Holiday destinations menu for Cool Camping
Search for holidays on Cool Camping
Family tent camping on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales and a stone's throw from famous Bolton Abbey

A stroll up the road from ruined Bolton Abbey, Catgill Campsite is a gloriously green, rolling meadow space that perfectly mixes the old with the new. Less than a mile along the Wharfe Valley from the 19th-century structure, the campsite snuggles among the grass with little flare or audacity, complete with modern ablutions but otherwise very much a rustic farm affair – expect the odd lump and bump in the field. Campfire smoke wafts through the air with the same lazy ease as the river that runs through the valley and children run in the open space beyond the tents. It’s a proper family camping scene.

In total there are around 50 grassy pitches, with the slopes of the meadow causing tents to bunch together in flat groups, while children capitalise on the open spaces to play. Each spot offers spectacular views across this open landscape, dotted with sheep and criss-crossed by dry stone walls. A newly built sanitary block sits in the farmyard area, a short stroll away, and there's a tiny shop selling essentials in the farmhouse porch. Though plans for a playground are also afoot, most kids love tracing the small stream that trickles through the field to the River Wharfe. It heads via the ruins of the abbey or, to be correct, Bolton Priory, the real name of the ruined Augustinian monastery founded in 1154.

After stopping amid the stone walls to admire the Gothic architecture or attend one of the services (which still run to this day), you can wander down to the riverside picnic area or beyond to Bolton Abbey village. This delightful little settlement is well tucked away amongst the greens and browns of the landscape and boasts a couple of restaurants and tea rooms despite its modest size. While it's a worthy place to enjoy some traditional grub, children and adults alike should continue to the village railway station. This preserved, volunteer-run line plays host to some magnificent steam trains, including everyone's favourite, Thomas the Tank Engine.

For most, however, the draw of this campsite is its doorstep access to miles upon miles of all-weather walking routes. The tents-only policy makes it perfect for those on the hoof looking for fellow back-packers, or cyclists on the quiet country lanes hoping to avoid the caravan crowd and, if the local paths aren’t enough for you, a short trip north will take you smack bang into the middle of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, renowned for its outstanding scenery and diverse wildlife. Don’t scamper off into the hills too quickly though. The real gateway to the Dales is via the lively market town of Skipton, home to a castle dating back to 1090 and Yorkshire’s finest fish & chips at Bizzie Lizzies! It seems with so much to do, you could be at Catgill for several weeks!

Best Price Guarantee when you book with Cool Camping

The Owner Says

We are a small family run campsite in an idyllic location with spectacular views across the Wharfe valley. Offering a unique overnight experience on the Chatsworth Estate in the heart of Bolton Abbey within easy reach of local amenities and picturesque towns and villages. Offering a central location with plenty to do for all ages and in any weather. The campsite, close to Bolton Abbey, is the perfect base from which to explore the Yorkshire Dales National Park. A fantastic site for either an action packed family holiday or a tranquil relaxing break.
Minimum 3 night-stay on Bank Holiday and 2 night stay on High Season (July 1st – September 1st).


Add Your Review

Fab family site

We stayed for a couple of nights on our family road trip - we didn’t want to leave! Stunning views from our pitch, lovely, clean facilities and fresh croissants and pain au chocolat for breakfast! Look forward to staying for longer on our next visit!
Aug 10, 2018 by Vicki

Fantastic family camp

This campsite is in beautiful surroundings,my kids really enjoyed playing in the little stream.
Aug 3, 2018 by Helen

What a beautiful place to stay

Staff friendly pleasant place to stay would recommend thanks again
Jul 18, 2018 by Jason

Fantastic little family campsite

What a lovely weekend we had, lovely clean and friendly campsite. Great location, close to Bolton Abbey for swimming in the Wharfe and a couple of tea rooms and cafes serving good food. Small on site shop, good clean toilets and showers. Only negative ( and it's really minor) is the fridges were really packed and not that cold.
Jul 9, 2018 by Jackie

Quiet and peaceful in glorious Dales scenery. Nice and agricultural. Excellent facilities. Very friendly staff.

