Wild Riverside Camping

UK England East Anglia Suffolk Woodbridge

  • 10+ metres between camping pitches
  • Contactless check in
  • Extra toilets/showers
  • Dogs welcome
  • Short walk to pub
  • Beaches nearby
  • Good walks nearby
  • Walking
Back-to-basics camping beside the River Deben with fresh fish and farm produce available

How many campsites can boast so many of Britain’s best natural assets in one place? The sea, the river and the countryside all roll into one at Simper Farm on the Suffolk coast. It’s no surprise, then, that the farming family here create an abundance of produce; asparagus and root vegetables, and also fresh fish landed from the North Sea and oysters and mussels grown in the estuary. There are few more wholesome camping experiences than buying smoked fish, eggs and a veg box straight from the site before settling down at your tent to enjoy dinner as the sun sets over the river.

Wild Riverside Camping does pretty much everything it says on the tin. Down a long lane and through some blackberry bushes (where a new, narrow gateway has been freshly strimmed in), this campsite is totally off the grid and light on facilities. There are portable toilets, a few bins and some big plastic bowzers provide a fresh water supply but there is little else besides. For campers who want a back-to-basics experience and a spacious, riverside setting, though, it’s just the ticket. It takes all of two minutes to walk from your tent to the estuary beach, where you can relax and have a splash in the River Deben or stroll the riverside footpath to the nearby Ramsholt Arms pub, about 20 minutes away.

Given the wild nature of the place, a big part of the attraction here is just getting out and exploring. It’s a great location for launching boats, kayaks and canoes into the Deben and venturing upstream towards Woodbridge (seven miles), while, in late summer, it’s a good spot for foraging, be that salt-water plants further along the estuary or bulging blackberries in the bushes that lead to the campsite. It takes less than half an hour to drive to popular spots like Orford, Aldeburgh and Snape Maltings, where civilisation comes in the form of cute coastal cafés and independent artsy shops but, at the end of the day, you still get to retreat back to your little patch of peaceful wilderness at the campsite. If you don’t mind forgoing a shower for the weekend and prefer to bathe in a river instead then you’ve come to the right place.

Our Best Price Guarantee

We guarantee our prices at Cool Camping are the same, or lower, than booking elsewhere. If not, tell us, and we’ll match it or beat it. Click here to read the full terms

Details

Facilities

Facilities are very basic and there is no mains electricity. The campsite has regularly cleaned portable toilets and portable bowzers provide the freshwater supply. BBQs are permitted (no campfires).

Suitable For

Tents and well-behaved dogs – yes. Campervans, motorhomes and caravans – no.

Nearby

A big part of camping here is about forgetting the car and just enjoying the immediate locale. There’s great walking along the riverside footpath (particularly a short stroll to the pub a mile east of the campsite) and it’s also nice just to relax on the estuary beach, watching boats to and fro. It’s a 15-minute drive to the market town of Woodbridge, while some of the true highlights of the Suffolk coast are all within a half hour drive, including Orford, Snape Maltings and Aldeburgh (all part of the Suffolk Coast & Heaths AONB).

Food & Drink

It’s about a one-mile walk along the riverside to the dog-friendly Ramsholt Arms (01394 411209), an isolated waterside pub that’s popular with walkers, sailors and birders. Food is all locally sourced and, unsurprisingly, there’s a good deal of fish on the menu. Local artwork adorns the walls, along with photographs detailing a local air crew who crashed into the river during World War Two whilst making a flight from a nearby airfield. For another option, venture a couple of miles inland to the beautiful, thatched, 17th-century Sorrel Horse (01394 411617), which hosts folk nights on alternate Wednesdays and has popular quiz evenings. Community owned, it has a great atmosphere and a traditional feel, with bar billiards, cask ales and good, mostly homemade, food. You can also order fresh fish and local produce to cook on the campsite directly from the farm – the best way is to purchase on the campsite website and then let them know which pitch you're on.

Opening Times

August–September.

Why book with Cool Camping?

  • Best Price Guarantee, with no fees
  • Instant booking confirmation
  • Trusted for over 10 years
  • A chance to win prizes in our regular competitions

The Owner Says

A no-frills wild riverside camping experience in a stunning location on a working farm situated on the beautiful river Deben in Suffolk. Ideal for those that want to be off-grid and enjoy wildlife, nature, cycling, birdwatching and walking. Stunning views and access to river walks and a beach. A mile from the nearest public road, our farm is set in Suffolk, Coasts and Heaths area of outstanding natural beauty. Grass pitches are 6m x 6m, with parking on the pitch with no mains running water but portaloos and a water bowser (eg: boxes). Eggs, and smoked fish are available from the farm.

