Book campsites near Embers Camping Beaulieu

This site is now closed

Embers Camping Beaulieu Embers Camping

UK England South East England Hampshire Beaulieu

  • Children’s playground
  • Campfires allowed
  • Groups welcome
  • Short walk to pub
  • Beaches nearby
  • Good walks nearby
Picturesque and refreshingly back-to-basics New Forest camping

Embers Beaulieu (along with sister site Embers Bentley) is one for the purists. Spacious pitches, no electrical hookups and a strict tents-only policy are accompanied by a blissfully liberal attitude to campfires (they’re positively encouraged, in case you didn’t guess from the name). All in all, this no frills campsite offers a fantastic central springboard for exploring the New Forest.

Now recently situated on Hazel Copse Farm, Embers is just a short stroll from Beaulieu itself. With this chocolate-box village awaiting just beyond your tent flaps, you’ll be surprised by just how many attractions are within walking distance. The magnificent Beaulieu Abbey, National Motor Museum and picturesque river all make for a pleasant excursion, while the footpaths and bike trails that criss-cross The New Forest couldn’t be closer. Hop in the car for the sandy beaches of Bournemouth or enjoy the flora and fauna of the North Solent nature reserve, where estuary salt marshes attract diverse wildlife.

Picturesque and refreshingly back-to-basics, Embers Beaulieu is the ideal setting for reconnecting with nature amidst the ever enchanting New Forest.

This site is now closed



Around 25 pitches, each with their own campfire. no electrical hook-ups. Hot showers (in portable cabins), loos, 2 washing up basins are provided free on site.

Suitable For

Tent campers, groups – yes. Caravans/campervans/motorhomes, dogs – no.


The New Forest has plenty of trails and tracks to explore on either two wheels or two feet. Beaulieu village is an attraction in itself. The National Motor Museum (01590 612 345) is a short stroll away. You'll find a dizzying array of vintage and classic sports cars. Beaulieu Abbey and Palace House (01590 612345) boast beautiful gardens and ornate antiques and treasures within. The picturesque Georgian hamlet of Bucklers Hard is a 2.5 mile walk down the river. Here you'll find the fascinating Maritime Museum, the site of which many of Nelson's trafalgar fleet were built. Don't forget to visit the apple orchard, home of the famous Beaulieu Apple Juice. The sandy beaches of Bournemouth are also just a short drive away.

Food & Drink

The onsite shop caters to all your basics such as milk, bread, and other local produce such as bacon and sausages, plus eggs from the farm's own hens. The Turfcutters Arms (01590 612331) is a friendly New Forest pub with sprawling beer garden. They also do takeaway fish & chips every evening for only £5.75!  A leisurely riverside stroll takes you to Monty's Inn (01590 614986) where you'll find a decent variety of local ales. For a truly refined dining experience, the adjoining Montagu Arms Hotel (01590 612324) is a gorgeous 17th century coaching inn with Michelin starred restaurant.

This site is now closed


Add Your Review

Rated ★★★★☆ over 8 reviews


Relaxing stay

Lovely site, with friendly & helpful staff. Clean facilities. Wood fired pizza evenings an optional bonus. Lovely signposted walk through fields to village (but no proper village pub sadly). Quiet as site is small. Fire pits and spacious pitches.
Aug 30, 2016 by Fee

Disappointed - barren field beside a main road

Just back from 2 nights at Embers Beaulieu and we were very disappointed. It is basically an empty field beside a busy road; we were woken by traffic at midnight, 3am, etc. There are no trees, so it is very exposed to the weather and apart from running around there is nothing for the kids to do. It is supposed to be on a farm, but there were no animals; we could have paid to go to a farm nearby for animal feeding but it would have been £30 for our two kids which is exorbitant. On the upside the staff are lovely, the showers and loos are good, there is a wood fired pizza oven and the fire pits are good. There is a separate shop by the entrance called Beaulieu organic farm shop which had beautiful meats, cheeses, condiments and desserts, but very unfriendly staff. We will not go back and would not recommend Embers Beaulieu to friends.
Aug 21, 2016 by Fionapm

Response from Embers Camping Beaulieu

Dear Fiona,Thanks for your review.  We are near a road, but don't have complaints from other customers that they are woken up by traffic in the middle of the night.  We do have bales of hay and open spaces for children to play games and there is an abundance of things to do in the local area from a river trail from the campsite along Beaulieu River, kayaking, to boat trips all within walking distance.  The farm animals are grazing in other fields currently and apologise about the staff at the Organic Farm Shop.


Underwhelmed and disappointed

Even at the discounted price of £42 a night for a family of four this is way overpriced. They have recently moved from their old site on the other side of Beaulieu to this new site and it really lacks the magical atmosphere promised on their website. Yes they offer firepits... but insist you buy their own fire wood at inflated prices! The camping field itself is exposed and featureless - very little effort has been made to make it feel special... and there is certainly no ssense of being in the New Forest. It advetises itself as being on a working farm - it is, but there are no animals to be seen and no opportunity to participate in farm activities. The facilities are basic and a walk down a farm track (used by cars and tractors ) from the main field. My advice - stay away and try one of the forest sites such as Roundhill - a much more reasonable £30 a night.
Aug 9, 2016 by Chester camper


From the reviews we read we were so excited to come to embers however be aware that not all the facilities are available to use if they have people in the lodges..I.e not allowed to use the play ground (told only when we booked in), and our farm tour being cancelled at the time it was due to start - they did manage to get some of us on the next morning but we had waited at the camp to do it that day + had very disappointed children. Toilets are away from camp and down a steep slope not great keep trapsing down with young kids...should say on website as not great for one of our party with mobility difficulties.