Jul 5, 2018 by Judith

Beautiful spot

Lovely campsite, facilities are very clean, just not enough showers. The staff are friendly and the views are amazing! 15 min walk to Bolton Abbey too. The pitches aren’t marked which some may enjoy but as the tent next to us left on out second night we were in the middle of the cricket/football pitch which was fine until drunk dads started hammering footballs against our tent. Overall a fantastic site but get there early to get the best spots around the edge of the site.
Jul 3, 2018 by Sally

Relaxed and friendly site

Just had a fabulous weekend at Catgill. Arrived early on Friday to pitch, which I would recommend as pitches are not marked, so it is a free-for-all. You can stay until midnight on the day you leave, so it is nice to not have to rush to pack up on going-home day. The owners and staff were all really friendly, We especially loved the coffee shop which was very popular!
Jul 3, 2018 by Zoe Hollis

Lovely location, beautiful campsite

We and three groups of friends with young kids had a lovely weekend here. Beautiful medium sized site (two big fields). Lots of families, quiet by 10.30 (we gave up on the idea of normal bedtime and let our little one stay up late). Good toilet/shower/washing up facilities, quite new. Small shop incl cold drinks fridge. We brought our own fire pit or you could hire them. They also had stands for disposable bbqs that you could borrow. Nice 20min walk to Bolton abbey. Lots to do nearby with young kids (in the abbey grounds (river and welly walk) and also Hesketh farm park 2 mins from campsite).
Jul 2, 2018 by Alice

Bringing back my childhood

As a child I never went abroad we would always come camping to the Yorkshire dales and when the sun was out we would always spend the day at Bolton abbey and burnsall... So you can imagine my excitement when the weather looked beautiful for the week and I found a last minute hidden gem in my favourite place. As soon as we arrived to check in the gentlemen made me feel as if we were old friends... And that we had been time and time again.... We had a lovely little chat and then he proceeded to tell me all about the fanastic facilities you have and then just to go and camp where we want... Which again was a strange one for us as all the campsites we have been to, you don't get a choice in the matter. We found a lovely secluded little spot by the stream and under the tree.. We set up camp for the night.... We had a lovely drive into ilkley...(a gorgeous town) and had a lovely walk along the river wharfe (again brings back so many memories of them all jumping of the bridge) we then proceeded back to the campsite and watched the sunset and laid under the stars in peace and quiet...(no noise after 10.30) we woke up the day next I would like to say lovely and refreshed but our blow up bed seemed to have a leak so woke on the floor. That only added to the camping experience.We then took a lovely 20mins stroll to Bolton abbey and spent the morning exploring there and going over the stepping stones that I never dared to as a child. (Still scared abit now tbh) we then walked back up to catgill and sadly had to pack our belonging away and go back to the life of work.... Overall it was only two days and a night but it left a lasting impression... We will 100% be back and for longer next time. It helped me relive my childhood if only for a short time! Lastly I have to say the facilities are the cleanness we have seen!!! Keep up the amazing work!!!!
Jul 1, 2018 by Laura

A great amount of space for all to set up

This site is positioned so well for activities for kids and adults alike and we could have stayed much longer with so much to entertain us so close by. Facilities are more than we ever require from a campsite even my wife would have been happy:)
Jun 26, 2018 by chris

Very relaxed

Very relaxed, great helpful staff, clean, convenient, great location/views.
Jun 25, 2018 by Hill

Location, friendly, clean

Fabulous site. Great location - you can walk to Bolton abbey avoiding the parking fees. Very friendly staff and fabulous hot clean showers. Staff politely remind you to be quiet after 22:30. Coffee and fresh croissants in the morning available and the fire pits, although over priced, are great.
Jun 19, 2018 by Campingaddict

Quiet countryside campsite

The washing facilities were clean and even included a hairdryer. Coffee and croissants are available in the mornings and fire pits can be hired. The site was spacious but did slope a bit. The views are wonderful. Camping doesn’t get much better than this. I will be returning.
Jun 19, 2018 by Ruth

Great on-site facilities, lovely views

Things we liked about the site: - friendly staff - good toilets / washing facilities - coffee shop with croissants was a nice treat - views across the valley were beautiful - great location for walks and trail runs from the site Reservations: - Quite hilly in parts so hard to find a flat spec when busy - no proper pub within walking distance (there’s the Devonshire Arms Hotel but that’s not the kind of place you go for a couple of pints) Advice: - take insect repellent - Admittedly it was peak midge season but they were ferocious and came mob-handed!
Jun 5, 2018 by MikeD64

Great views, lovely clean facilities, helpful staff.