Pitches

35 camping pitches in a spacious, riverside meadow.

Camping Pitch

Grass pitch Sleeps 6 25 Available
A simple camping pitch, which is 6x6m in size.

Check Availability

Location

Contact Wild Riverside Camping, Lodge Farm, Church Road, Ramsholt Woodbridge, Suffolk IP12 3AD

Show Map

Reviews

Add Your Review

Rated ★★★★★ over 50 reviews

★★★★☆

Beautiful Peaceful Setting

This campsite was in the most idyllic setting. The pitches were in an open field overlooking the river Deben. It truly felt off the beaten track and the stars at night were incredible as no light pollution. Quite basic with just porta-loos and bowsers filled with water for use but as long as you're aware of this it's not a problem. If you're feeling brave I definitely going for a swim in the river.
Sep 21, 2020 by Lucy Baker Verified Review
★★★★★

Relaxing peaceful break

Had a fantastic weekend. The views are amazing, local pub food was gorgeous. The river walk and beach a real winner.
Sep 21, 2020 by Steph
★★★★☆

Beautiful peaceful spot

Nice spot in the Suffolk countryside. 3 or 4 fields of camping (half empty when we were there mid-Sep). Good size pitches. River 5 min walk away, nice spot for kids to play or go for a walk/swim Had a big group of lads near us - would have been nice to have been separate as we were travelling with kids
Sep 21, 2020 by Amir Jones Verified Review
★★★★★

Great time

We had a fantastic time. The pitches are very tight I wouldn’t want to be camping here if every pitch was full.
★★★★★

Amazing

We had a wonderful few days - on arrival we were given a very warm welcome and useful information. The location is absolutely stunning, minutes from the beach , lovely walks nearby quiet and peaceful . It is as it’s says Wild camping we just went prepared and enjoyed every minute. We felt for the first time in months we could actually breath. Our pitch was super really pleased nice view over fields good distance from other campers which on our pitch was only 3 happy days. A big thank you to the Simper family for allowing us to share this fabulous location - we had an amazing time and can’t wait to return next year (for longer). Change nothing it was perfect the location just speaks for its self.
Sep 20, 2020 by Janice Kreft Verified Review
★★★★★

A tranquil spot. Just what we wanted and needed.

The service from the website and from the site owners was just perfect. Efficient administration to make the booking process quick and easy. An excellent follow up from Cool Camping and an immediate response to a question sent to the owners. We met them at work on the farm on arrival and they were welcoming and helpful. Just what we wanted: a traditional site with no fuss.
★★★★★

Peaceful First Time Experience

Wanted to test out some new camping gear and this was the perfect place to do it, pitches were well mantained so no problem setting up, was great for the night getaway and would be good for a couple nights in the future. The road was a bit touch and go when you have a lower car but taking it slow is fine, might be a different story if wet. Will be returning in the future.
Sep 14, 2020 by Logan
★★★★★

A Perfect Camping Getaway

We all loved the site and it is described exactly as it is. Camping in an open field on a working farm with some portaloos, bins, and accessible water. The views of the surrounding nature were breathtaking and is definitely a hidden gem being out of the way from the nearby town of Wodbridge (which is worth a look around as well!). The walks to the one of the best pubs I'd been to definitely helped working up an appetite but be prepared to stop and take in the nature around you on your way, definitely something I won't be forgetting soon! Will definitely be coming back again and would recommend to anyone who wants a real camping experience! The owners were also very nice and co-operative with us which is always a bonus.

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Lewis,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us! Would be nice to see you again next summer.

Best Wishes,
Simper Family

★★★★★

Beautiful peaceful spot

We had a wonderful experience here- looking through some of the reviews from last week ( which I hadn’t seen when booking as I did that a couple of weeks ago) I think we were fortunate to come mid-week and when the bad weather had passed. We had our section of the field almost to ourselves, and there were very few campers in the other sections- we did think the pitches looked a little small if the site was full, so it’s good to read that the Simpers plan to have bigger pitches next summer! They were very friendly when we picked up our ( delicious) veg box, and obviously wanted feedback/thoughts from us for future reference. It was delightful to be able to saunter down to the river for a refreshing swim ( careful of the very sharp shells, though- both my friends got nasty cuts on their feet) and the walk along the estuary to the pub is beautiful and rich with bird life. The loos were clean and well-stocked with loo paper, with hand sanitiser provided. The water bowsers, particularly the new one that arrived halfway through our stay, were impossible to use without wasting a huge amount of water, so this is something to look at for next year. I’d love to come back to this part of the world in future years, and perhaps stay a little longer- but would probably deliberately come mid-week again- I wouldn’t fancy staying here if it was full, unless there were considerably fewer pitches!

