Camping à la ferme on a basic aire naturelle site is one approach to simplified summer living, but L’Étournerie is even smaller than that. It’s a non- classified campsite, which means it must have no more than six pitches. Sisters Jacky and Renée and their family also have a chalet and 2 stylish gîtes, so the site is a truly bijou alternative. It’s not basic, though, as it has a small heated swimming pool, meals can be ordered, and it sits in its own land in the hills of the southern Vendée.
The site is run by a Dutch family, who have realised their dream of living in the beautiful light and sweet air near the Atlantic coast and have created a place specifically for people who enjoy the same sort of things. The only noise is likely to come if the two dozen geese, the goat, and the chickens are disturbed, but as they don’t even have foxes to worry about, that doesn’t happen often.
The Vendée and its sandy beaches traditionally attract mainly French tourists – Jacky and Renée speak French, English, and German as well as Dutch – but the links with Holland go back a long way. Dutch engineers helped build the dykes and drain the marshes of the Marais Poitevin in the 17th century. Now nicknamed ‘Green Venice’, it’s a maze of waterways and islets that’s best explored in boats, but there are walks and cycle routes, too. The site also has access to a nearby reservoir, where you can fish, swim, or mess about in rubber boats. Although not designed for sports and leisure, this is a great site to hike around or cool off in on hot summer afternoons.
Six pitches, some with shade, all with electric hook-ups. Clean, bright toilets and showers, rental fridge, washing machine, and dryer available. Small (heated) pool, plus geese and chickens.
Tents, dogs (on leads) caravans, campervans/motorhomes (only use septic tank safe chemicals) – yes. People needing to be entertained – no. Adults only (no children under 18).
Lake 328 yards (300 m) away is nearly on site. Guides to walks and cycle routes within 30 miles (50 km), plus golf courses and vineyards. Surf beaches on Atlantic coast, but Renée recommends the sheltered sands of La Faute-sur-Mer. ‘Green Venice’, aka the Marais Poitevin, lies to the south, but for historical spectacle and fun family experience at Château Puy du Fou (0033 820 09 10 10).
Our tips: Île d'Yeu, Île d'Aix, Île de Ré (although very busy in summer), La Rochelle, Nantes, Puy du Fou, Marais Poitevin, hiking, beaches.
Food & Drink
Meals and breakfast service available on site. Nearest shops and restaurants 21⁄2 miles (4 km) away in Mareuil-sur-Lay-Dissais.
Roughly: early May - mid September (gîtes open all year).
The Owner Says
Our quiet rural campsite is pretty. The view over de valley is breathtaking. Our campsite is car free, we have a parking area behind the camping. We are not visible from any road.
Since our camping is situated behind our farmhouse, and our property is situated on a hill (which prevents us from being visible from the road), we do not have a "perfect level lawn", it is farm grass and level but may have a very slight slope on your pitch, nothing serious though.
People who love quiet will love our place. It is quiet all day and also during the evening and night. It ensures you will have a good night's sleep! Of course people should always respect each other.
Since our guests come for the peace and quiet, keep music and noises to a minimum. Quiet hours are between 10 PM and 9 AM.
The pool is great and with our climate, it is simply a MUST! We have heated it so that even people who do not like to "cool off" can enjoy a swim. Having a pool also means you may hear the sound of our pool filter.
Normally, some of our cats, chickens and a rooster will roam accross the campsite. Unless they are being spooked by dogs.... We even have an occasional wild peacock saying hi.
Our toilet building is fun to look at, bright, colourful and of course it is clean. We have 2 large showers, 2 toilets, 2 basins and 2 sinks. Should you want to rent your own fridge, that is possible.
Free secured wifi all over our campsite and in all accommodations.
Since we are an adult only campsite, normally, the only sounds you hear are crickets, birds, roosters, our geese and some agricultural sounds. Although, we have a pool which needs a filter, so that sound may also be heard.
If you like to be pampered food-wise, we offer quite a few delicious home cooked meals, desserts and wine included.