I stayed with my 2 children for 2 nights. It was our 1st time camping! The site is lovely and clean and everyone was so friendly. Was a bit nervous about no EHU but it was fine. We stayed in top field which was furthest from amenities but had lots of space for the children to play together. Will definately be staying again x
Jun 1, 2018 by EmmaP

Fantastic views, family friendly and lovely owners

Brilliant site for families, our 3 year old loved it! Stunning views, lovely people :)
Jun 1, 2018 by Julia

Excellent campsite

Stayed from 25th to 28th May with son and grandsons for annual 'boys camping weekend'. Best site I have been on: beautiful surroundings, plenty of well maintained space, excellent toilet/shower and kitchen facilities, very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely recommend to other family members.
May 30, 2018 by Jonathan

Beautiful Views & Facilities

We've stayed at this site 4 times over the last 2 years and it just gets better and better! The site is well maintained and each time we go we can see improvements. The Coffee shop has been a fantastic addition this time, serving fresh coffee and croissants each morning. The staff are always lovely and helpful and you can see that they all take great pride in where they work. The toilets, showers and washing up facilities are always clean and are of an excellent standard. A 10-15 minute walk to Bolton Abbey and the cafe.
May 30, 2018 by Katie

Beautiful views, great facilities.

Stayed one night, first time camping in 30 years. Great facilities, kitchen with fridge and freezer! Also kettle and microwave if needed. Bathrooms immaculate. We pitched up near top of field near to facilities. There were only two other tents pitched on a Wednesday so very peaceful. Very friendly welcome & Wardens were very friendly and helpful. Lovely walk at Bolton Abbey and a trip into Skipton to get all your supplies, lovely butcher for amazing meats for your bbq. Enjoyed seeing all the calves and listening to the many birds.
May 25, 2018 by Carol Fox

Location and facilities

Excellent site in a convenient location close to Bolton Abbey. Site had some of the cleanest shower and wash facilities and nice little coffee shop. Pitches were very good and plenty of space so that you are not on top of one another. Only downside if this is one is that the showers shut off after 20seconds, so timer could do with adjusting, other than this I will definately be returning
May 22, 2018 by Gordon Mc

Brilliant weekend

I’m not one for writting reviews but as our stay was so good thought I would. From a warm welcome to clean facilities, coffee and warm croissants in the morning and a very friendly atmosphere. Excellent
May 21, 2018 by Tracey

Phenomenal views!

I went as a couple for a nice walking/active weekend away. We both thoroughly enjoyed the stay, it is very central to shops, amenities and some great walks. The washroom and toilet facilities were well kept and clean, hot running water was a massive bonus! The gentleman that checked us in was lovely and had a stock of various items you may need when someone, no one in particular, brings a disposable BBQ that unfortunately wouldn't light. Easy to access, highly recommend!
May 14, 2018 by Hayley

Perfect long weekend

First time camping with my friend and also at catgill. We went 23/09/17 to 25/09/17 and it was perfect. Thought with it not been school holidays it would be perfect time to go and it was! Not too busy at all it was great. And sunday night there was only 3 other tents in are field as most people only came till sunday. They had two fields to choose from we went for smaller one behind the farm buildings and the best thing was you could just drive in and pick a place you want and set up, no hassle, no order and no camping right next to others it was great.we choose the corner at the top, great views and not too far from toilet block. Got a fab warm and funny welcoming from ken on arrival, absolute heart of gold owner who made us laugh with his humour everytime we bumped into him, amazing gentleman made us feel welcome from word go. They had an area to wash up, which also had a kettle/microwave and a fridge freezer you can use at any time. The toilet block was very spacious and clean and they had plug sockets in that came in handy to charge are phones and my friend could use her straighteners. I would definitely visit again as its great value for money and a great location and the family who own it are so lovely and welcoming. Thank you again for a perfect weekend, and hopefully see you again next year 😊
Sep 25, 2017 by Chloe


Had a great one night stay 23/9/17. First camping trip with our new dog so wanted a dog friendly site with access to good walks, Catgill fitted the bill and didn't dissapoint. Very clean communal areas, access to kettle, microwave, fridge and freezer, unusual to get these all included in camp fee. When looking at reviews saw that some people had issues with not being allotted specific areas to camp, I prefer a less regimented site and loved you could choose your own pitch and weren't in rows like some sites. Very friendly reception and brilliant value for money, only £20 for myself and husband got one night, no charge for our dog, which once again not the norm. Despite being late in season it was pretty busy so shows its popularity and we will definitely go again.
Sep 25, 2017 by Carole

Excellent campsite :)