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Lucy,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us! Would be nice to see you again next summer. As you may have read in our other reviews, COVID has made this an exceptional year in regards to demand for camping, especially during weekends. We obviously found this summer season a lot busier than expected! We did set up the site as per government guidelines (10m beside each pitch), but next year we do plan to have less pitches and even more space.

Best Wishes,
Simper Family

★★★★★

Wild, great location, as advertised, well worth it.

Clean toilets, plenty of accessible water, ample space, signage and good views of the estuary. For a first year Jonathan has done well to accommodate rough campers. The site has a usp - exactly as advertised.
Sep 5, 2020 by Ralph Wright

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Ralph,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us! Would be nice to see you again next summer.

Best Wishes
Simper Family

★★★★★

Superb camping spot

Beautiful farm with great views over the fields and across the river. Lovely secluded beach just off the campsite, with views over the river of the sunset. A nice walk (about half an hour) to a lovely little pub, the ramsholt arms) on the riverbank with great beer and food, and a warm welcome! Lots of local attractions for days out also not too far. Toilets cleaned every morning, and plenty of fresh water available. And the added bonus of a fish box from the river and local waters to take home (pre order required). A great week away getting back in touch with the wild, and a welcome break from the stresses for 2020 life.

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Anna,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us! Would be nice to see you again next summer.

Best Wishes,
Simper Family

★★★★☆

Busy and windy - but great location for exploring local area

The pitches were too close together - considering the coronavirus situation they had marked out way too many numbered plots on the campsite and we were surprised to be camping amongst 50+ tents! It was SO windy. Toilets were kept very clean. We walked to the Ramsholt Arms and back, and did a cycle ride with the kids to the coast which was fantastic (stopping off at the Shepherd & Dog for a great lunch). I thought it was expensive considering the basic facilities, but it really was a great location.
Sep 1, 2020 by diddlydee Verified Review
★★★☆☆

Not exactly what it says on the tin

Admittedly it was bank holiday weekend but none the less we were taken aback when we arrived to a “wild camping” site with a quoted 35 pitches to find up to 100 pitches squeezed in to tightly fenced off fields. I am all up for no frills wild camping and no fuss about the Portaloos which were indeed clean but I was very disappointed to find us so sardined in without any warning of such. The site is well located by the river and a good range of fun stuff to do nearby but we won’t be going back to stay here as we felt misled by the description. Several loud partying groups and the crowdedness really ruined the vibe. Shame as if it had been as it was advertised I think we’d have loved it
★★★★☆

Good, relaxed, dog-friendly

We liked this site as it was relaxed, with no fuss over arrival times etc. The pitch was plenty big enough for us with a small tent, and if it wasn’t there was a car park to move the car to. Very basic, I’m not a lover of Portaloos, but that’s what we expected. Great area, clear directions. Lack of shade / shelter as a very open site but that was fine when we were there. Dog friendly - lovely that the dogs were free to run around, they caused no problem. Drawbacks - there was one loud group on our first night. And seemed expensive given the lack of facilities. But we’d definitely return and enjoyed our stay.
★★★★★

Little Hidden Gem

Great little camp site with helpful and friendly owners. I made a mistake with my booking and the owners were very gracious and understanding and all was sorted. Really nice setting with a private river beach which was warn enough to swim in. Portaloos were very clean and drinking water tanks were ample. Its a pop-up camp site so you have to look past the lack of facilities. They dont pretend to have all the mod cons, but is that really proper camping if they do?
Aug 29, 2020 by James

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi James,

Thanks for your review, we're so glad you had a lovely stay with us! Would be nice to see you next summer.

Best Wishes,
Simper Family
★★★☆☆

Great location but overcrowded

We've recently returned from a four night stay, and felt that the campsite mainly lived up to its description. It's in a fantastic location a few minutes walk from a beach on the river, and the facilities, although basic, were regularly maintained, which wasn't an easy task given the stormy conditions that we endured. The main negative was the amount of pitches that the owners were attempting to shoehorn into the available space, as in our cut strip there were three sets of pitches marked out across the width of the strip where there was only really room for two. If all of the pitches had been occupied at the same time (which thankfully they weren't) the guy ropes of one tent would have been almost touching those of their neighbours and it would have been impossible to get cars in and out, and there would have been no space at all for the children to run around in, or to enjoy a vague sense of isolation, which is one of the main reasons for coming to this type of site in the first place. Hopefully the owners will take note of this comment (and other similar ones that I've read), as if this issue was addressed, I'd have no hesitation in recommending it.

