Place in the future. Thanks again. 

Aug 3, 2015 by bikercouple

Why book with Cool Camping?

  • Coronavirus Booking Guarantee
  • Best Price Guarantee, with no fees
  • Instant booking confirmation
  • Trusted for over 10 years
  • A chance to win prizes in our regular competitions

Related Guides

See Campsites in Banbury

Book campsites near The Pig Place Campsite