We went on our first family camping trip at the weekend and it was absolutely brilliant! From the arrival and meeting Ken, it had such a friendly atmosphere and he was very helpful. The facilities are brill, i was expecting to spend the night slumming it, as I haven't camped before but the showers and cleaning facilities were clean and great. The communal kitchen was fab with a kettle, microwave, fridge/freezer and sinks for cleaning up.The views were stunning, even with the clouds. The area and walks are just so lovely. All in all, a fab first camping trip and we will definitely be back :)
Sep 25, 2017 by Jo Cox


This site sounds really lovely on Cool Camping...gloriously green meadow space...30 grassy pitches...unfortunately that is not the reality we experienced. The campsite is a sloping field on a farm - there are very few level areas for pitching tents. The owners do not seem to have any limit on the number of tents they accept. We stayed for 4 nights in August and the site varied from about 50 to 80 tents. People can pitch wherever they like - which in principle is fine - however, when you accept too many tents for the size of field, this leads to overcrowding and tents being pitched very close. One one night the tent next to us was so close that our guy ropes were overlapping! There is a second field which appears to only be used at the weekends - so if you go at weekends you can expect even more campers! In the interests of balance the facilities were good. Hot showers, plenty of sinks for washing up. If the site had accepted fewer tents it would have been lovely.
Aug 21, 2017 by dock

Brilliant campsite and great owners - One not to miss

Stayed at Catgill in June with my family and we all had a great time. I dont usually write reviews but felt the need to tell people how good this place is. From the minute you arrive you get the feeling that the place is really chilled out. The reception is in the farm house and the old man who checked us in is a real character who could not help us enough. Pitches are not set out and you can go wherever you like which we loved as so many sites tell you where you have to pitch these days. There is loads of room for kids to play and although there isnt a playground we hardly saw them all weekend as they were having fun playing in the stream and woodland. The site felt really safe and the views were amazing. The campsite is 10 minutes walk from Bolton Abbey and there is so much to do in the area. We didn't have time to do it all and will definitely be returning. The toilet and shower block was spotless and really well fit out. The kitchen area has washup sinks, fridge freezers, microwave and kettle which are all free to use. There is a new coffee shop selling fresh coffee and warm croissants in the mornings which is great if you cant be bothered to make your own! Thanks to the owners for sharing this beautiful campsite with us and see you again soon. The James family
Jul 14, 2017 by Ruth_J

Great site

Great spot, really close to Bolton Abbey. Facilities were clean, well maintained and the staff were really helpful. The little coffee hut was a really nice addition. Will definitely visit again!
Apr 18, 2017 by lliohaf1

Early July

Visited in early July and really loved this site. A proper farm campsite which is the sort of place I love but still has new facilities that are really well looked after. The camping meadow isn't completely flat, but there are plenty of areas that are and that's where most people pitch. All tents too, when I was there. This is not a big caravan site. Yay! Bolton Abbey village is lovely. Lots of walking nearby too. Get an OS map of the Yorkshire Dales and your sorted!
Aug 2, 2016 by James Smith


Just returned from a wonderful few days camping at this great site. The facilities were spotless whatever time we used them and the family who run it couldn't be more helpful. There is a small shop with useful items and the firepit was a boon as it did get cooler at night. The views are to die for and the peace and quiet amazing. Can you tell we had a good time? Highly recommended!
Jul 13, 2016 by Mel

Not quite what was expected

We stayed at Catgill at the beginning of June and chose the site on the basis of the Cool Camping listing, which talks about 30-50 pitches and it being a walker's haven.  The reality was over 100 tents across two fields, the majority occupied by families with young children.  The site itself reflects the review - clean modern facilities, great views, friendly owners, firepit loan - but the sheer numbers mean this is a very noisy, squashed in, cramped and busy space and there was a lot of pressure on the facilities.  If you are looking for quiet and peaceful, it may be worth checking with the owners how many are expected when you'll be there.  Or alternatively, if you've a young family, you may find it ideal.  As part of a couple looking for a chilled out walking break in the beautiful Dales, it really wasn't what we were hoping for.

Jun 13, 2016 by Susan_J

Response from Catgill Campsite

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our site, we are sorry that you were disappointed by your stay at Catgill. The site is very popular with families and couples alike so can quite busy during school holidays as there is so much to do in the local area for families with children. We try to create a balance by controlling the number of tents we allow whilst trying not to disappoint anyone who wants to stay with us. In contrast the site is usually very peaceful during term time especially during the week. We hope you will return to give us another try and take advantage of our fabulous local walks and our beautiful countryside.