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Martin,

Thanks for your review, we're glad you loved the location. COVID has made this an exceptional year in regards to demand for camping, especially during weekends. We obviously found this summer season a lot busier than expected! We did set up the site as per government guidelines (10m beside each pitch), and were advised by other sites to set up the pitches in this way, as a grid formation allows social distancing between groups. Next year we do plan to have less pitches and more space.

All of your comments are appreciated and we will do our best to improve in these areas.
Simper Family
★★★★★

A simple, relaxed, beautiful spot.

A basic but beautiful campsite. Near the river/estuary with lovely ‘big sky’ walks. Local pub by the water with good food and fine ale.

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Will,

Thanks for your review, we're so glad you had a lovely stay on the farm! Would be nice to see you next summer.

Best Wishes,
Simper Family
★★★★☆

Great scenery lovely owners

Great camp site with it’s own beach. The owners were so helpful, during the stay the owners moved everyone to a slightly different location to stop us getting affected by the strong winds
Aug 29, 2020 by Ethan Wall Verified Review
★★★☆☆

Camping in Storm Frances

The wording and description from farmer is key ... don't think this is any more than rudimentary. Location is great for kids to explore, and the walk along river to Ramshot Arms is great. Would say though that campsite is very exposed and storm Frances didn't help. A number of campers moved to the hedge along the carpark field on day 2 to get some protection from the high gusty wind. Portaloos were always blocked and fetid. Drinking water provided as was bin. I know this is a working farm but ... field still had lots of remnants of the winter occupants. Equine or bovine? Doesn't matter but the marked pitch had several presents left for us. Tried to pitch our camp between but not always possible. For the kids this was too rudimentary.
Aug 28, 2020 by Brad Verified Review
★★☆☆☆

Great location - but it wasn't Cool Camping. Overpriced, too many pitches and too noisy!

We had great expectations and tried this site for a night. Location is great. Suffolk is stunning and this coastal area by the Deben particularly so. We didn't really see the beach, as the tide was high on the afternoon we were there. We did take the walk to the Ramsholt pub and the walk was stunning. The disappointment was with the campsite itself. The photos indicate that it is fairly small and at the time of booking, it indicated only 35 pitches. When we got there on the Saturday, there were tents everywhere and many, many more! It looked like they were cashing in on demand. We were plonked in the middle of a field surrounded by other tents and near the portable toilets (with very noisy doors banging constantly). There was a group of youngsters near who had been allowed to pitch four tents together and were drinking their way through the day and night. How did they allow this on what was supposed to be a quiet, away from it all site, not to mention under Covid rules?! We paid £36 for a rough patch of grass in the middle of other tents to listen to young people shouting, loud music and bad language until very late! We then woken by loud conversations outside of the toilets by people worse for drink and toilet doors banging all night. The pitch was not great and the control over the campsite was non-existent. Plus, they had taken up all available ground for tents, so no space for kids to kick a ball about. This place could be so much better, but it just felt like they were cashing in and filling every available space (and I do understand that businesses need to make up for lost revenues earlier in the year, but......). The toilets were clean, although there was no where to wash hands, but sanitiser was provided. Water was from bowsers, but they were only on one pallet, so you had to bend nearly to the floor to fill up a bottle (you could not fill a larger container, as too low to the ground). It' such a shame. Disappointing waste on money. We won't be going back.

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi,
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed the location. Our campsite is a temporary pop-up site on a working farm and the site itself is a wild grass meadow used for hay and livestock grazing. Its been a very dry year so the grass quality is expectionally poor and thus hard to cut. We have since purchased another grass cutter which we hope will level the site more efficiently in future. We have since made our advertising clear as to how many pitches our site has, as these have fluctuated during busy and quieter periods. We emphaise on our site listing that our farm has very minimal facilities, eg, no designated area for ball games.
COVID has made this an exceptional year and, like you, we found this summer season a lot busier than expected. We did set up the site as per government guidelines, but next year we plan to have less pitches and even more space. This will ensure better quality pitches. We were advised by other sites to set up the pitches in this way, as a grid formation allows social distancing between groups.
We do regular checks on our guests and always encourage them to contact us directly via phone at any time, so we can address any issues immediately. We have addressed noise issues with guests, especially during busy weekends, and we make it clear on our site listing that loud music is not tolerated.
Our entire farm is not connected to mains water, but we will look into improving our water butts. Putting more than one pallet underneath it would be dangerous, however.
All of your comments are appreciated,
Simper Family
★★★★★

Almost wild camping

With just the most basic amenities to make it feel like an adventure and a space that doesn’t feel crowded. It’s a remote location in a beautiful setting. With a perfect distance to the river for swimming - which is a stunning spot. And it’s ideal for a walk to the pub or longer hikes in the local area.
Aug 28, 2020 by Jason Franks Verified Review

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Jason,

Thanks for your review, we're so glad you had a lovely stay on the farm! Would be nice to see you next summer.

