Camping Playa de Taurán

Europe Spain Asturias Luarca

Playa de Taurán Luarca Valdés 33700

Stunning views of the Bay of Biscay from this family-friendly, clifftop campsite.

The Asturian coastline of northern Spain is arguably the most unique pocket of the vast Iberian peninsula. This verdant landscape has such wildly diverse topography; it's a brilliantly bucolic contrast to what can seem like the endless aridness of Spain's southern steppes. There's some 24 nature reserves in this region, including the sprawling Picos de Europa Parque Nacional. Cut off from the rest of the country by these snow-capped Alpine peaks to the south, Asturias retains a character unique from the rest of Spain. No campsite in the region better typifies this idiosyncrasy more than the wonderful Camping Playa de Taurán.

Arriving for the first time at this clifftop hideaway is a pretty special experience for anyone. So when amiable Dutch host Sander first arrived from a land not blessed with such dramatic contours, the wow factor was well and truly off the scale. Perched on a steep cliff with panoramic vistas of the Cantabrian Sea, Camping Playa de Taurán is perhaps the region's most enviably located campsite. With the titular beach to its west, and the boundless meadows of San Martín de Santiago to the south, this family-run, family-friendly site is the ideal base for those wishing to discover the treasures of this largely overlooked destination.

This well-maintained site has ample space for 100 lucky tents, campervans and caravans. Many are equipped with electricity and Sander will happily get the long cables out for those brave souls pitching nearer the cliff edge. Nearly all these shady pitches boast sea views and a cooling Atlantic breeze. Conscientious as ever, Sander has also set aside a 'free camping zone' for larger groups, so as not to infringe upon their neighbours.

There's a wealth of pleasingly small-scale activities for children on offer too: supervised swimming pool, afternoon kid's club, plus handicrafts and traditional games. Keen to promote agro-toursim, the site also has a small farm with veg patch and all manner of native Asturian animals including asturcon ponies, bermeya goats, xalda sheep, and pita pinta chickens. Taurán beach is also just a 200 metre stroll downhill so be sure to bring your snorkels for a spot of rock pooling in the hidden coves of the craggy coastline.

Known locally as 'The White Town on the Green Coast', the gorgeous nearby harbour town of Luarca offers plenty in the way of offsite distractions, not least those of the gastronomic kind. Asturias is the home of Spanish cheese – unsurprising given the abundant lush grazing pastures the Asturian dairy cows enjoy. Be sure to sample the famous Cabrales, Gamoneu, Afuega'l Pitu, and Los Beyos varieties – all cured in the network of caves which honeycomb these parts. We recommend finding a charming little waterfont chigres and indulging in some of the local delicacies including fritos de pixín (deep-fried monkfish pieces) washed down with a glass or two of the region's famous tipple, Asturian cider.

With its stunning, wind-swept beaches, dramatic clifftops overlooking the Bay of Biscay, and imposing Cantabrian mountains (not to mention its notoriety for cheese), this verdant land is more akin to the Lleyn Peninsula of North Wales. Unsurprising then Asturias shares a common Celtic heritage with ancient Britain, evidenced by its innumerable Iron Age castros. It's a region steeped in history, pre-dating the foundation of Imperial Spain by over seven centuries. The fiercely proud locals have a saying round these parts; "Asturias is Spain - the rest is conquered territory". We're inclined to agree - perhaps this really is the true essence of Spain.

The Owner Says

Last year we installed a little sauna, so while the kids are `working` the vegetable patch or feeding the animals in the kid´s club, the grown-ups can enjoy a session in our sauna. There is no extra fee for these services.

Reviews

Sign up or sign in to leave your review of Camping Playa de Taurán

★★★★★

Beautiful scenery in a lovely site

Jul 10, 2017 by Victoria Stanley

This is a brilliant campsite. It's clean and there are lots of facilities. There is a kids play park, basketball hoop, table tennis table, swimming pool and sauna and children's activities each day 5-8. As well as walking distance to the beach. There is a restaurant serving local food (but we cooked ourselves) and a small shop with all the basics we needed to top up on. Also a separate BBQ area and much more. The views were epic! We chose a pitch that was quite big with electricity. The site was quite quiet (early july 2017). We were only here for 2 days as a stop off between Santander and Islas Cies. Would have loved to have stayed longer.

★★★★★

want to go back !!!!

Jul 27, 2015 by tonybigt

what can i say .....EXCELLENT.

me and the new Mrs and little one "13 years old" toured Portugal,Spain and south of france for our honeymoon and this is my number 1 campsite of the trip. the views, the área, little town Luarca and the food were 5 stars.

★★★★★

fell in love with this campsite!

Jun 24, 2015 by intonature

If you are searching for a nice calm place to stay, on a campsite with an amazing view and peacefull atmosphere at the edge of a cliff surrounded by huge green eukalypustrees, birdtwitter, sound of seawaves and wind in the trees, this is your place to go! At least that was the atmopshere I wallowed in during my vistit last summer. So if you are travelling alone or in pairs and bring a small tent, I would recommend to put your tent on the sea side.

The other side of the campsite is the more vital one with lots of families and kids playing around who visibly enjoyed adventuring the place, its playground and the swimmingpool. There is also a kidsclub everyday in the afternoon where the children were doing hanycraft and all sorts of ball games and stuff.