Good site poorly managed

Went for a 3 day break with my son, told upon arrival I could pitch up anywhere. The camping field is on a slope with the main level area at the bottom of the field (opposite end to the facilities which were clean and tidy). First night was ok, second day/night more campers arrived and the bottom of the field became congested, some campers were very noisy, playing football around tents and hitting some cars and drinking alcohol. Partying and arguing went on until after midnight, with some children in adjacent tent laughing and giggling until 11.30pm. A vehicle drove across the field behind our tent at 1.00am. We were awoken again at 04.30 am by the children in the next tent. We packed up 1 day early and left for home to peace and quiet. All of this was against a backdrop of 3 large noisy tractors in the adjacent field gathering hay and creating dust until 10pm. The site is accessible down a single track road about half a mile long with passing places, this lane was also used by these tractors to offload their hay as quickly as possible. The site rules are on a board at right at the entrance gate which no one stops to read or follow. The site owner says he gives everyone a yellow card upon arrival with the rules which should be displayed in the vehicle windscreen. We were not given anything when we checked in neither did we see any vehicle with yellow cards, he also said we were lucky that the tractors stopped at 10pm as some farmers carry on through the night. We offered a complimentary stay as compensation for the trouble caused, I declined.

Jun 12, 2016 by Expertadvice

Response from Catgill Campsite

We are very sorry to hear that you have not had a good experience at Catgill, we aim to provide a relaxed atmosphere and we have put a lot of thought into our rules and regulations. A yellow card should be given to every camper upon arrival to display in their windscreen and we encourage our guests to read the rules on the back. We check the site at regular intervals during busy periods to make sure guests pitch their tents sensibly and we regulate the number of tents we allow. We also patrol the site at night during the quiet time to address any excessive noise and to remind people to be considerate. Catgill is situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales and the stunning location and outstanding views are all part of that rural setting. We are surrounded by working farms and our local farmers have to work extremely hard. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by the adjacent farmer but we hope that you will appreciate that there is usually a limited window for collecting and baling hay due to our unpredictable weather conditions. Our offer of a complementary stay remains and we hope you will come and give us another try.


Overcrowded and slopey

We recently stayed at Catgill and found it to be far too busy. It is advertised on this and other sites as having 30 pitches...the weekend we were there there were over 120 tents all crammed into two fields that simply aren't big enough.  This left no room for children to play safely and the campers had to speak to each other to ensure cars could get off site safely as there is no marked track.  I would guess there are about 30 flat pitches, all the others are on such big slopes that you slide down the tent in your sleep.  The grass is also very rough in some areas with the roots of small shrubs sticking out which led to splinters. Due to the number of people, there were almost constant queues for the showers, toilets and washing up area and they ran out of hot water for most of Sunday morning.  Camping here felt like being at a busy music festival - fine if that's what you are expecting, but not if you are used to camping in sites where a sensible capacity is set and adhered to.

Such a shame as this could be a lovely site - the views are great, the facilities are new and were kept spotlessly clean despite the volume of people and Bolton abbey is wonderful.  

Comment from the campsite owner:

Dear Catz,

Thanks for your review. Catgill is a relatively new site and we have been overwhelmed by its popularity. We tried to accommodate everyone over the bank holiday weekend but we agree with you the site was too busy. Although we have a relatively large number of flat pitches there are some on a slight slope, however, in our experience people often prefer the slightly sloping pitches to the 
flat ones. We do not allocate pitches because we usually find that campers like to choose their own although we do ask that people pitch and park considerately. 
We monitor the site regularly to check that exit routes are clear and that everyone can get in and out safely. We have a fantastic area at the bottom of the site where there is a small stream surrounded by trees providing a natural and safe environment where children can play. Our staff were on site all weekend and spent a considerable time talking to guests ensuring they were happy and having a good time. We are aware that there was a short time on Sunday morning when the showers ran out of hot water due to a technical fault with the new upgraded water system. Although we have decided to decrease the capacity next year most people had a fabulous time and many came to thank us for a great weekend, as you say the showers are new and were kept spotless, the views are breath-taking and Bolton Abbey is amazing.

Sep 2, 2015 by Catz

Peaceful campsite

We have just returned from a long weekend at Catgill- what a fantastic location. The campsite is family friendly, and the views are amazing. The facilities are well maintained, and clean. There are some great village pubs nearby, and The Fleece at Addingham is fantastic- thanks for the recommendation Oliver! We took our dog with us, and this was no problem.

Aug 5, 2014 by SophieJK

wet weekend

Found the site to have the air of welcome, facilities were kept clean and tidy, fellow campers were pleasant and considerate, impressed as to the design and lay out, the location was perfect....  then the sun came out!