Not enough toilets...only 3 cubicles in women's...when cleaning they closed all the toilets except one disabled toilet - which was in use for a long time. Asked cleaner if kids (6+3)  could please use normal toilet as they were desperate she was very polite and said yes but on leaving the toilets another cleaning was rude and abusive because we used the toilet! Complained to campsite and advised they were sorry but it's not their staff so couldn't do anything about it!

On a positive note the site was safe and secure, plenty of space for kids to play (handy seeing as couldn't use the playground!). Very pretty at night with all camp fires burning. The farm tour (eventually) was great as was the extra national park activity - gardening in their farm garden and making + cooking pizza in stone oven.

Overall very expensive for what you get. Very disappointing that you don't get everything they say on the website. Go some where cheaper and hire a fire pit!

Sep 9, 2015 by Claire

Response from Embers Camping Beaulieu

Dear Claire – there are a few valid reasons why the animal feeding and adventure playground was difficult to attend or off limits during your stay; apologies for this but it was out of our control. A Brownie Group booked in for that week (they only book one/two weekends during the year), and due to the relationship they have with the landowners, they have priority over the adventure playground and the animal feeding. We were only told the week before, so we could not give our customers ample warning but we did manage get book a few families in. The cleaning staff are new, but they are unfortunately they are contracted and paid by the landlord.  We can only give feedback, which we have done, and it’s been actioned upon. In addition, a new cleaner has specially been contracted by Embers Camping to help cleaning to provide an efficient service. There are sufficient loos on site – in all the years we have not had a complaint on the number of loo’s. There are 4 loo’s available for females in total which is more than sufficient for 25 pitches. The prices we charge are high season prices, which does compare favourably with other campsites and we do offer more such as your own cooking facilities and fire-pit. We also don’t charge extra for gazebo’s, parking, friends visiting or any other extras. Our charges are an all in price.



We recently spent a glorious week here in the sunshine. The fire pit makes for a great evening meal and atmosphere at night. Kids loved the farm and were hardly seen once they discovered the animals. Great service and helpful and friendly folk. 

Don't want to praise it too much as it's a real gem and popularity would ruin it!!!

Aug 18, 2014 by sam

Fantastic family fun

This was our first family camping experience with our 3 year old son. It's a great place for kids. It has the important things like hot showers and clean facilities. Each pitch has a fire pit, just remember to take your own grill if you want to cook food. Huge bags of fire wood can be bought from the farm shop (or ordered when booking) for £5. There is also an adventure playground and a lovely farm on site. Book in to 'feed the farm animals', it's a great experience for little ones who get to milk a goat and collect eggs. My favourites were the little piglets. The people who run the place are great and even patched up my finger when I was silly enough to injure myself. I'm sure we will be back again.

Apr 21, 2014 by Sorrelina

Campfire magic

The website is pretty slick. It not only promised us 'campfire magic' but also had a very easy to use booking system. So that was that 3 nights booked in a few clicks, courtesy of my long suffering credit card. And at £20/adult/night and £5/child/night it wasn't especially cheap - £150 all up.  By contrast, Eweleaze is £7.50/adult.

So what do you get for that?

For starters you get a call to your mobile on the Friday night to check that you're on your way and that you will be arriving. Well that's what we got anyway. Of course this may well be simply for the site's benefit to make sure that they have no empty pitches - but it made me feel like we mattered to them. Quite a difference to most campsites I think.

On arrival Zoie (? I think that's how she spelt her name), walked us up to the pitch - again a nice touch. The site is in a small orchard on the edge of a large field. It's not huge - 30 tent pitches in all and really quite close together, in slightly unimaginative rows. Each has a fixed fire pit, complete with a pot stand and cover. The ground is pretty flat and there was enough space to pitch even our huge tent. Also, because its next to a wood, it's quite sheltered from the wind.

When it comes to wood at campsites my general experience is that a bag is nearly always a fiver. What is always different is the size of the bag - with those irritating mesh sacks the worst value - rarely containing more that 5 logs. The bags at Embers are Morrisons bag for life shopping bags. And as well as being pretty large they also include a decent amount of kindling - so I thought it was fair value.

Cars had to be parked back down near the office after unloading, which was fine for us. Although the kids are much older now, I still don't like cars around campsites. So the only the chance of being knocked down was by one the carts provided for loading and unloading being used for racing purposes! Given the number of kids, this was not an unimaginable hazard. There's also a big flat open field perfect for frisbee, footie and kites etc. 

The toilets, showers and washing up room are about 300 metres away. There are only 6 showers and 2 washing up basins, but to be fair I can't recall there being any queues. Everything was cleaned regularly. Importantly, there is a fresh water tap near the tents - so at least there was no need to lug jerry cans of water any distance.  
The shop/office/reception down by the shower has all the usual leaflets etc as well as a small selection of essentials.

So, will I go back to Embers? Possibly. It is pricey, but it's also small, friendly and has a great location - both itself and the surrounding area. Was there any campfire magic? Well yes there was. Apart from a bit of rain on the Friday night, the weather was pretty good and perfect for sitting around the fire. We cooked nearly everything on the fire: from the baked potatoes to the corn and the roast beast. 

Sep 30, 2013 by Jim P

Happy Campers

We have been ruined for future camping. Our first ever camping trip with our children (8, 6, twins 3) went amazingly well. Massive pitches, fire pits for real fires, farm animals and clean facilities.  Run by a really friendly team, with actually 30, not 40 pitches as stated. Real family feel to the site. I had no qualms about the children running off to explore their surroundings and making new friends. We WILL return. 

Aug 19, 2013 by jenilyb

Related Guides

See Campsites in Beaulieu

See Campsites in the New Forest

See Campervan Hire in the New Forest

See Campfire-friendly campsites in the New Forest

See Dog-friendly campsites in the New Forest

See Family campsites in the New Forest

See Glamping in the New Forest