Best Wishes,
Simper Family
★★★★☆

Lovely family run site

Set in the beautiful surroundings of the river Deben, the area offers beautiful views, and a thriving habitat. The site is basic, which isn’t a problem if you come prepared. Ran by a family farm, diversifying their business in hope to stay afloat, during difficult circumstances. Will defiantly go back!
Aug 27, 2020 by Michelle Turner
★★★★★

Peaceful location with great access to small beach area.

Spent 5 nights at this very basic sight. Booked 7 nights but high wind broke tent poles so returned early. Well laid out sight with around 10 portaloos and 6 water bowsers. Lots of hand sanitizer at each toilet. Toilets cleaned every day and pumped out twice during our stay, but portaloos are portaloos and this is a very big site so they quickly became full. We saw several large groups arriving at weekend but the site is big enough for everyone and noise was never an issue. The only thing that would stop us returning to this site is that the ground is stubble rather than grass. Well levelled down but because of that and being close to river flies were an issue and I was very severely bitten on legs by flies. Obviously none of this is owners fault. They have worked hard on making sure guidelines are adhered to in relation to Covid-19. Also felt that on reflection the price should have matched the very basic facilities.

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Karen,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us! As you know, we do regularly clean our loos (twice a day) and replenish supplies. However, the company that empties them can only come twice a week, meaning at the end of a busy weekend they can be full. In future we will montior more closely how many loos will be required during peak times.
Our campsite is a temporary pop-up site on a working farm and the site itself is a wild grass meadow used for hay and livestock grazing. Its been a very dry year so the grass quality is expectionally poor and thus hard to cut. We have since purchased another grass cutter which we hope will level the site more efficiently in future!
Unfortunately the river is also a great habitat for insects, this is an issue in all locations next to the Deben. Our farm also lacks cover from woodland but is in a perfect riverside location. We try to highlight in our site listings that this is a site with very minimal facilities in a beautiful location with private access to a beach.

Best Wishes
Simper Family
★★★☆☆

Wonderful spot, pitch layout unclear

Lovely area with basic clean portaloo facilities. Only negative would be that there were a lot of pitches crammed into each field, with unclear boundaries. Other than that, wonderful stay with great walks nearby.
Aug 25, 2020 by Anna
★★★★★

Excellent Camp site!

The camp site is easy to find and the campsite is right by the lovely beach. It was a great quick get away needed to fight the isolation blues! Portaloos were clean and well looked after Water from the water bowzers was restocked regularly This was my first time camping so was pleasantly surprised how it worked flawlessly! The walk to the pub is a real treat too with some of the best views of the river and the beach. Thank you Johnathan and Co for sharing your land and the for the great experience!
Aug 24, 2020 by Rich Verified Review

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Richard,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us on the farm! Would be nice to see you again next summer.

Best Wishes
Simper Family
★★★★★

Fab Wild Camping Getaway

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely weekend on this campsite. It was a great location in which to relax by the river and explore the beaches and towns in the area. The pitches were well spaced out so social distancing was easy. The toilets were well stocked with hand sanitiser and cleaning products, unfortunately the doors were very noisy and the constant slamming of these self-closing doors did disrupt our stay. However, when I raised this with Jonathan, the owner he very promptly displayed notices on all the toilets for other to be mindful of disturbing other campers. I really appreciated the swiftness of Jonathan's response and hope that campers continue to be considerate.
Aug 24, 2020 by Emma Dearn Verified Review

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Emma,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us on the farm! Would be nice to see you again next summer.

Best Wishes
Simper Family
★★★★★

Close to beautiful nature

Get away from it all in a quite stunning location. Portaloos are clean and well supplied with toilet roll, there is plenty of hand sanitiser and fresh drinking water - but nothing else. If you can cope without a shower, cooking block, shop, etc., this is beautiful. Clearly designated pitches, well spaced. Absolutely gorgeous walk along the river to the fabulous Ramsholt Arms from 12 noon. Sandy river beach area close to the campsite (much softer underfoot than the pebbly beaches on the Suffolk coast) and wonderful bird-life (take your binoculars and a bird identification book - we will next time!!!) We will be back.
Aug 24, 2020 by Louise Hoare Verified Review

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Louise,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us on the farm! Would be nice to see you again next summer.