For guests who'd like to experiece the quiet at L'Etournerie in a rental accommodation, we offer a wooden chalet on the camping, and 2 holiday houses, for those who enjoy a fully self contained house with lots of comfort. We also offer the possibility to rent these accommodations for less than a week. It will give you lots of space for a good price. Please contact us for our availability.
This is what our guests say about their stay with us: http://www.letournerie.com/nl/camping%20gastenboek.html
We have 5 to 6 pitches.
All pitches are accessible to tents and small vans, but not all are accessible to caravans and motorhomes.
Campervans/motorhomes and caravans cannot empty chemical toilets, but if you do not need to, you are more than welcome to stay with us. If you want to be able to empty your chemical toilet, please empty it before you arrive on our site, we sell cheap toilet cleaner that you can put in your toilet. With that cleaner, your toilet can be emptied on our site.
Since we are very limited in pitches, we recommend you book in time. Booking in advance also means paying in advance. Of course you can always come by to see if we have a spot open, which does sometimes happen.
From A83 take J6 (direction Bournezeau). Turn right into Bearnezeau and in the village take a left towards Mareuil-sur- Lay-Dissais (D48). After 110 yards (100 m) turn right towards Thorigny (D36). In Thorigny, go left towards Château Guibert (D60). Pass through, lake on the right, and continue on rue du Lac through Bellenoue. On the right is a picnic/play area. Take next right. At the T-junction turn right again, after 110 yards (100 m), turn left at the sign, drive across the field and please let us know you've arrived by ringing the "bell" on the left door post of the accueil/receptie.
GPS coordinates can be found on our website www.letournerie.com
ReviewsAdd Your Review
Rated ★★★★★ over 25 reviews
Fantastic adult only site
A Perfect Getaway
A wonderful place to stay!
Ok, but not the best
Highlight of our holiday!
A wonderful stay
Another Visit to a Beautiful Site
We have returned today from our 2nd visit to this lovely site. The owners make us feel welcome and their homemade meals are always tasty and very good value. There is a supermarket in the village and a couple of bars and restaurants. The pitches are spacious and secluded and the facilities are kept clean and tidy. We will be returning next year.
We have just returned from an amazing 9 days at this lovely, small, peaceful site. We can only speak as we find and we found that this site delivered exactly as per the website. The pitch was large, grass not pristine but it is end of the season so to be expected, view was lovely, this is definitely a quiet peaceful site, exactly what we were looking for. Showering/toilet/washing up facilities were always kept clean and we made use of the washing machine and dryer whilst there. The pool was definitely a welcome feature on hot days.
We had two delicious meals cooked by Renee and Jackie and would strongly recommend them, it's great to be out sightseeing all day and come back to a cooked meal and no washing up! Although rural, (which is why we choose it) it was easy to visit Venice Verte, La Rochelle and il de re etc. All in all, relaxing camping break.
We will be back!
Emma & Mick
A peaceful slice of French paradise
Just back from a lovely week at L'Etournerie, and I have to say that we could not disagree more with the review left below by SMH. We found Jacky, Renée and their family to be friendly and accommodating, and their site to be beautiful, spotless, peaceful and exactly what we had expected from the description here on Cool Camping and on their own website, and the reviews written by everyone else.
We thoroughly recommend trying the home cooked meals that are brought to your tent. Absolutely delicious, and brought to you with such pride that you can't help ordering again for the next night. The pitches are well spaced and private, and since there's only six of them the site is peaceful and relaxing, as well as friendly. We had the best night's sleep ever, and very lazy mornings when there's no children to wake up early! The facilities are spotless – lovely big showers with lots of hot water and good pressure – and are never busy because there's so few people. We rented a fridge, which was the best decision we have made on a campsite yet. The pool is gorgeous and clean and seems to have been positioned to get the maximum sun all day. And if you're an animal lover, then you'll enjoy the daily visits from the cats who love to be fussed, and Hannibal the rooster and his girls (and do try their eggs, yum).