Aug 4, 2014 by buttons


Just returned from 2 nights stay at Catgill site. The setting is lovely, with great views, and very good new washing up facilities and toilet blocks. However, none of the facilities were cleaned at all, for the whole of our stay. By the final morning the showers (2 in each block) were quite unpleasant to use, and the washbasins very dirty. This was after only 9 tents on the first night we were there, and 15 on the second night. This weekend according to the owner, there will be 87 tents! This site has a lot going for it but cleanliness is vital. I have seen other reviews regarding lack of cleanliness and the site has only been in operation for a couple of months.

Jul 24, 2014 by Kaz

Response from Catgill Campsite

Kaz, Thank you for posting this review, we are a new site and are still learning so we welcome constructive criticism. We have been overwhelmed by the success of the campsite, which has been more or less fully booked every weekend, in fact many campers have been so impressed that they have already returned. 

We are very sorry you were disappointed with the standard of cleanliness in our shower block; we believe your experience may have been due to additional work being carried out ironically to improve ease of cleanliness! Our facilities have been built to a high standard and designed with ease of cleaning in mind. They are checked on a regular basis and we employ a professional cleaning service in order to maintain the high standards we expect to provide for our campers. 

On arrival we always try to encourage guests to talk about their experiences and to report any problems, as there is always someone on site. If you had come to us during your stay we would have been able to rectify the problem immediately. 

We are confident that our shower block is maintained to a high standard and both comments we have received: to provide a mop and bucket and to check the toilet rolls more often have now been addressed. We intend to keep a much closer eye on the condition of the shower block following your comments and we hope you will be prepared to return to our beautiful site in the future. 


Helpful owners

The owners of this campsite were extremely helpful when I needed to access my emails and sort out some urgent admin. They were so accommodating and let me use their computer - I was so grateful to them.

Tip top customer service. 
Jul 23, 2014 by Auz


We are seasoned campers of 25 yrs plus, this a great site and given its only been open 7 weeks the owner is doing a great job. Lovely shower block, to make it perfect it needs a little attention to detail on cleaning but the owner was happy to take the feedback. Sockets for haidryers /phones etc and plenty of hot water and great showers! Washing up room is light and airy with a fridge freezer for campers, plenty of sinks.

Camping field is large with a slope leading to a level section with no formal pitches so you can set up wherever you like, soft ground for pegs, very relaxed atmosphere in stunning scenery. 

Would recommend highly and will be visiting again this summer

Jul 19, 2014 by Fingerinthewind


Loved this campsite, peaceful relaxing and family orientated.

But... The toilet block could do with being checked on a little more often as twice on different days ,  I went in and there was no loo paper in any of the loos - which I think is pretty bad, there is only 2 showers so expect a bit of a queue on a morning unless you are early birds which we are.

On the whole apart form the shoer block definitely to be recommended , also loved the fire pits too.

Jul 13, 2014 by H


Lovely views, quiet site with good facilites.  Near Hesketh farm, Bolton Abbey and the Yorkshire Dales ice cream farm so great for children. Once checked in we didn't see anyone working there but knew they were there.  We'll definitely be going back. I stayed here with my children (2 and 4) for one night. 

May 28, 2014 by Hazel

Definitely recommended

Campsites are simple things. A field, some toilets and a standpipe at it’s most basic. Some places, however, go the extra steps to make weekends memorable. The latter can be said of Catgill campsite. From the warm welcome on arrival to the arranging the beautiful weather on the day we left, the owners really went out of their way to make our weekend. Joking aside; as seasoned campers, we totally recommend this place. Set in amazing countryside with stunning views from the camping field, this place has everything you’d need for a perfect weekend. The fire pits to hire are a brilliant touch. The environs have loads to offer for all the family, plus some incredible restaurants if you fancied a more sophisticated evening. It’s worth checking out the Farm Shop in Crackoe, which although it a bit of a drive is worth the journey. We’re definitely going back and urge you to try this place too. 

May 27, 2014 by howiemartinez

Win a £100 Blacks Voucher!

If you've stayed at Catgill Campsite campsite, please take a minute to tell us about your experience. Every month, one lucky reviewer will be picked at random to win a £100 voucher, courtesy of our recommended retailer Blacks. Each review counts as one entry, so get writing!

Why book with Cool Camping?

  • Best Price Guarantee, with no fees
  • Instant booking confirmation
  • Trusted for 10 years
  • A chance to win camping goodies in our regular competitions!

Check availability with the Date Search above

Back to Top