Best Wishes
Simper Family
★★★★☆

Not so wild

I’ve done a lot of wild camping and been to lots of sites that describe themselves as wild camping. So turning up to a tightly defined numbered pitch didn’t quite marry up! It felt a little cramped, with fences all around the camping area and lots of cars and amplified music. And dog poo. However, there are lots of positives too.....the loos were clean, lots of water and bins. Amazing stars too. The absolute jewel and the reason to return is the gorgeous private beach on the river Deben. A sweet little path, covered in blackberries, will take you from the site to the river in minutes. It really is lovely.
Aug 24, 2020 by Krustyloaf Verified Review
★★★★☆

No frills by the beach

This was a lovely spot, down by the estuary with a beach located within 5-10 mins walk from the field. Swimming possible there. Nearest pub is a good 30 min walk, and no shops within walking distance. Nice clean portaloos and fresh water but no showering facilities. Would come back!
★★★★☆

Love it

Lovely area! Great walks with easy access to the shores. Close to The Ramsholt arms which is a very nice pub. Would only suggest a couple of nights there as there isn’t any showers and it is a little bit far from a lot of things so not a whole load of things to do. But the camp is clean, friendly, and 100% worth going if you want to chill by your tent and go for walks.
Aug 23, 2020 by Sian
★☆☆☆☆

Noisey! Over subscribed!

Although location wise a perfect spot, the experience was much like spending Saturday night on someone’s stag or hen do! It certainly did not match the last sentence from the email I received after booking- “We hope you have a peaceful and enjoyable stay in this unique part of Suffolk.” Peaceful it was not! Over priced stay on a noisey, lumpy farmers field full of screaming kids and over excited groups of youngsters who had spent all day in the sun then all evening hydrating themselves!.
Aug 22, 2020 by Karen Verified Review

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi,
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed the location. Our campsite is a temporary pop-up site on a working farm and the site itself is a wild grass meadow used for hay and livestock grazing. Its been a very dry year so the grass quality is expectionally poor and thus hard to cut. We have since purchased another grass cutter which we hope will level the site more efficiently in future.
COVID has made this an exceptional year and, like you, we found this summer season a lot busier than expected. We did set up the site as per government guidelines, but next year we plan to have less pitches and even more space. This will ensure better quality pitches. We were advised by other sites to set up the pitches in this way, as a grid formation allows social distancing between groups.
We do regular checks on our guests and always encourage them to contact us directly via phone at any time, so we can address any issues immediately. We have addressed noise issues with guests, especially during busy weekends, and we make it clear on our site listing that loud music is not tolerated.
All of your comments are appreciated,
Simper Family
★☆☆☆☆

Cashing in on Covid

Putting the word “Wild” in front of the word camping doesn’t justify charging £23.50 per night for an over populated farmers field with festival loos and stored drinking water from tanks. Optimistic “20min” walk to pub if you run! So many better and way cheaper back to basics sites are available. If you like camping in the ambience of an A&E department on a saturday night, you will love it. We have done a lot of basic camping around Suffolk and the UK. I would rate this site at £10 per night for a campervan pitch based on our years of experience. The River Deben is lovely. Better value options are available.
Aug 22, 2020 by Lincoln Grounds

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi,

Thank you for your review. Our campsite is a temporary pop-up site on a working farm and the site itself is a wild grass meadow used for hay and livestock grazing. We try to highlight in our site listings that this is a site with very minimal facilities in a beautiful location with private access to a beach. The term 'wild' is used widely to refer to any kind of basic, off-grid camping.
COVID has made this an exceptional year and, like you, we found this summer season a lot busier than expected. We did set up the site as per government guidelines, but next year we plan to have less pitches and even more space. We were advised by other sites to set up the pitches in this way, as a grid formation allows social distancing between groups.
We replenish water on the site multiple times a day, particularly during busy periods, so the water is always fresh. Our entire farm is not linked to mains water.

All of your comments are appreciated.
Simper Family
★★☆☆☆

Wild really just seems to mean basic

Yes it's a nice location, but I'm afraid the facilities are just a bit too basic to be acceptable in my opinion, especially given the current situation. I don't think it's acceptable not to have a place to wash your hands separate from the drinking water supply, and when we arrived the toilets were overflowing. Also, the description 'wild' makes it sound as if you will be surrounded by nature, when in fact there are far too many pitches pretty close together in open fields for it to feel at all wild.