Although we could have quite happily spent all day sitting reading in the sun in the peace and quiet, occasionally taking a dip in the pool, it's worth getting out and exploring the Vendée. The site's location is well-placed to explore La Rochelle, Il-de-Ré, Les Sables d'Olonne, the Marais Poitevin and lots of other places of interest. The beaches are fab pretty much everywhere. The reservoir has a footpath all the way round which provides a good afternoon's ramble, and village at Mareuil-sur-Lay is pretty and has all the amenities you need. Bring bikes if you can, the cycling is great.
All in all we had a great week here on the best campsite we have yet visited in France, and we will be back.
Jo and Tommy.
We booked this site based upon the statements made by the proprietors and reviews. However having spent 4 nights at the site we do not agree that this site merits such high accolades. Having telephoned on route for further direction, I had hoped for more assistance than "we are just south of chateau Gilbert, use the Internet to find us". When we arrived at 1830 after a long day of travel we got the impression that we were causing them an inconvenience by arriving at that time. The pitch we were allocated was a solid plate of dry mud; it was very difficult to peg the tent and found the owners comments (your pegs are s**t and were you expecting sand) unhelpful. It would be fair to say that the wash and toilet facilities could do with a good clean and update; having the toilets and food preparation area in such close proximity was of some concern. We found the site to be in a beautiful part of the countryside but the photos and reviews are not representative of the current standard of the site or customer service we experienced. We will not be returning to this site; a disappointing 2 stars compared to the other sites we stayed out last week.
Comment from the campsite owner:
Thank you for your review. You did phone us from 2 a hour drive from us, just to say you’d be arriving late in regards to the meal you’d ordered, and not to ask for directions. As a courtesy to all our guests we send an email 2 weeks before their arrival with
the link to the correct directions on our website and gps-coordinates. Most guests print these out.
I remember your arrival and cannot agree that I have treated your welcome as an inconvenience, sorry that you expected something else.
Our ground is hard, you are right. Due to a very dry, hot summer. After a busy season, most of the grass has gone. However, there is nothing we can do about that.
We would never comment on your pegs being s***, but perhaps yours were not suited for our ground. We would gladly have helped you, had you asked.
As for our toilet building, it is an old building but very bright, colourful and with good facilities for all our guests. It is cleaned twice a day which should be enough for 12 guests. However, what happens in between cleanings, we do not control
that. It is updated every season and when necessary.The toilet building is just that, and certainly not meant as a food preparing area so we don’t expect guests to use it as such.
Obviously we cannot please all our guests, still, many want to stay longer and return. Most do find it exactly or more, as stated on our website and we are happy about that.
We stayed for 8 nights in June with our caravan. We had a large well kept pitch with a lovely viewThe Dutch family who run the site are really welcoming. We had a common interest in Florida and spent a lot of time swopping stories and travel experiences. The evening meals were excellent with the added bonus of being delivered to your caravan or tent with everything you need so no washing up!!!!
Gem of the Vendee
This was our first time camping in France and we loved this site. The site was wonderful with only 6 pitches and our hosts were a lovely Dutch family and 6 French cats, chickens and geese. They all made us very welcome. It was useful to have free wifi if we needed it and the tourist information was helpful also. If you stay here be sure to have breakfast and dinner as it's very tasty and great value for money. The pool is also very cooling and clean. We enjoyed just staying at the site on hot days and relaxing/reading by the pool.
A Perfect Camping Site
This was our first visit to France and we were not disappointed.It is a Wonderful Camping Site and the most peacefull of places that we have in nearly 40 years of Caravanning had the pleasure of staying at.The warmth of the greeting on our arrival and the information and help we were shown was really great.
The Facilities on site are very clean and well maintained and are a credit to Renee, Jacky, Rene and family,and we enjoyed using them.
The Reception area with the Wifi connection allowed us to remain in contact with our family back home and the Tourist information on offer was of great help to us .
The Swimming Pool is a really great facility to have on Hot Days there.We had a two evening meals from the menu, the food and the service to the table was superb .
We hope to return in the not too distant future, wishing all at L'Etournerie all the best for the future.
Kevin & Carole Horrocks Leigh Lancashire UK..
So good I really want to keep it a secret... But won't
This site is the most special, enjoyable, relaxing, cool, magical places we have camped.