The bathroomarea heated with solarenergy! is the most cleanest and well-kept one I´ve ever seen on a campsite. I also enjoyed sitting in the cosy bar drinking sidra or a caña with olives, but also the meals are very good and most of the meat and vegetables come from their own little farm behind the campingarea. You can visit the sheep when you are walking down to the small beach, which you reach within 5 minutes to have a quick swim.

I could go on swarming of this place for pages, as I really enjoyed my time there. It is a place to be comfortable, easy and calm and if you are into a chat you can easily get in contact with lovely people from all over europe at the small terrasse in front of the bar. Some of them keep coming every summer and I can absolutely unterstand why! 

I´m planing to come back for sure.

★★★★★

Amazing views.

Mar 16, 2015 by James Smith

I have to admit I didn't stay at this campsite for very long but the pitch we had was fine (grassy, bit of shade and foliage) and the view was ridiculously good! Facilities clean, so for one night stop was a fab place for me.

★★★★★

perfect

Mar 15, 2015 by Muriel

This camping sounds absolutely perfect to me

Why book with Cool Camping?

  • Best Price Guarantee, with no fees
  • Instant booking confirmation
  • Trusted for 10 years
  • Chance to win camping goodies in our regular competitions!

Check availability with the Date Search above

★☆☆☆☆

What has happened to this campsite?

Aug 11, 2014 by chickenlicken

Maybe it has changed hands but it is hard to recognize this campsite from the description on this site.  We stayed for 2 nights in August.  We were met on arrival by a grumpy woman who tutted at us stopping our car at what was apparently the wrong place outside reception. 

Most guests, sitting at their picnic tables, in the cafe etc, looked miserable, apart from the group of drunk sunburnt guys singing and playing their guitar.  It was absolutely packed - the 'free camping zone' added maybe 30 more tents in addition to the 100 pitches for tents and camper vans.  The view is beautiful over the cliffs and sea, but the cramped pitches and cars everywhere make it very difficult to appreciate.  Yes it is busy most places in August, but not an inch of spare space makes it feel very claustrophobic.  The site is also in the middle of nowhere - an eerie 10 minute drive from the main road through cornfields, meaning that you are quite marooned, and we saw several guests taking their children/dogs for walks down the road as there is very little else to see or do apart from the beach.  A small play area and swimming pool for kids could be of some use, but while we were there we saw the supervised kids activities taking place in the road/car park.  

The aforementioned veg patch is totally overgrown - on the path down to the beach you pass rotting cabbages, plants about to burst through the roof of the polytunnel like triffids, weeds everywhere and a fly tipped mattress. 

We really liked the area and visiting Luarca but couldn't wait to leave the campsite.  On checkout, we tried to pay with card and were told a €50 minimum, which I've never come across anywhere else.  The items in the shop were also very expensive.  Altogether, we got the impression that the owners are trying to squeeze as much money as possible out of this site, with little regard for the visitors.   


Response from campsite owner: 


Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience. In answer to your comments:

When you arrive at the campsite there are three signs that indicate ´1. Parking 2. Reception´. If at arrival these signs are ignored and you park your car in front of the barrier, and by doing so block the entrance for already registered guests you might be asked to drive back a bit until registration is completed. If you refuse to move the car you might be "growled at" and it is even possible you might get some disapproving looks of guests overlooking the situation (my apologies if so)!

Once you finish registration you can choose your pitch depending on the days´ availability. This year the campsite has not been fully booked at any moment so there has always been the possibility to choose between different spots.

In the Free Camping Zone on the cliff-top no cars or vans are allowed, only tents and mostly small ones.

The activities for the kids take place in different places on the site, we have space for handicrafts, games in the pool, farm visits, and there is always a licensed supervisor.

We would refute your claim that the site is in 'the middle of nowhere'. While we are in beautiful rural seclusion, the campsite is located 3.5 km from the A-8 motorway and can be reached taking a countryside road. The people you have seen walking on this road might have been on their way to, or back from, the town of Luarca (2.5km away), the beach of Salinas (1.5km), the Museo Etnográfico (500m), the Botanical Garden at (1km), the planetarium of the Parque de la Vida at (3km), or they might have simply gone for a walk

Regarding our veg patch, there was no 'fly-tipped mattress'. I can only assume you have come to this conclusion because you saw wool on the plot. This is from our sheep and is used for the ´mulching´ of our crops. In August there are a lot of plants and vegetables that might seem abandoned but in reality they are given the chance to produce seeds for the next year. The system we apply is called ´permaculture´ and has a pretty wild appearance.

The prices in our shop mentioned in the comment are higher because in Spain organic products are more expensive than conventional products. However,you forget to mention you paid 35.00 euros for a two night stay, which is very cheap.

As for the 50.00 euro minimum for paying with a card; because we keep our prices low, we cannot afford the commission that the bank charges us for card payments. But of course, if you are unable to pay in cash we will always accept card for any payment.

Finally, we do not allow the volume of devices like televisions or radios to disturb other guests at any time of the day or night. We had no complaints about `drunk sunburnt guys` playing guitar, but some of us are easily disturbed by the most unlikely things. This might have been the case.

We are sorry you did not find what you were looking for in Taurán, and we accept that it is impossible to please absolutely everybody.


Book Nearby Campsites