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi,
Thank you for your review, we're glad you liked the location. Our campsite is a temporary pop-up site on a working farm. We try to highlight in our site listings that this is a site with very minimal facilities in a beautiful location with private access to a beach. The term 'wild' is used widely to refer to any kind of basic, off-grid camping and we were told to use this term on sites such as Cool Camping. COVID has made this an exceptional year and, like you, we found this summer season a lot busier than expected. We did set up the site as per government guidelines, but next year we plan to have less pitches and even more space. We were advised by other sites to set up the pitches in this way, as a grid formation allows social distancing between groups. As you will see in other reviews, we do regularly clean our loos (twice a day) and replenish supplies. However, the company that empies them can only come twice a week, meaning at the end of a busy weekend they can be full. We did recently order more loos for the site as we did see this to be an issue.
All of your comments are appreciated,
Simper Family
★★★★★

Surreal settings, friendly farmers, and incredible wildlife!

We received a warm welcoming greeting at arrival. The toilets were clean as possible, smelt fresh! The lake of shower was not ideal due to the river not being the most clean but that’s old school camping nothing wrong with being a bit smelly 😂 The beach was perfect for small camp fired at night gazing into the night sky, barely any light pollution so perfect for star gazing! I would recommend bringing/ Hiring a canoe/paddleboard to take out on the river the small streams along the Edge have fun little currents and me and my partner where lucky to interact with a wild seal 🥰 The pub/restaurant is pricing but perfect location definitely go for the long walk up there is marshland with flocks of cranes. And beautiful sunsets over the river. Over all an incredible adventure would highly recommend!
Aug 22, 2020 by Chloe Summer

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Chloe,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us! Would be nice to see you again next summer.

Best Wishes
Simper Family
★★★★★

Superb and simple

Very friendly staff and lovely pitch. Swimming in the river in the morning was beautiful. Highly recommend this site!
Aug 21, 2020 by Robert Silk Verified Review

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Robert,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us! Would be nice to see you again next summer.

Best Wishes
Simper Family
★★★★★

Excellent

We were very pleased and impressed with this camp site. Access was good, the pitch areas were well laid out and well spaced out. There was a realistic number of toilets, bins and fresh water facilities on offer. The field was also very well prepared as considering all the rain we had last week the ground was nice and dry to pitch on. Access to the river Deben was excellent and with a small sandy area it allowed entry and exit to the water without getting muddy at all states of the tide, (we were primarily there to paddle board). I'd thoroughly recommend this campsite and we are keen to return.

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Robert,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us! Would be nice to see you again next summer.

Best Wishes
Simper Family
★★★★★

Tranquility and nature

A stunning spot with views over the Deben. A break to take the family back to basics and enjoy the simpler things in life.
Aug 20, 2020 by Vicky S

Response from Wild Riverside Camping

Hi Vicky,

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you had a peaceful stay with us on the farm! Would be nice to see you again next summer.

Best Wishes
Simper Family
★★★★☆

Great Location for a weekend stay

I had a great weekend with my 4 friends at this campsite - it’s not too far from Woodbridge and a bit further on to get to Felixstowe, as well as a short walk to the lovely river and beach so we had plenty of things to do. Bare in mind that there’s no showers, washing up facilities or water carriers provided, just portaloos and a big water tank - but as long as you go into it knowing this you’ll be fine! Wouldn’t stay for more than 2 nights to be honest because of lack of shower access. Good value for money :)
Aug 17, 2020 by Ella Piron Verified Review
★★★★★

Relaxing getaway

Great location with private beach. Lovely walk along to the local pub/restaurant. Facilities clean. Very dog friendly - our puppy had a great time! Would definitely recommend for a back to basics getaway.
Aug 17, 2020 by Paige
★★★★★

Chilled out camping. Great swimming

Lovely simple campsite with friendly owners. Recommend the veg box. Simple facilities. Brilliant river swimming. What's not to like
Aug 15, 2020 by Eliot Lyne Verified Review
★★★★★

First time camping

This was my sons first time camping. Just the two of us and our dog, we were greeted by a very friendly owner of the site and given lots of useful information about the area. The beautiful Suffolk sunshine Showed the site in its full potential, very clean and spacious. With a short walk to the beach I was perfect for little legs and very safe. The area is stunning. Very rural and picturesque. We will definitely return to the site and look forward to it.
Aug 15, 2020 by Katie Lower Verified Review
★★★★★

Lovely low key site with its own beach

A great find, just what we needed for a quick break in Suffolk. Off grid, tucked away in a secluded spot but easy to get to attractions and activities near by. A friendly face met us on arrival and everything was super relaxed. The beach was lovely, but make sure you check the tides! Thank you.
Aug 14, 2020 by Sarah
★★★★☆