Small and perfect in every way if you like peace, quiet, glorious countryside and great food, served to your tent.
We had a great time, booked in for 4 nights, stayed for ten. The owners are delightful, everything is spic and span and every need catered for with a smile and good humour.We even made scones together. Great fun. Can't wait to return but don't really want everyone to know how great it is in case it gets too popular and we never get a pitch.
Thank you Rene, Renee and Jacky. See you next year. Helen, Andrew and the bell tent
A ‘ little bit of heaven’
This is a ‘ little bit of heaven’.
We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the campsite, surrounding area and also the wonderful food available from the hosts, Jackie, Rene and Renee. The showers and facilities are excellent and being able to hire a fridge was an added bonus especially as we had a gloriously sunny week.
This site was everything we wanted and more than we could have expected. The owners are friendly and helpful, Renee kindly lent us a hook up adaptor for the week and we had a lovely home cooked meal on the first night.
At night the only sound is the crickets, it's utterly peaceful. The showers are clean, well functioning and spacious and the pitches are enormous.
We'll definitely be back, this site is a perfect escape from the rat race.
I wish there were more sites like this!
We stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of a 3 week touring holiday and we wished we had been there for longer. We have a fairly large Motorhome and there were no issues getting on to the site or fitting on to the pitch.
Everyone looks for different things in their "perfect" site but this one ticked our boxes.
* Off the beaten track
* Quiet, oh so very quiet
* Clean washrooms with showers with separate area for getting dry, lots of hooks and none of those stupid push buttons!
* Good walks direct from the site as we don't have transport once parked up but we do have a dog so important for us to be able to have an off road walk. There is a great walk round the lake, good path and safe swimming for the pooch!
* We have done our bit with children and so an adult only site is an absolute pleasure and most unusual in France.
* A good sized in-ground pool which was very well kept - lovely on hot days.
* Wifi for planning the next part of our trip
* Bread delivered
All the things we look for, but then on top of that, Jacky and Renee have a selection of menus that they will cook for you, bring to your own table at your pitch along with wine, provide crockery, cutlery and glasses and then clear the table and do the washing up! Well it was a new one on me and a real treat to be able to relax at your own unit but get waited on!
Brilliant! If you want peace and quiet and no children then it's for you. We will definitely go back there.
Our perfect holiday
We've just returned (sadly) from ten nights at L'Étournerie, having had the most wonderful, relaxing break as guests of Renée, Jacky, René and family.
Right from the beginning, their email communications in the run up to our holiday were so friendly and helpful, and meant that we were set up to enjoy our stay, including having a delicious home cooked meal ordered for our first evening - which was so good that we went on to order meals several more times throughout our stay. Having this to look forward to after getting set up, made for the best start imaginable! The driving directions to the site were spot on, helping us find them with no problem, and we received the warmest welcome on our arrival.
This is the perfect place for anyone looking for complete peace and relaxation in an idyllic rural setting. Our spacious serviced pitch looked out over beautiful rolling fields, and all of the facilities on site were absolutely spot on. The pool was perfect for cooling off after taking on the Vendée sun - we had fantastic weather for most of our holiday, but this area is so beautiful that we can imagine it being just as lovely in any weather.
The sanitary block has been given much more thought than usual, to make sure that you have everything you need - loads of hooks in the spacious shower cubicles as well as stools and places to put your toiletries, washing machine and dryer for hire, full size fridges that can be rented which made a huge difference to our holiday compared with the usual freezer box in the tent, loads of work space for preparing food indoors if necessary, and all spotlessly clean, and nice and cool when it was hot outside. For those who want to experience the campsite without staying in a tent, they have a fantastic little chalet with its own veranda.
On the days that we felt like exploring, the area offered some wonderful places to visit - we loved the Venise Verte, La Rochelle and the Île De Ré, and the campsite reception is full of tourist information and leaflets. Renée and Jacky have also put together a selection of folders detailing walks and bike rides in the area, and we had a lovely afternoon walking the trail around the Lac Du Marillet which sits right next to the campsite. However, we did choose to spend more than half of our holiday simply relaxing on the site, as we could not think of anywhere better to unwind.