Great for couple of nights camping to get away from it all

We stayed for 2 nights and lucked out with the weather which made it really hot as there is no shade whatsoever on site. Going down to the river is great - for an early morning swim or whenever. We walked to the Ramsholt Arms for dinner - took 30 mins, stunning scenery - and then had to wait for a table for 30 mins. Decided to get a taxi back (M&R cars) as was getting dark. Got attacked by mozzies around 9pm. There is not much nearby to site at all so go prepared. It's really in the middle of nowhere which is cool but not so much if you need something vital. We went during covid easing so had to book everywhere to eat to avoid disappointment. Lovely stay.
Aug 13, 2020 by Julia DOBBIN Verified Review
★★★★★

Amazing friends getaway

Me and my friend came to the site which was set in a beautiful field close to the banks of the Deben. We really enjoyed our time at the site as we were able to unplug rewind and get back to nature. The facilities are basic so you have to be aware of that but if you want to escape and feel wild than this is the place to be. We stayed for 5 nights and explored Suffolk its a perfect base for seeing this spectacular region. If you book you won't be disappointed. Thanks to the Simper family!
★★★★★

First Time Campers - amazing experience!

Other than festivals, I have not camped properly before. Before arriving I read an article in the Telegraph about Simper Farm camping which said that what it lacks in amenities it makes up in beauty and the latter was not wrong! The river beach is less than a 5 min walk away and is a great place to spend the day, just look up tide times if you go further down! The fish sold at the farm was superb and easy to purchase. The general area was beautiful and everywhere was easy to get to. They also has an ice machine which was a god send in the 30c heat! as for amenities the toilets were fine -clean and replenished, and not one bad smell considering they were portaloos. There are no showers, but we enjoyed washing off in the river. Have already recommended to friends who have now booked.
Aug 13, 2020 by Nick Mackie Verified Review
★★★★★

Beautiful setting, well organised and relaxed

This was one of my best camping experiences, tent only, just fields with a few portaloos and water! Wonderful views on all sides, great river swimming and a quiet and relaxing experience. Definitely one to come back to!
★★★★★

Perfect Family Break

We had two relaxing nights staying at wild riverside camp site. The setting is idyllic and the views spectacular. We had lots of space and the toilets were very clean with plenty of hand sanitiser and cleaning spray available. The toilets are Lao well spaced with the water and bins along the campsite. The river beach nearby (1km walk) is a great place to relax and for the children to play. Our enjoyed the swimming, kayaking and snorkelling and sand castle building - but keep an eye on the tides - the whole beach will vanish at times!) Woodbridge was close by (15 min drive) and has everything we needed and the enjoyed getting produce fresh from the farm. In short a perfect family break in a perfect corner of England - we will definitely visit again.
★★★★★

Perfect rural break

A wonderful spot for an off-grid break. Great hosts and we would really recommend buying a veg box and some delicious fish from the office. Couldn’t have asked for more.
★★★★☆

Perfect location

Spent 2 wonderful nights at Wild Riverside camping and will definitely return. Fantastic spot on the river deben with small beach suitable for swimming and lovely walk along the river to the nearby pub well worth a visit. The toilets were clean and some had a very small sink but not all of them. Fresh water could be located in large tanks and was in plentiful supply. However nowhere to wash anything up so a bowl is essential! We were here during very hot weather and there is no shade to be found anywhere on the site or for that matter on the beach so make sure you bring something to sit under if the forecast is warm weather. I usually stay on sites where you can pitch wherever you want so I found the allocated pitches somewhat annoying especially as we arrived mid week when the site was relatively quiet. I also couldn’t understand why our pitch was in the middle of rows of other tents when there were plenty of empty pitches in quieter areas. This was a minor irritation though and by Saturday when we left just about every pitch was occupied so a quiet space would have been impossible anyway. The location of this site makes it well worth a visit and all in all the owners are doing an excellent job with the facilities available.
Aug 9, 2020 by Jill Ellis
★★★★★

Fantastic few days

We booked to bring our tent for 3 nights this week. The campsite has stunning views over the River Deben where a short walk leads you to a private beach where you can swim. Check the tides though! Staff all very friendly and helpful. Nice sized plots with a very relaxed atmosphere. Portaloos were clean and regularly checked and hand sanitiser was available outside each toilet. Fresh water readily available and everything seemed very well organised. We loved our stay at Wild Riverside Camping and look forward to coming back soon.

Why book with Cool Camping?

  • Best Price Guarantee, with no fees
  • Instant booking confirmation
  • Trusted for over 10 years
  • A chance to win prizes in our regular competitions

Related Guides

See Campsites in Woodbridge

See Suffolk Coast Campsites