Back to the food - we had chicken in cider and cranberries, smoked salmon quiche, and tartiflette (twice). Desserts were banana tart, crème brulée, and fruit tart. All were absolutely delicious, and we simply had to relax in front of our tent as René brought our wine and set our camping table with their own cutlery and crockery, before Renée and Jacky brought out our food, accompanied by lots of fresh salads and bread (no bread with the tartiflette, you wouldn't need it!). Once we were finished, everything was cleared away for us, meaning that all we had to do was enjoy our meal in perfect peace and quiet with a view of the countryside as our backdrop - you can imagine why we didn't feel the need to go looking for other places to eat.
Most importantly of all, we really feel that we have made new friends at L'Étournerie, and before our holiday was finished we had made plans with Renée, Jacky and René to come back and stay next winter in one of their lovely gîtes, both of which look as though they have been finished with as much care and to the same high standard as the rest of the campsite.
We can't recommend L'Étournerie highly enough, and can't wait to return. Thank you guys so much - see you soon! X
Oasis of calm
We arrived at L'Etournerie after a fraught journey. The welcome we received from Jacky and Renee was warm and professional and the tensions of our day fell away. The site is small and secluded with 6 generously sized pitches and not a child in sight. Everything one requires is within a few steps - a bright, clean, well appointed shower block, an impeccably kept heated pool boasting beautiful views and an office with plenty of information on a wide variety of local activities (we recommend the Vendeen Wine Route by bike). The Marais Poitevin and the beautiful town of La Rochelle are within easy reach and well worth a visit. All in all we had a wonderful time enjoying the peace and tranquility and look forward to returning. We are already salivating at the thought of another one of Jacky's artery-busting tartiflettes!!
We found this campsite in July 2013. What a find, just 6 pitches so very quiet and peaceful. Renee and the crew could not have been more friendly and hospitable. The food is excellent and amazingly Renee and family deliver your ordered food to your table at the tent.We stayed 3 nights as we had only booked for 3 nights and they where full otherwise we would have stayed longer. Thank you Renee. If you will have us back we will be there next year. The english campers Marcus and family
Best site by far
We stayed at L'Etournerie in July of this year. We were greeted by Renee,Rene and Jackie who made us feel we had known them for years immediately. They showed us to our pitch and even helped us put up our tent :-) They then told us about their food service. We decided to try it. At 7 o'clock they bought us a BEAUTIFUL home cooked meal followed by dessert with wine and a beer included. I have never had a tarteflet like it AMAZING!! and so reasonable. The shower blocks and facilities were all spotlessly clean and the pool was great. We had a wonder round the site and greeted the animals and had a cuddle with the cat :-) Renee is always around to help if you need to know anything about the area or just wanting a chat. We decided to eat at the site every night as the food is so excellent, don't leave without giving it a go. We will definitely be back again next year 10 out of 10 for your site and hospitality :-) see you again next year x
We stayed for 4 nights in June 2013 and we would have liked to stay longer. Renee, Rene, Jacky and family are excellent hosts. Small and relaxing site...loved the meal deal which can be brought to you tent. When we stayed there were 3 other Dutch couples on site....same sense of humour as Brits. Besides spending an evening repeating monty python, Blackadder and Fawlty Towers scripts, we joined in the banter when our 42 year old VDub snapped an accelerator cable...got our own back when one group burned their BBQ to bits. We want to go back and explore the lovely Vendee. L'Etournerie is what relaxed coolcamping is about.
Book campsites near L'Etournerie
Huttopia Côte SauvageCharente-Maritime, Poitou-Charentes
Campsites in Charente-Maritime
Campsites in Poitou-Charentes
Huttopia Oleron les Chenes VertsCharente-Maritime, Poitou-Charentes
Campsites in Charente-Maritime
Campsites in Poitou-Charentes
Huttopia Chardons BleusCharente-Maritime, Poitou-Charentes
Campsites in Charente-Maritime
Campsites in Poitou-Charentes
Huttopia NoirmoutierVendée, Loire Valley
Campsites in Vendée
Campsites in Loire Valley